Buy the Phoenix SmartFlash RF46N Macro Ring Flash for Nikon iTTL with 55mm, 58mm, 62mm & 67mm Adapter Rings, Guide Number of 46 at ISO 100 feet on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Phoenix SmartFlash RF46N Macro Ring Flash for Nikon iTTL with 55mm, 58mm, 62mm & 67mm Adapter Rings, Guide Number of 46 at ISO 100 feet image
 
(based on 18 ratings)
Brand: Phoenix
Located in: Flash/Lighting
Phoenix SmartFlash RF46N Macro Ring Flash for Nikon iTTL with 55mm, 58mm, 62mm & 67mm Adapter Rings, Guide Number of 46 at ISO 100 feet
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
3.5 stars
(based on 18 reviews)
82% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Consistent output(11), Easy to use(9), Fast recycling(12), Good power output(4), Lightweight(8)
Cons:
Heavy / bulky(3)
Best Uses:
Fill flash(6), General purpose(3), Macro(5), Portraits(5)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(7), Photo enthusiast(4), Professional(3)
Was this a gift?:
No(4)
 
Looks cheap but great results.
By JJVerified Reviewer from Plattsburgh, NY on 5/4/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easy To Use
Cons:
Battery installation, Ring flash installation
Best Uses:
Close-ups
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Phoenix Phoenix SmartFlash RF46N Macro Ring Flash for Nikon iTTL with 55mm, 58mm, 62mm & 67mm Adapter Rings, Guide Number of 46 at ISO 100 feet:

As indicated by all who buy, appears cheaply made but for the price certainly does a great job for my needs.

 
Works
By hallenwVerified Purchaser from DeBary, FL on 3/13/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Works
Cons:
Bulky
Best Uses:
Macro, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No

Comments about Phoenix Phoenix SmartFlash RF46N Macro Ring Flash for Nikon iTTL with 55mm, 58mm, 62mm & 67mm Adapter Rings, Guide Number of 46 at ISO 100 feet:

Works.

 
exelent features for the price
By dasadariVerified Purchaser from Puebla Mexico on 2/20/2011
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Versatile
Best Uses:
Intraoral dental studio, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Phoenix Phoenix SmartFlash RF46N Macro Ring Flash for Nikon iTTL with 55mm, 58mm, 62mm & 67mm Adapter Rings, Guide Number of 46 at ISO 100 feet:

great for dental photography

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great value, glad to have it!
By njleftyVerified Purchaser from Mooresville, NC on 1/12/2011
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Fill Flash
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Phoenix Phoenix SmartFlash RF46N Macro Ring Flash for Nikon iTTL with 55mm, 58mm, 62mm & 67mm Adapter Rings, Guide Number of 46 at ISO 100 feet:

Worked great right out of the box. Integrated smoothly with my Nikon D90. Excellent exposures.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good results, not bad looking
By TomTomatoVerified Purchaser from Chicago IL on 1/31/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Powerful Output, Time will tell if durable, Versatile
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Phoenix Phoenix SmartFlash RF46N Macro Ring Flash for Nikon iTTL with 55mm, 58mm, 62mm & 67mm Adapter Rings, Guide Number of 46 at ISO 100 feet:

Compared this flash to same item made for Canon
digital results were very consistent and predictable. Very nice unit for the price.

I would make the Nikon $10 cheaper and the Canon
$10 higher to balance the two.

I can't see any drawbacks.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice product
By SolowVerified Purchaser from Tennessee on 1/14/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Powerful Output
Cons:
Bulky
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Phoenix Phoenix SmartFlash RF46N Macro Ring Flash for Nikon iTTL with 55mm, 58mm, 62mm & 67mm Adapter Rings, Guide Number of 46 at ISO 100 feet:

This flash works great with our Nikkor 105mm VR Micro lens. It's great for being able to use high f-stop to get some DOF on tiny objects such as insects etc. The regular size flash unit on top looks a bit odd and takes up room but the unit works great especially for the price. If you want to try out macro with a flash or just do this occasionally this is the ring flash for you.

[2 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Worth the Money?
By photogeekVerified Purchaser from Boca Raton, FL on 9/3/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Versatile
Cons:
Limited number of flashes
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Macro photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Phoenix Phoenix SmartFlash RF46N Macro Ring Flash for Nikon iTTL with 55mm, 58mm, 62mm & 67mm Adapter Rings, Guide Number of 46 at ISO 100 feet:

I bought this flash because of the price and it is recommended by Bryan Petersen in his book "Understanding Close-up Photography". I'm not sure about the 100-200 flash limit I have read in the reviews. I can't believe the bulb is only good for that number of flashes (maybe since it is so inexpensive). Could it be the number of flashes per battery set?

[10 of 10 customers found this review helpful]

 
iTTL works well with D60, it's a bargain
By John G.Verified Reviewer from Kennett Square, PA on 7/30/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons:
Lightweight build
Best Uses:
Macro
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Phoenix Phoenix SmartFlash RF46N Macro Ring Flash for Nikon iTTL with 55mm, 58mm, 62mm & 67mm Adapter Rings, Guide Number of 46 at ISO 100 feet:

I had some success doing macro work but some of the challenges are getting handheld shots where a tripod isn't practical, light is low, or there's some movement in the subject.

I took a chance and bought this and a Phoenix PZ139N and I'm quite happy with both.

The RF46N attaches to the camera with a free-rotating knurled metal ring that projects beyond the edge of the ring flash. I thought you'd have to rotate the whole flash but in fact it's free-floating (rotationally) when the unit is fixed to the camera. Nice design though for all I know it's common -- I've never used another ring flash.

Like the PZ139N, the iTTL works perfectly. I had to work to get a bad exposure. I did turn down the flash about 1/2 EV in my camera because I have the saturation boosted and the exposure was almost too much of a good thing.

For instance, I photographed some red pepper slices and the red channel clipped even though the monochrome histogram said the exposure was good -- something I've had happen in outdoor light and even the internal flash with this camera so it's not just the ring flash.

That said, I could photograph dark or light objects, closer or farther away and the flash and the camera worked together to control the exposure.

Unlike the PZ139N which has a convenient exposure compensation slider on the back, the ring flash has no controls but an on-off switch. However the flash exposure compensation in the menu of the D60 does control the light.

As noted, this thing is super lightweight and that could be a concern if you shoot under demanding field conditions. Being just an amateur I need to control cost more than I need battle-worthy durability. That seems to be it's main detraction. Functionally it's sound.

I shoot with a Quantaray (Sigma) 50mm F2.8 macro lens. With short focal length macro's like this, your working distance is quite short. When you get close enough for 1:1 the flash is almost touching the subject so take this into consideration if you shoot short focal length macro like I do. This thing would be killer with say a 105mm macro -- but I still like it and can use it.

It doesn't lock to the Nikon hot shoe with a pin. It uses the standard threaded ring retainer that many inexpensive flashes use. But it fits securely and the contact pins seem to help retain it also. There's a distinct "detent" feel when you slide it on or off the the camera.

I got it on sale here at Adorama and substantially off the normal price listed above -- but I conclude this would have been worth the normal price. It's really a high-functioning bargain and the iTTL implementation works well. I'm happy as I've heard of other so-called iTTL compatible units that don't really work well.

[2 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Cheap and Functional
By Ed The PhotogVerified Purchaser from Bridgeport, CT on 7/22/2009
Pros:
Lightweight
Cons:
Cheaply made, Plastic
Best Uses:
Macros, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Phoenix Phoenix SmartFlash RF46N Macro Ring Flash for Nikon iTTL with 55mm, 58mm, 62mm & 67mm Adapter Rings, Guide Number of 46 at ISO 100 feet:

I've read must of the reviews and was aware of the quality of the product so that was not really a surprise.

My problem (and it's not a big one) is that it is a little cumbersome to install the front element to the lens as there is no indication as to which direction you should rotate it.

There was also no indication as to the life of this device, and when I found out how many flashes you can get from it, I was disappointed.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Suprised
By Cindy's Photo& ArtVerified Reviewer from Jacksonville, Alabama on 7/7/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast Recycling, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Night Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Phoenix Phoenix SmartFlash RF46N Macro Ring Flash for Nikon iTTL with 55mm, 58mm, 62mm & 67mm Adapter Rings, Guide Number of 46 at ISO 100 feet:

I just received it and compared to my other flash SB600, I thought oh no! Testing it out, it was perfect. I do weddings, Babys, Children and Seniors and needed a second flash for my D-200. Perfect for close ups and formal shots No shadows Exactatly what I needed. I almost bought the SB-900 $495.00 Plus a ring flash $450.00 Compared to [$]. I feel like I stole it.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Ring Flash
By RobVerified Purchaser from Michigan on 2/20/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast Recycling, Powerful Output
Cons:
Bulky
Best Uses:
Macro photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Phoenix Phoenix SmartFlash RF46N Macro Ring Flash for Nikon iTTL with 55mm, 58mm, 62mm & 67mm Adapter Rings, Guide Number of 46 at ISO 100 feet:

Synced well with the D80.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Works with all my NiMH batteries
By billfinkVerified Reviewer from Michigan's Upper Peninsula on 2/14/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Phoenix Phoenix SmartFlash RF46N Macro Ring Flash for Nikon iTTL with 55mm, 58mm, 62mm & 67mm Adapter Rings, Guide Number of 46 at ISO 100 feet:

I found this flash to be what I hoped for -- a modestly built, relatively inexpensive ring flash that seamlessly interfaces with my Nikon D300. It takes all of the different rechargeable NiMH batteries I have, up to 2500 MaH.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
RF46N Doesn't work with all batteries!!!
By Father FredVerified Purchaser from Huntsville, AL on 12/29/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Quiet
Best Uses:
Fill Flash
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Phoenix Phoenix SmartFlash RF46N Macro Ring Flash for Nikon iTTL with 55mm, 58mm, 62mm & 67mm Adapter Rings, Guide Number of 46 at ISO 100 feet:

NiMh batteries over 2000 mah bind within the case and won't make proper contact. I'd recommend Sanyo Eneloop HR6 batteries. (Around 2000 mah capacity)

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great for the price.
By Denny MackVerified Reviewer from Austin TX on 12/23/2008
Pros:
Easy To Use
Cons:
Weak Casing
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Phoenix Phoenix SmartFlash RF46N Macro Ring Flash for Nikon iTTL with 55mm, 58mm, 62mm & 67mm Adapter Rings, Guide Number of 46 at ISO 100 feet:

For an iTTL macro ring flash this thing has a great price.

It's not built like a tank, but I wouldn't expect it to be. It's full iTTL. There are no buttons to switch to Manual on this flash, but you can adjust the output on your camera using the FEC button.

It comes with adapter rings for most common thread sizes.

This thing works perfectly with my D700, D300, and D90. It does exactly what it should for macro photography, it provides nice flat lighting to enhance detail.

I've even used it for portraits a few times with interesting results, although it does have a tendency to cause serious red-eye due to the on-axis lighting. Note that red-eye reduction mode doesn't work with this flash.

[9 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
A Great Flash
By Rocky4 from Minneapolis, MN on 12/18/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast Recycling, Powerful Output, Versatile
Cons:
Weak Casing
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Macro photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Phoenix Phoenix SmartFlash RF46N Macro Ring Flash for Nikon iTTL with 55mm, 58mm, 62mm & 67mm Adapter Rings, Guide Number of 46 at ISO 100 feet:

I was concerned about the poor reviews, but I trusted that Adorama would not sell a flash that was defective. I’m glad I bought this ring flash, I used it to take about 200 macro photographs and I’ve been thoroughly pleased with my results! The unit is lightly constructed, so it is ideally suited to the occasional user.

Images shared by: Rocky4

A rose

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Worked For Me
By Inigo MontoyaVerified Reviewer from Omaha on 11/17/2008
Pros:
Inexpensive
Cons:
Weak Output
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Phoenix Phoenix SmartFlash RF46N Macro Ring Flash for Nikon iTTL with 55mm, 58mm, 62mm & 67mm Adapter Rings, Guide Number of 46 at ISO 100 feet:

This was a fun purchase that actually works better than I expected considering the price. Nikon TTL does all the thinking so all it really has to do is flash. Simple to use. There's only an on or off button. I use it with a Nikon 60mm F2.8 micro lens. I can actually shoot macro stuff handheld which is impossible without a ring flash in anything but the brightest sunlight. It's cheap. You get what you pay for, but for me it was worth the price to experiment with it. I've used it with a D50 and now a D90 and have had no trouble with it. It's actually a lot more usable on the D90 since there's no control over output on the flash itself and with the D50 I had to go into sub menus to change the output. With the D90 it's just a scroll of the front wheel.

[5 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not so Hot
By pixwareVerified Reviewer from Ridgewood, NJ on 11/3/2008
Pros:
Fast Recycling
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Phoenix Phoenix SmartFlash RF46N Macro Ring Flash for Nikon iTTL with 55mm, 58mm, 62mm & 67mm Adapter Rings, Guide Number of 46 at ISO 100 feet:

Works with D5100 but illumination is much the same as flash in camera. Guide number not accurate.

[12 of 17 customers found this review helpful]

 
Too good to be true
By MartinVerified Reviewer from San Antonio, TX on 4/4/2008
Cons:
Cheap built
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Phoenix Phoenix SmartFlash RF46N Macro Ring Flash for Nikon iTTL with 55mm, 58mm, 62mm & 67mm Adapter Rings, Guide Number of 46 at ISO 100 feet:

Excitement didn't last. Once opened, it didn't work with rechargeable batteries, it didn't work with Lithium batteries and it didn't work with Alcaline batteries. Camera (D300) recognized there was a flash mounted but did not fire it.[...]

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.