Buy the Flashpoint 8 Channel, Radio Remote Control Set, with Transmitter and Receiver, Range of 90' on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
 
(based on 17 ratings)
Brand: Flashpoint
Located in: Flash/Lighting, Slaves, Radio Slaves
Flashpoint 8 Channel, Radio Remote Control Set, with Transmitter and Receiver, Range of 90'
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
3.1 stars
(based on 17 reviews)
65% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Easy to use(12), Lightweight(12), Packs small / compresses(9), Reliable(7)
Cons:
Poor quality(8)
Best Uses:
Family photos(6), Portraits(4), Weddings(6)
Describe Yourself:
Pro photographer(5), Semi-pro photographer(11)
Was this a gift?:
No(9)
 
Great low cost alternative!
By HikerhayesVerified Purchaser from Haltom City, TX on 3/10/2011
Pros:
Easy To Pack, Easy to Use, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Flashpoint Flashpoint 8 Channel, Radio Remote Control Set, with Transmitter and Receiver, Range of 90':

Good inexpensive alternative to some of the more expensive solutions out there. There are the rare instances when the flash is not triggered (last shoot over 150 shots and it did not trigger the flash 2 times). Highly recommend!

 
Won't fit on camera!
By mr.KVerified Purchaser from Las Cruces, NM on 1/17/2011
Pros:
Easy to Use, No instrctions necessary
Cons:
Won't fit on camera mount
Best Uses:
Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Flashpoint Flashpoint 8 Channel, Radio Remote Control Set, with Transmitter and Receiver, Range of 90':

There is no way to mount the unit on any modern camera with dedicated flash mountings. Will fit only the old universal flash mount, long since abandoned. Mfr. needs to make adapters so that the unit will fit on the flash shoes of modern digital cameras, even at extra cost. Has to hang off the camera and dangle by the sync cord. Not good. Otherwise a nice little inexpensive unit.

 
Needs Work on the design
By JerryVerified Reviewer from Ft. Towson, OK on 1/16/2011
Pros:
Easy to Use
Best Uses:
Studio Portraiture, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Flashpoint Flashpoint 8 Channel, Radio Remote Control Set, with Transmitter and Receiver, Range of 90':

I'm pretty disapointed with the entire remote. I received it along with the rest of my equipment and got it all set up. Plugged it into my main light, set the channel and mounted the other part to the hot shoe of my camera. In order to get it to function correctly you need someone to hold it in place in order to get it to fire. It doens't have very good contact and it isn't really for the [$]. Its not worth the materials it's made of. I have never had anything to give me such a challenge as this small item. If I had known it was going to be this way I would have never ordered it to begin with. I will [...] find something of better quality.

 
Reasonable Reliable - Great Price
By Dangerous Curves PhotosVerified Purchaser from PA on 1/12/2011
Pros:
Easy to Use, Lightweight
Cons:
Weak Construction
Best Uses:
Studio lighting
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Flashpoint Flashpoint 8 Channel, Radio Remote Control Set, with Transmitter and Receiver, Range of 90':

I use this as a trigger in my studio to eliminate the cord to the lights. I shoot tethered to a monitor so with this I only have one cord instead of two. It fires 95% of the time, about the same as tethered. It works on most of my lights but not all and sometimes it becomes finicky but I switch to another light and it works fine again. I only have to trigger one light and the rest are flash triggered by the master.

I used one for about a year and then got two more as backup. Not perfect but for the price a welcome addition.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
worth the price
By Ed from Worcester, MA on 11/10/2010
Pros:
Easy To Pack, Lightweight
Cons:
Weak Construction
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Flashpoint Flashpoint 8 Channel, Radio Remote Control Set, with Transmitter and Receiver, Range of 90':

Good entry level product, but cheaply made and it contains no instructions. Requires 2 AAA bateries in receiver before it will work, polarity is not marked. It has good range, but is a little flimsy for outside use

 
Work Great So Far
By sittingshooterVerified Purchaser from South Fla. on 10/31/2010
Pros:
Easy To Pack, Easy to Use, Lightweight, Reliable
Cons:
Weak Construction
Best Uses:
Family Photos
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Flashpoint Flashpoint 8 Channel, Radio Remote Control Set, with Transmitter and Receiver, Range of 90':

Have used this set numerous times already, and haven't had a single misfire.

 
Does not work
By SuperGVerified Reviewer from Cranbrook, BC, Canada on 10/4/2010
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Flashpoint Flashpoint 8 Channel, Radio Remote Control Set, with Transmitter and Receiver, Range of 90':

Unfortunately not worth returning because I am in Canada. Big dissappointment given all the positive review.Did not work out of the box.

 
Garbage
By shooterVerified Reviewer from Washington on 9/16/2010
Cons:
Unreliable, Weak Construction
Best Uses:
Trashcan Filler
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Flashpoint Flashpoint 8 Channel, Radio Remote Control Set, with Transmitter and Receiver, Range of 90':

These are garbage. I get 4 maybe 5 shots and then the batteries won't fire the flash (led lights up but flash won't fire). Takes 5 to 6 more shots before the flash/strobe fires. Would not recommend. Save your money and buy something that works consistantly.

 
Worked Until It Broke
By Outdoor Photo MomVerified Reviewer from Wisconsin on 9/9/2010
Pros:
Easy To Pack, Lightweight
Cons:
Unreliable, Weak Construction
Best Uses:
Family Photos
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Flashpoint Flashpoint 8 Channel, Radio Remote Control Set, with Transmitter and Receiver, Range of 90':

This worked pretty well, but I had trouble getting the part to stay on top of my camera tightly. Also, the range was iffy, if I got in front of my flash too much, it didn't work. Then, the worst thing, the second time I was using it, the adapter for flashes with a smaller plug completely fell apart, while in my flash on a shoot! Thank goodness I carry a cord with me and could hook up to my other flash, the bad thing was the the piece was stuck until I could get home and pry it out with a tiny pair of jewelry tweezers. The flash that it was stuck in just kept going off and I finally had to turn it off and re-adjust my whole lighting set-up. Now I'm stuck using the cord with my flash because the dumb adapter piece is junk.

 
Inexpensive yet reliable
By FuloflyfeVerified Purchaser from Bay Area, Northern CA on 7/26/2010
Pros:
Easy To Pack, Easy to Use, Lightweight, Reliable
Cons:
Weak Construction
Best Uses:
Family Photos
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Flashpoint Flashpoint 8 Channel, Radio Remote Control Set, with Transmitter and Receiver, Range of 90':

Simple to use with strobes. Thrilled to lose the PC cord for good, as some locations do not work well under slave use conditions, such as interiors of cavernous buildings.

 
Sounds Good But????
By JoeVerified Purchaser from Kentucky on 6/20/2010
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Flashpoint Flashpoint 8 Channel, Radio Remote Control Set, with Transmitter and Receiver, Range of 90':

Right out of the box it did not work.

 
Bingo!
By churchie73Verified Purchaser from Milwaukee, WI on 4/25/2010
Pros:
Easy to Use, Lightweight, Reliable
Cons:
Weak Construction
Best Uses:
Portraits, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Flashpoint Flashpoint 8 Channel, Radio Remote Control Set, with Transmitter and Receiver, Range of 90':

I wanted to start shooting my Studio Lights and Nikon Speedligthts with radio triggers. I didn't quite feel the need to go with much pricier PocketWizard or Skyport system just yet. These units certainly fit my price range and have proven to be exactly what I had hoped for.
I had to purchase one small piece of equipment to trigger my SB-900's in a cold shoe. Since the sync cable is a 3/32" male plug, I had to get a 1/4"(receiver) to 3/32"(sync cable) female to female adapter. Once I had this adapter, the receiver would fire my Speedlight's no problem. Aside from being somewhat cheaply made, these units function great. Buy with confidence, you won't be disappointed.

 
great little product, perfect for my nee
By Joe's PhotoVerified Reviewer from Philadelphia, Pa on 4/21/2010
Pros:
Easy To Pack, Easy to Use, Lightweight, Reliable
Cons:
Little flimsy
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Portraits, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Flashpoint Flashpoint 8 Channel, Radio Remote Control Set, with Transmitter and Receiver, Range of 90':

great little system, works well with my FP-320 monolight and canon 50D SLR system, also bought the extra receiver to control my other monolight (*%#$). why pay more when this works great.

 
Good value
By Bill Marshall - Dangerous Curves PhotosVerified Reviewer from Perkasie, PA on 12/14/2009
Pros:
Easy to Use, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Studio lighting
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Flashpoint Flashpoint 8 Channel, Radio Remote Control Set, with Transmitter and Receiver, Range of 90':

In fact I just did recommend this item to a friend. Works just fine in the studio, I haven't used it outside. After using it for an hour or so I was getting a few failures but I could switch to a different light it was firing and that seemed to help. When I used it on top of my wired hot shoe trigger (not connected) that seemed to cut down on the number of failures too. Now it doesn't seem to fail any more or less than my wired setup. I'm very happy with the convenience of the unit especially for the price.

 
Awesome product.
By CourtneyVerified Reviewer from Ocala, FL on 11/13/2009
Pros:
Easy To Pack, Easy to Use, Lightweight, Reliable, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fast Action, General portrait shoots
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Flashpoint Flashpoint 8 Channel, Radio Remote Control Set, with Transmitter and Receiver, Range of 90':

Functions very well, only misses a shot once in a great while. Wonderful value for the price, I will be using this for years to come.

 
it works
By photo JimVerified Purchaser from Ga on 10/22/2009
Pros:
Easy To Pack, Easy to Use, Lightweight, Reliable
Best Uses:
Special Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Flashpoint Flashpoint 8 Channel, Radio Remote Control Set, with Transmitter and Receiver, Range of 90':

Works with the studio flashes that I own.

 
Works as advertised
By max'sdadVerified Reviewer from Ann Arbor, MI on 10/14/2009
Pros:
Easy To Pack, Easy to Use, Lightweight, Reliable
Cons:
Weak Construction
Best Uses:
Special Events, Tote Along
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Flashpoint Flashpoint 8 Channel, Radio Remote Control Set, with Transmitter and Receiver, Range of 90':

I used this radio trigger to fire a studio strobe in the sanctuary of a synagogue. It worked just fine. I was able to use it in combination with a hotshoe flash. There are no instructions but it is so simple you don't need any. Receiver requires 2 AAA batteries, trigger comes with its battery installed. I would like to be able to buy more receivers, but you must buy the whole set. At [$] each that's still a very good deal. I didn't test the range formally, but experienced no problems. It did the job at a very low price. I give it 4 stars because it is such good value.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.