Buy the Smith Victor Flash Shoe to Mount a Flash or Video Light onto a Light Stand with a 1/4-20 Screw. on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Smith Victor Flash Shoe to Mount a Flash or Video Light onto a Light Stand with a 1/4-20 Screw. image
 
(based on 10 ratings)
Brand: Smith-Victor
Located in: Flash/Lighting
Smith Victor Flash Shoe to Mount a Flash or Video Light onto a Light Stand with a 1/4-20 Screw.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.1 stars
(based on 10 reviews)
70% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Best Uses:
Fill flash(3), Portraits(3)
Pros:
Durable(4), Easy to use(3), Lightweight(7), Strong construction(3)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(5), Professional(3)
 
you can find it here
By AnselVerified Purchaser from St. Louis, MO on 7/26/2010
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smith-Victor Smith Victor Flash Shoe to Mount a Flash or Video Light onto a Light Stand with a 1/4-20 Screw.:

This item is useful in mounting a radio controlled flash on a stand

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Use to be good but now...
By Paul McLeodVerified Reviewer from Melbourne, Australia on 8/20/2009
Pros:
Durable, Lightweight
Cons:
Poor design
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Night Photography, Photojournalism, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smith-Victor Smith Victor Flash Shoe to Mount a Flash or Video Light onto a Light Stand with a 1/4-20 Screw.:

As other reviewers have mentioned, this product image is incorrect (or outdated).

I started using this item couple of years ago. It worked really well.

This month (Aug 09), I placed an order for several more of these and what I received was a different design. I have attached several images in this review to explain.

Essentially the issue is the old design had the screw head that pushed up against the side of the flash shoe (metal bit) to hold it in place. It was not the most secure method but with all the variety of hot shoe variations from so many manufactures, I guess that was the best design we could hope for.

Fast forward to the latest design... the gap (where the hot shoe slides into) has become larger... presumably to accommodate new SB-900 (which is a tight fit on older design item)... but the problem is that there is too much space above the screw and therefore when you tighten the screw it misses the metal hot shoe. Due to this poor design, my SB-900 fell out of the stand.

The older design of this item with SB-900 is a tight fit but I rather use it with the older design item... only if we could request that design...

Images shared by: Paul McLeod

Older design that worked

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture of Product

New design with too much gap-can not secure flash

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture of Product, Using Product

 
Solid piece of natural anodized aluminum
By browndogVerified Purchaser from honolulu, hawaii on 5/27/2009
Pros:
Durable, Lightweight
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smith-Victor Smith Victor Flash Shoe to Mount a Flash or Video Light onto a Light Stand with a 1/4-20 Screw.:

Solid

 
Better than pictured!
By BrianVerified Purchaser from St. Louis on 5/13/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smith-Victor Smith Victor Flash Shoe to Mount a Flash or Video Light onto a Light Stand with a 1/4-20 Screw.:

This is a great product that does exactly what it needs to do. The one you get is, as one other reviewer said "better than the one in the pix" and unlike some other ones I have, the foot of a Nikon SB-900 will fit in it OK.

 
Does exactly what it is suppose to do!
By Frank PaulVerified Purchaser from New Jersey on 1/21/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Lightweight
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smith-Victor Smith Victor Flash Shoe to Mount a Flash or Video Light onto a Light Stand with a 1/4-20 Screw.:

For setting a speedflash on a stand this is perfect. Locking screw is just what the doctor ordered. By the way the item you get is not the item that is pictured. It's better!

 
Simple but works
By ScottVerified Purchaser from Omaha, NE on 12/29/2008
Pros:
Durable, Lightweight
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smith-Victor Smith Victor Flash Shoe to Mount a Flash or Video Light onto a Light Stand with a 1/4-20 Screw.:

The mount I received is just a pure metal mount with a set screw on the side and a 1/4" thread on the bottom. It works fine.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Solid, simple, too simple
By AlexZVerified Reviewer from Dallas, TX on 5/14/2008
Best Uses:
Lighting
Pros:
Strong Construction
Cons:
can damage the flash shoe, Poor Interface
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smith-Victor Smith Victor Flash Shoe to Mount a Flash or Video Light onto a Light Stand with a 1/4-20 Screw.:

It looks not like picture (see attached image). Has no shoe contacts. The 1/4" mount hole opens on both sides - long screw can damage your flash shoe. But big plus is - it is single solid piece of aluminium, so it keeps flash very strong.

Images shared by: AlexZ

Smith Victor flash shoe mount

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture of Product

 
Product better than the catalog picture!
By Neill1Verified Purchaser from Houston, Texas on 3/7/2008
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Night Photography, Photography, Photojournalism
Pros:
Lightweight, Reliable, Strong Construction
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smith-Victor Smith Victor Flash Shoe to Mount a Flash or Video Light onto a Light Stand with a 1/4-20 Screw.:

The small retainer screw works, but I fear it will damage the plastic flange on the flash shoe.

Images shared by: Neill1

Umbrella Flash

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture of Product, Using Product

Umbrella Flash for Head Shots

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Picture of Product

 
Great Mount, Nothing Like the Picture
By JasonVerified Purchaser from South Jersey on 3/6/2008
Best Uses:
Flash Mounting, Lighting
Pros:
Lightweight, Strong Construction
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smith-Victor Smith Victor Flash Shoe to Mount a Flash or Video Light onto a Light Stand with a 1/4-20 Screw.:

The product I received is nothing like the picture, although I'd have to say what I got was better. The mount is a piece of solid, machined aluminium with the 1/4" mount on bottom and the shoe mount on top (as you would expect).

I use it to hold my Sunpak 383 to my stand, instead of the flimsy Cactus wireless receiver.

 
Not a shoe for Canon 430EX , too tight
By tinbuuhuynhVerified Purchaser from Portland OR on 2/21/2008
Best Uses:
Photography
Cons:
Poor Interface
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smith-Victor Smith Victor Flash Shoe to Mount a Flash or Video Light onto a Light Stand with a 1/4-20 Screw.:

I'd plan to use for backlighting , but it barely fit on my 430EX..

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.