Buy the Sunpak Digital Camera Flash Adapter Bracket with Built-in Slave on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Sunpak Digital Camera Flash Adapter Bracket with Built-in Slave image
 
(based on 16 ratings)
Brand: Sunpak
Located in: Flash/Lighting
Sunpak Digital Camera Flash Adapter Bracket with Built-in Slave
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.1 stars
(based on 16 reviews)
88% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Best Uses:
Fill flash(11), General purpose(4), Lighting(6), Night photography(9), Photography(6)
Pros:
Consistent output(3), Easy to use(5), Excellent interface(6), Lightweight(12), Reliable(5)
Cons:
Poor quality(5)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(7), Photo enthusiast(3)
 
makes picture taking easier
By billVerified Purchaser from coeur d alene LD. on 3/6/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Versatile
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sunpak Sunpak Digital Camera Flash Adapter Bracket with Built-in Slave:

i use the product to make handling the camera easier

 
I Bought 2 Of These!
By flitter296Verified Reviewer from S.E. Kansas on 8/19/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Night Photography
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sunpak Sunpak Digital Camera Flash Adapter Bracket with Built-in Slave:

A comfortable grip that keeps my finger from blocking the sensor when I hold it, and they work great on tripods, also. I have a Canon PowerShot SX-120 IS, a Panasonic DMC-FZ35 and a ZS3 that I use these brackets with. The adapter brackets let me use my older Sunpak 383 Super and 144D Flashes for either fill or main flash when the extra light is needed. The adapter brackets' pre-flash settings work fine and they are consistently triggered by the camera's built-in flash. For even more, and/or more even light, I use a Phoenix D92-BZS Bounce/Zoom/Swivel Digital Slave flash attached to my camera with a regular bracket, and use the Sunpak flash units on the Sunpak adapter brackets attached to tripods spread around to provide the lighting needed when photographing large groups, or in large areas. I initially bought one of the Sunpak brackets, and one of the Zeikos ZE-DS24 Electronic Slave Flash and Grip brackets to see which I liked most. The Zeikos bracket was not as comfortable, and it was VERY easy to block the sensor with my finger when I used it hand-held (therefore NO flash). Plus it felt really flimsy, which the Sunpak units do not. AND, the Zeikos Flash and Flash Grip were both defective right out of the package. So I returned it and bought my 2nd Sunpak bracket. I forsee the possibility of buying a 3rd Sunpak bracket, if my lighting needs should eventually require it.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not made for serious photography
By Big Poppa 526Verified Purchaser from Poconos, PA on 2/25/2010
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sunpak Sunpak Digital Camera Flash Adapter Bracket with Built-in Slave:

I bought this bracket because of the large grip. I wanted to use it with my Canon T1I. As I held it with the camera attached, it did not feel secure. The only things I had on the bracket was my camera with my EF 24-105mm f4L IS USM lens. It felt as if the camera attached to the bracket was going to break away from the grip. I had not even put on my Canon 580ex II flash yet. The bracket does work well with my Sony F828, which is a smaller camera with a fixed flash. I guess you get what you pay for. I have since swithced to the Strobofram Pro-T.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
ABSOLUTE NECESSITY FOR DIGITAL CAMERAS
By Dusty Desert DanVerified Purchaser from Reno, Nevada on 2/3/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Lightweight, Versatile
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sunpak Sunpak Digital Camera Flash Adapter Bracket with Built-in Slave:

Using adapter lenses on my Nikon Coolpix 5700 shades the built in flash. Putting a seperate flash unit on the hotshoe of this Sunpak Digital Bracket with Slave was the fix. Not only can I use a much more powerful flash, but the handle helps to hold my Nikon with ease...!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Low cost fills the need
By albundyVerified Reviewer from Detroit, Michigan on 11/15/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Improves Performance, Lightweight, Quality Construction, Woks with old Sunpak 322
Best Uses:
Shooting Indoors, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Advanced Amature, Tech Savvy
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sunpak Sunpak Digital Camera Flash Adapter Bracket with Built-in Slave:

Chose the right setting for your flash from the 5 provided by a small switch. It will allow the addition light output needed for indoor use such as a wedding reception hall. The only improvement would be if the bracket folded instead of clipped apart.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very disappointed with Sunpak
By AlVerified Reviewer from Cedar Bluff, Ala. on 11/2/2009
Pros:
None
Cons:
Not dependable
Best Uses:
NONE
Describe Yourself:
Advanced amateur
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sunpak Sunpak Digital Camera Flash Adapter Bracket with Built-in Slave:

I bought 2 of these and neither work well. Mode button never responsive. and slave seldom activates flash, regardless of positioning of camera and or bracket.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Works for me...
By The Pain from MaineVerified Reviewer from Brunswick, ME on 2/18/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easy To Use, The price, Works with everything
Cons:
Light plastic build, Small switches
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Night Photography, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sunpak Sunpak Digital Camera Flash Adapter Bracket with Built-in Slave:

[...] What I like about these slave handles is that they work with all the cameras I haved tried them with, and I can use them with any non-dedicated flash I choose--from my little two cell fill flash up to my Sunpak 382 and beyond. Also the slave flashes that I have that never worked well, when set to manual, perform very well on the handle.The cons are that the construction is almost all plastic--though used well--and the switches are very small (i.e. tiny) and easy to reset by mistake. That being said, considering the price and the reliable performance when properly set up--it's hard to deduct any stars. I just wouldn't mount anything on the bracket larger than a medium-size SLR with a small lens, and its a good idea to remove the batteries between uses in case the on/off switch is accidentally turned on--lightly brushing against it will do it. Just a suggestion, one of these handles with a non-dedicated flash like the Vivitar 2800 makes a pretty impressive and reliable slave set-up for your digital camera for around $50.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
flash bracket
By fpwVerified Purchaser from mukwonago, wisconsin on 2/21/2008
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Lighting, Night Photography, Photography, Photojournalism
Pros:
Convenient Interface, Lightweight, Softens Light
Cons:
Weak Construction
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sunpak Sunpak Digital Camera Flash Adapter Bracket with Built-in Slave:

it does the job it was designed for. a little on the weak side, but with a roll of tape just in case. the price is low enough i don't mind replacing it from time to time if something terminal strikes.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
A PC Hole is a Must for Off-Camera Photo
By Sony DSC SuffererVerified Reviewer from Hong Kong on 7/5/2007
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Lighting, Night Photography, Still Life Photography
Pros:
Hot-shoe is good, Lightweight, Softens Light
Cons:
No PC hole, Not good for large flash, Weak Construction
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sunpak Sunpak Digital Camera Flash Adapter Bracket with Built-in Slave:

I am a Sony DSC-W1 camera owner. The camera is great. The only drawback of the camera is lack of flash adaptor and PC hole. Althought I pay little for purchasing this camera rather than a Digital Single Lens Sony A-100, I do expect it gives me more convenience.

Once I get used to the camera, I find it cannot fulfill my requirement to use two flash-guns to give a shadowless picture. Especially the flash-guns I have got are goodie-oldie. They are Sunpak Power Zoom 4000AF for Canon EOS film camera. By the way, I owned EOS 1000 FN since ten years ago.

I bought the slave unit only two days ago. I have the same experience as those people giving their own opinions here. The unit is too weak to support a heavy flash-gun. Lack of PC hole is a great drawback to me as well, because I do quite a lot of still life at home. I have got a flash adaptor with PC hole which I bought so many years ago. Surprisingly, the slave unit works well with my flash adaptor even I connect it with a `one to three' PC hole adaptor. Two flash-guns works perfectly. It may be the flash-guns are the same model.

I am not get stuck now and I start off taking pictures as what I usually did with Canon EOS film camera.

Images shared by: Sony DSC Sufferer

Sample Photo I

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Sample Photo II

Image Thumbnail

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Just what I was looking for
By Dr. LarryVerified Purchaser from Sparks, Nevada on 3/26/2007
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Lighting, Night Photography, Photography
Pros:
Lightweight
Cons:
Weak Construction
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sunpak Sunpak Digital Camera Flash Adapter Bracket with Built-in Slave:

This item was just what I was looking for I don't care about the slave (which will not work with my camera) I was more interested in a external flash mount and this fits the bill. I do wish it was built a little stronger I have a feeling it won't last long the way I shoot.

 
I would buy this product again and agai
By ArthurPeDahlVerified Purchaser from Denmark on 3/26/2007
Best Uses:
Fill Flash
Pros:
Convenient Interface
Cons:
Bulky
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sunpak Sunpak Digital Camera Flash Adapter Bracket with Built-in Slave:

Just what you miss with a digital camera, witch always gives too less light with the built in flash

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
unit works very well
By jimscokeVerified Purchaser from western,N.C. on 2/18/2007
Best Uses:
Fill Flash
Pros:
Lightweight, Reliable
Cons:
Arm a little weak
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sunpak Sunpak Digital Camera Flash Adapter Bracket with Built-in Slave:

it has met my expecations. it is a good little unit and the price range is good.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Sunpak Digital Camera Flash Adapter
By RingoVerified Purchaser from Annapolis, MD on 2/12/2007
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Night Photography, Photography
Pros:
Convenient Interface, Huge increase in flash, Lightweight, Reliable, Works outdoors
Cons:
Weak Construction
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sunpak Sunpak Digital Camera Flash Adapter Bracket with Built-in Slave:

I now can use three of my flash units that were strictly 35mm type with my Canon A75. Works with a Quanteray 9500 multiple-contact dedicated flash also. To use outdoors, in dark painted rooms, or in auditoriums, place a finger alongside the front-mounted slave sensor to reflect some flash into the sensor. Be sure to check the recommended f-stop of your flash unit and sync with with your digital camera's setting. Not heavily made - a shocker for Sunpak - but you can light up the stage at your kids' school play from 80 feet away with a decent flash unit, vs about 12 feet with your built-in flash.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I would by it again
By DickVerified Purchaser from Cinnaminson, NJ on 2/12/2007
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Lighting, Night Photography, Photography
Pros:
Convenient Interface, Lightweight, Reliable, Strong Construction
Cons:
None
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sunpak Sunpak Digital Camera Flash Adapter Bracket with Built-in Slave:

It met my needs at an affordable price

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good Flash for Compact Digital Camer
By Avstuff99Verified Purchaser from Vancouver,BC,Canada on 2/5/2007
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Lighting, Night Photography, Photography, Sports Photography
Pros:
Convenient Interface, Lightweight, Reliable
Cons:
Weak Construction
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sunpak Sunpak Digital Camera Flash Adapter Bracket with Built-in Slave:

Excellent

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great addition to my digital camera
By DickVerified Purchaser from Milton, FL on 2/5/2007
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Lighting, Night Photography, Photography
Pros:
Convenient Interface, Lightweight, Reliable, Strong Construction
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sunpak Sunpak Digital Camera Flash Adapter Bracket with Built-in Slave:

Lightens a much larger area than the internal flash on my Canon digital camera.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.