Buy the Sunpak DS-20 5-Position Bounce-Tilt Shoe Mounted Slave Flash with Wireless Auto Slave. on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Sunpak DS-20 5-Position Bounce-Tilt Shoe Mounted Slave Flash with Wireless Auto Slave. image
 
(based on 11 ratings)
Brand: Sunpak
Located in: Flash/Lighting
Sunpak DS-20 5-Position Bounce-Tilt Shoe Mounted Slave Flash with Wireless Auto Slave.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4 stars
(based on 11 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Consistent output(6), Durable(4), Easy to use(5), Fast recycling(5), Lightweight(7)
Best Uses:
Fill flash(5), General purpose(4), Night photography(3), Portraits(4)
Describe Yourself:
Professional(3), Semi-professional(3)
 
Please bring this back
By VaishakhiVerified Reviewer from St Louis, MO on 3/27/2010
Pros:
Durable, Lightweight
Cons:
Slow Recycling
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sunpak Sunpak DS-20 5-Position Bounce-Tilt Shoe Mounted Slave Flash with Wireless Auto Slave.:

I used this flash on my Canon Xsi for fill lighting as well as a remote slave. While I had it it gave me consistent results. Though I had to tune the ISO and shutter speeds manually, I generally had a great time using this flash. The tilt feature gave me an instant ceiling bounce and the PC Sync feature allowed me to use it with an umbrella and a DIY softbox. Unfortunately I lost it and now cannot find a single flash which does all of the above and not burn a whole in my pocket. Its successor (Sunpak 081ST) looks similar to DS 20 but lacks the tilt feature or power levels. Wish they bring this back, I'll buy two this time just to be sure.

Images shared by: Vaishakhi

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Makes for a cheap hair light as slave
By MrKenroVerified Purchaser from Bako, CA on 6/10/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use
Best Uses:
Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sunpak Sunpak DS-20 5-Position Bounce-Tilt Shoe Mounted Slave Flash with Wireless Auto Slave.:

Afordable Hair light for those on a budget.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Works for me!
By dfsVerified Purchaser from Chicago Illinois on 5/27/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Powerful Output, Versatile
Cons:
not adjustable
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sunpak Sunpak DS-20 5-Position Bounce-Tilt Shoe Mounted Slave Flash with Wireless Auto Slave.:

Powerful and with the addition of a mini tripod I can put it anywhere. I would be nice to be able to turn down the power level but that is easily solved.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great flash for the price.
By DawnaVerified Purchaser from Florida on 4/3/2009
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Lightweight
Cons:
none
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Night Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sunpak Sunpak DS-20 5-Position Bounce-Tilt Shoe Mounted Slave Flash with Wireless Auto Slave.:

This is a great flash for someone just starting out with these types of flashes. I just bought my first DSLR and I wanted an external flash but I didn't want to spend a lot of money so this one is great.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
A Fine Little Mighty Mite
By Terrible TVerified Purchaser from Carlsbad, California on 2/8/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight, Powerful Output, Versatile
Cons:
Slow Recycling
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Night Photography, Photojournalism, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sunpak Sunpak DS-20 5-Position Bounce-Tilt Shoe Mounted Slave Flash with Wireless Auto Slave.:

I bought two of these units based on another review recommending them for extra fill light and saying they'd come in really handy and not take up too much room in my camera bag. They were right. Since they have slaves built in, they save time and fuss in set up and they are pretty much good to go wherever you place them. The light angles are tiltable and the unit is easy to hide within a set . The stands are extra tight fitting, separate attachments which, to my thinking, aren't as cool as having something built in that folds out and is less bothersome in the long run, but these are dependable inexpensive units nonetheless and work fine for a variety of purposes. I'm glad I have them.

 
Great value
By Mike the DrummerVerified Reviewer from NYC on 2/3/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sunpak Sunpak DS-20 5-Position Bounce-Tilt Shoe Mounted Slave Flash with Wireless Auto Slave.:

Have used it as main, background, rim, hair, accent lighting. Very small and light. Batteries do seem to last forever. Best used in small indoor areas.

It comes with a base that has a 1/4" thread.

Only complaint is that the power output cannot be adjusted.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
When it works it's good
By jlbVerified Purchaser from St. Petersburg FL on 6/15/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Back-Up, General Use
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sunpak Sunpak DS-20 5-Position Bounce-Tilt Shoe Mounted Slave Flash with Wireless Auto Slave.:

Good unit for the price. Plenty of pop when the sensor sees my SB600. I need plenty of light shooting rooms with a 10mm lens and the 600 does well up to a point - then I need extra flash beyond the 600's range. Biggest problem is locating the SunPak where it sees the main flash. I haven't used it in any mode other than slave so can't comment on it's auto features.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Cheap and Easy
By WheelsVerified Purchaser from Seattle, Wa on 6/12/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Accent lighting, Strobist work
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sunpak Sunpak DS-20 5-Position Bounce-Tilt Shoe Mounted Slave Flash with Wireless Auto Slave.:

Use many of these flashes to accent your photographs. Its easy on Batteries and has good output. Comes with a little stand so you can put this flash just about anywhere!

 
Good, reliable flash
By MikeValentineVerified Reviewer from Antioch, CA on 3/9/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Clean, Fast Recycling, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Back-Up, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sunpak Sunpak DS-20 5-Position Bounce-Tilt Shoe Mounted Slave Flash with Wireless Auto Slave.:

vairable output would be really nice. Also, unit cannot be used as a slave with many of the digital cameras since they often fire "pre-flashes" before they actually fire. This causes the flash to fire before the actual exposure.(Works great as a separation light for portraits, [...])

 
For its price this is great
By EdgarVerified Purchaser from Salmiya, State of Kuwait on 3/29/2007
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast Recycling
Cons:
Weak Construction
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Lighting, Night Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sunpak Sunpak DS-20 5-Position Bounce-Tilt Shoe Mounted Slave Flash with Wireless Auto Slave.:

Very reliable, I still have to
experience for this product to fail.
Consumes less power, Battery drain is
slow.

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Addition
By DC BuckVerified Reviewer from Waynesville, NC on 8/16/2006
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Photography

Comments about Sunpak Sunpak DS-20 5-Position Bounce-Tilt Shoe Mounted Slave Flash with Wireless Auto Slave.:

This little slave was an awesome addition to my arsenal. I bought a pair of them for fill, background and hair for use on my moble assingments. They are very lightweight for the camerabag, I cant tell they are in there! The only catch, you can be the only photographer with a flash when used in "wireless" mode. Two thumbs up.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.