Buy the Sigma 12mm-24mm f/4.5-5.6 EX DG Aspherical HSM Autofocus Super Wide-Angle Zoom Lens, for Canon EOS Cameras. on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Sigma 12mm-24mm f/4.5-5.6 EX DG Aspherical HSM Autofocus Super Wide-Angle Zoom Lens, for Canon EOS Cameras. image
 
(based on 11 ratings)
Brand: Sigma
Located in: Sigma, 35mm SLR Lenses
Sigma 12mm-24mm f/4.5-5.6 EX DG Aspherical HSM Autofocus Super Wide-Angle Zoom Lens, for Canon EOS Cameras.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.3 stars
(based on 11 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(7)
Pros:
Clear glass(4), Consistent output(5), Durable(3), Easily interchangeable(4), Easily mounted(5)
Best Uses:
Architecture(3), Fun(3), Landscape photography(4), Travel(4)
 
Excellent limited use lens
By Jim JVerified Purchaser from Lafayette CA on 1/24/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable
Cons:
Poor in Low Light
Best Uses:
Indoors with light, Landscape/Scenery, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 12mm-24mm f/4.5-5.6 EX DG Aspherical HSM Autofocus Super Wide-Angle Zoom Lens, for Canon EOS Cameras.:

This is my first lens this wide, and it is a process to learn to use it without creating excess distortion. Still, for indoor (added light)and outdoor architectural photos , it is terrific.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Failed after 3 weeks
By JRTEXASVerified Reviewer from Houston, TX on 9/4/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Good value
Cons:
Slow Focus, Weak Casing
Best Uses:
Landscape Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 12mm-24mm f/4.5-5.6 EX DG Aspherical HSM Autofocus Super Wide-Angle Zoom Lens, for Canon EOS Cameras.:

PROs:
- extreme wide angle (12mm full frame sensor)
- reasonable price
- very usefull in confined space (architecture) OR for landscape (alternative to panoramique)
- good lense quality
- distorsion well corrected
- DXO software modules available for this lens
CONs:
- failed after 3 weeks (far focus impossible),
- slow to very slow focusing,
- modest full aperture,
- no explanation from SIGMA on what failed,
CONCLUSION:
- good and unique as long as it works
- quick replacement by SIGMA USA (NO grey market fortunatly),
- always have a back up lens with you (17-55mm, 14mm ...)

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Slow but good
By Guy Jackson lighting cameramanVerified Purchaser from NY on 8/9/2009
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Sharp Focus, Strong Construction, Widest on the 5D MK II
Cons:
45 is slow at night
Best Uses:
Landscape Photography, Special Effects
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 12mm-24mm f/4.5-5.6 EX DG Aspherical HSM Autofocus Super Wide-Angle Zoom Lens, for Canon EOS Cameras.:

If you want the widest Lens for the 5D full size sensor get it.
wish it was faster to use in low light situations.
12mm is super wide, i use it mostly between 15 to 17

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Widest on 5D
By yc from Seaside, CA on 3/5/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction, Wide Angle
Best Uses:
City scape, Close quarter, General Use, Landscape Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 12mm-24mm f/4.5-5.6 EX DG Aspherical HSM Autofocus Super Wide-Angle Zoom Lens, for Canon EOS Cameras.:

Like nothing else used on 5D. I've been using Sigma 10-20 and Tokina 11-16 on 40D and 350D for a few years. This one just blows them away by a mile! The build quality is top notch, better than my 17-40L and 24-105L! This thing is solid all the way. Hope one of these days Sigma will make it f2.8!

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Really Nice Lense
By Mayor of mud cityVerified Purchaser from Houston, Tx on 2/6/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Scratches Easily
Best Uses:
Architecture, Industrial Design, Landscape Photography, Special Effects
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 12mm-24mm f/4.5-5.6 EX DG Aspherical HSM Autofocus Super Wide-Angle Zoom Lens, for Canon EOS Cameras.:

Affordable 12mm is hard to find for a full frame. This has been a joy to use. Reasonably fast focus, great for the petrochemical storage plants I design and build. Landscape work is tack sharp and the lines are straight!

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Absolutely perfect for my application
By DaveVerified Purchaser from Central Point, OR on 6/12/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 12mm-24mm f/4.5-5.6 EX DG Aspherical HSM Autofocus Super Wide-Angle Zoom Lens, for Canon EOS Cameras.:

I wanted a wide angle lense that wouldn't cost an arm and leg and would still work when and if I upgrade my camera to a full sensor model. This lense fits the bill perfectly and does a fantastic job....just love it.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
great UWA zoom
By mystic cameraVerified Reviewer from mystic CT on 3/29/2007
Pros:
Easily Accessible Controls, Easily Mounted, Great optics, Solid build quality, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Best Uses:
Architecture, Landscapes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 12mm-24mm f/4.5-5.6 EX DG Aspherical HSM Autofocus Super Wide-Angle Zoom Lens, for Canon EOS Cameras.:

Had this lens since it first came out and on my Canon D30 and 20D it is a very useful wide angle range.
Note that polarizing filters are not relevant on UWA due to the large field of view so the rear filter mount doesnt bother me..
size of a bean tin, but i like this lens and if you have FF camera its the only one :)

Images shared by: mystic camera

Fishers Island Canon D30 & SIgma 12-24mm

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[4 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
versatility in sane price
By MarkVerified Purchaser from Israel on 2/14/2007
Pros:
Clear Glass, Easily Accessible Controls, Easily Mounted, Fast focus, Pleasant handling, Strong Construction
Cons:
Can't attach fikters in f, Slow 45 apparature
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Best Uses:
Architecture, Landscapes, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 12mm-24mm f/4.5-5.6 EX DG Aspherical HSM Autofocus Super Wide-Angle Zoom Lens, for Canon EOS Cameras.:

Moving to digital camera, Rebel'D replacing my Canon 5, It was the only choice in 6/2004 for a real wide angle. it's my most used lens, and now as i plan to move to the Canon 5D, the only one that fits both full frame and my 20D. A good lens, The results hang on my walls in sizes up to 25/30.

[7 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good & Bad Points
By JenVerified Purchaser from Finger Lakes Region of NY on 2/12/2007
Pros:
Clear Glass, Easily Accessible Controls, Easily Mounted, Strong Construction
Cons:
Permanent Lens Hood, Rear filters
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 12mm-24mm f/4.5-5.6 EX DG Aspherical HSM Autofocus Super Wide-Angle Zoom Lens, for Canon EOS Cameras.:

I like the range of the lens as well as the build. I don't like the rear loading filters. I would much prefer to have threads on the front for polarizers and such. I do have a 4x6 Lee resin GND filter but there's no easy way to use it with this lens. The lens hood is not detachable and so there's no way to evenly place the Lee filter. I constantly have light bouncing on the back side of filter and it shows in the images.

After only a year of use and probably less than 200 fires, the aperture is sticking. Luckily I have a Mack 6-year warranty that will cover any repairs. It's quite disappointing though.

If I had the choice to make again, I'd probably go with a Canon or Tamron that allow for front filters.

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent and fun
By RodVerified Purchaser from Grand Junction, Co. on 2/12/2007
Pros:
Clear Glass, Easily Accessible Controls, Easily Mounted, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 12mm-24mm f/4.5-5.6 EX DG Aspherical HSM Autofocus Super Wide-Angle Zoom Lens, for Canon EOS Cameras.:

Well worth the money!

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great lense for a variety of subjects
By BrianVerified Purchaser from Columbus, OH on 2/5/2007
Pros:
Clear Glass, Easily Accessible Controls, Easily Mounted, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 12mm-24mm f/4.5-5.6 EX DG Aspherical HSM Autofocus Super Wide-Angle Zoom Lens, for Canon EOS Cameras.:

I borrowed this lens from a friend for a month and after giving it back I had to purchase it myself. This lens is a great all around tool for anyone photographing architecture, interiors, large objects, and those who want that wide angle look. The lens construction is overall solid and well built. Great lens that I would recommend to any serious photographer. Great for Canon shooters because it works well on the DSLRs with smaller sensors as well as the full frame cameras.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.