Buy the Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG APO AF Telephoto Macro Lens for Nikon AF-D Cameras on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG APO AF Telephoto Macro Lens for Nikon AF-D Cameras image
 
(based on 8 ratings)
Brand: Sigma
Located in: Sigma, 35mm SLR Lenses
Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG APO AF Telephoto Macro Lens for Nikon AF-D Cameras
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.9 stars
(based on 8 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Durable(4), Fast / accurate auto-focus(5), Rugged(5), Strong construction(7)
Best Uses:
General purpose(3), Macro photography(3), Portraits(3), Sports/action(3)
Describe Yourself:
Photo enthusiast(3)
 
Pro quality with Affordability.
By ACGIOTTOVerified Purchaser from Vancouver, BC Canada on 3/16/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons:
Lens hood hard to install
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG APO AF Telephoto Macro Lens for Nikon AF-D Cameras:

Physical construction and quality is very good. Excellent picture quality. Sharp. Use it for most of my macro work.

Images shared by: ACGIOTTO

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

 
Pro quality with affordability.
By ACGIOTTOVerified Purchaser from Vancouver, BC Canada on 3/16/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG APO AF Telephoto Macro Lens for Nikon AF-D Cameras:

Excellent lens for macro photography. Use it with my D700 and D300s. Sharp consistent output and great color reproduction. The only thing I don't like about it the lens hood is hard to instal and remove.

Images shared by: ACGIOTTO

Image Thumbnail

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
A Solid Macro Lens
By AllanVerified Reviewer from Round Hill, VA on 7/19/2010
Pros:
Color, Durable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Nice Bokeh, Rugged, Sharpness, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Macro Photography, Sports/Action, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG APO AF Telephoto Macro Lens for Nikon AF-D Cameras:

I've had this lens for a little over two years and once the spring – summer seasons arrive, it becomes very difficult to take off my Nikon. The color and sharpness is fantastic and coupled with the 150mm focal length, you have plenty of distance not to disturb your subject.
While the auto focus is very quick and silent, I find myself switching between auto & manual depending on what I'm shooting. The selection to manual focus is primarily due to my choice and not any inefficiency in the HSM system.
My primary use for the Sigma 150 has been macro, but the occasions I've used it for other purposes; wildlife, action, and portraits, it has preformed extremely well. As a macro lens, it's a workhorse, serving up well focused and detailed subjects while also supplying a very smooth bokeh, (out of focus background). I've been very satisfied, so much so, that I'm purchasing yet another Sigma lens.

Images shared by: Allan

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[10 of 10 customers found this review helpful]

 
One of the best macros out there.
By CraigHVerified Reviewer from Orlando, Florida on 8/25/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Fast autofocus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction, Tripod collar
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Macro, Portraits, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG APO AF Telephoto Macro Lens for Nikon AF-D Cameras:

This lens is one of the best optical performers of any lens by anyone. It doesn't have to apologize to Nikon or Canon. Its build quality is superb. Moreover, you have a strong tripod collar when you need it. The HSM motor allows you to correct focus with a twist of the focus ring.

This Sigma is the only f2.8 macro lens with this reach, making it fast and giving you the distance to do biting critters.

One other advantage is that though many macro lenses don’t do as well when using them at normal distances, this Sigma 150 still maintains its superb optics all the way out to infinity. That means that it’s a great fast short telephoto as well as a great macro lens.

One more thing. This Sigma has one of the nicest bokeh (out of focus background) you’ll ever see. It rivals my cream machine, the Nikkor 85 f1.4 in this ability. Certainly an amazing lens.

[14 of 14 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent multi purpose lens
By BigeasyVerified Reviewer from Lewisburg, PA on 6/23/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Color accuracy, Contrast, Focus accuracy, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Macro and portraits, Portraits, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG APO AF Telephoto Macro Lens for Nikon AF-D Cameras:

I was in the market for a longer macro lens, something that would give me a little working room with insects. I heard good things about this lens, so I purchased one. I was very impressed with the level of sharpness, and color / contrast accuracy this lens produces, both on a D300, and on a F5.

Focus speed is fast for a macro lens, and near silent. The HSM motor is just as smooth and quiet as the AFS motor in a Nikkor lens. That same relatively slow focus also makes for extreme focus accuracy. A lot of lens's go from close to infinity in one turn or less, making for less accurate auto focus, and more difficulty in manual focus. The longer focus reach of this lens allows for more accurate fine tuning, both auto and by hand.

The fit and finish is very nice on this lens, and it seems as if the build quality is well above most 3rd party lens's. All controls work smooth, with no creep or roughness.

Although you do not really need F2.8 on a macro lens, when using it for tripod mounted macro photography, it does make a world of difference for other uses. This lens is very versitile. It makes a great medium distance sports and wildlife lens, and is great for informal portraits. Great for standing back a bit, and catching expressions without being in someones face. That 2.8 speed allows for good subject isolation, and helps to freeze subject movement in a way slower lens's have a hard time matching. In case you have not noticed yet, I am very impressed with this lens.

[12 of 12 customers found this review helpful]

 
Superb Macro
By Craig HardingVerified Reviewer from Orlando, FL on 5/11/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Fast focus in good light, No Distortion, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Silent focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Macro, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG APO AF Telephoto Macro Lens for Nikon AF-D Cameras:

I purchased this Sigma f2.8 150mm APO Macro for several reasons. One, was I wanted a longer reach but still wanted f2.8. This is the only macro lens by anyone with 150mm or more and f2.8. Secondly, several review websites using imagetest show that this lens is one of two third party macros that can play with the big boys. It's optics are at least as good if not better than several Nikkors and all Canon Macros. Finally, the price is as good or a little better than most macro lenses in this range. The HSM motor is great as well as having a tripod collar. The only negative, and it's not really much, is that is hunts a bit in autofocus is less than perfect contrast situations. Now, I know that for macro, I rarely use autofocus, and I understand that a lens of this reach, from 1:1 lifesize to infinity will take a while, but it still hunts more than I like. I'm sometimes forced to move aquisition to a high contrast subject and then recompose. The focus limiter switch helps a lot. [...] I also think that Adorama's website is the easiest to navigate of all the 3 or 4 topnotch online camera stores. For these reasons I always check them first.

Images shared by: Craig Harding

Fun on the first day of ownership

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

[9 of 12 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Lens
By AndrewVerified Reviewer from Raleigh, NC on 1/11/2007
Pros:
Clear Glass, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Nature
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG APO AF Telephoto Macro Lens for Nikon AF-D Cameras:

Love this lens. Traded up from an older Tamron 90mm. Very, very smooth bokeh. Backgrounds like butter when wide open. Best with manual focus when doing macro at 1:1.

Images shared by: Andrew

Backyard fly

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[3 of 11 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice Lens with Good Price
By Jung from UT on 12/1/2006
Pros:
Clear Glass, Easily Accessible Controls, Easily Mounted
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary

Comments about Sigma Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG APO AF Telephoto Macro Lens for Nikon AF-D Cameras:

This is a good lens with a good price. Quick focus and silence.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.