Buy the Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4.5 DC Macro AutoFocus Super Wide Angle Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Digital Cameras on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4.5 DC Macro AutoFocus Super Wide Angle Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Digital Cameras image
 
(based on 16 ratings)
Brand: Sigma
Located in: Sigma, 35mm SLR Lenses
Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4.5 DC Macro AutoFocus Super Wide Angle Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.1 stars
(based on 16 reviews)
86% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Clear glass(3), Consistent output(8), Durable(4), Easily interchangeable(3), Easy to clean(3)
Best Uses:
General purpose(10), Macro(3), Portraits(3), Travel(3)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(7), Semi-professional(4)
 
Good
By timbo762Verified Reviewer from Lake Havasu, AZ on 5/20/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Front lens doesn't rotate, Lightweight, Rugged, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Macro Photography, Portrature, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4.5 DC Macro AutoFocus Super Wide Angle Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Digital Cameras:

Overall, a very nice lens. Price, image quality, and build quality all come together for a great "all around" lens for photographers not wanting to spend the dollars for Canon "L" lenses. Is it perfect? NO. Does it do a good job at a reasonal price? YES. Even without HSM, focus is fast and sure on my Canon XSi, and photos look fine. I researched a lot before buying, and this lens was the winner in it's class.

 
Great value
By pahammerVerified Purchaser from Landenberg, PA on 12/4/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Night Photography, Special Effects
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4.5 DC Macro AutoFocus Super Wide Angle Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Digital Cameras:

Can't beat this lens for the money.

 
I would definately buy this one
By WpoteatVerified Reviewer from Richmond, Va. on 9/6/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Macro, Special Effects, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4.5 DC Macro AutoFocus Super Wide Angle Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Digital Cameras:

Excellent lens for doing Macro shooting. Have taken to conservatory and shot photos of orchids in bloom. The depth you get is like looking directly into the center of bloom. Fantastic color when used with the new Canon Rebel T1I.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not too bad... still testing..
By Ivan H.Verified Reviewer from Philadelphia on 8/20/2009
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Upgrade
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4.5 DC Macro AutoFocus Super Wide Angle Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Digital Cameras:

It's not bad so far... i've gotten so use to the sharpness and detail of my fixed length lenses that I'm kinda spoiled. This is my first Sigma lens in years... focus is slow... and sometimes tempermental... but not bad for the price...smaller and lighter than my Canon 17-85Is.. and more reliable..(17-85 had the dust thing goin on constantly)... Good color... strong construction.. and I love the zoom lock.. If you have a stable of super sharp lenses... and need a nice zoom lense for those wide angle shots not covered by your primes... this is not bad.. next sigma will be an EX though...

 
worth the money
By KCVerified Purchaser from Chapel Hill, NC on 7/9/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Good macro function, Lightweight, Quick Focus
Cons:
Slightly noisy AF
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Macro, Night Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4.5 DC Macro AutoFocus Super Wide Angle Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Digital Cameras:

AF misses occasionally (particularly on dense foliage), slight back-focus problem, but my camera can compensate for it. Can be quite sharp at times. Haven't noticed the soft edges others have mentioned wide open.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
This is a great lens!!
By ZacManVerified Reviewer from Sunny Florida on 9/20/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4.5 DC Macro AutoFocus Super Wide Angle Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Digital Cameras:

Bought this lens to replace the kit lens on my Rebel XTI. The lens works well and is a real upgrade from the Canon kit lens. For the $ I recommend it. Though Tamron is just introducing an 18-270mm with vibration control. It is a bit pricey,,, but would be an even better option over the kit lens. If 600$ is out of your budget,, get the Sigma 17-70 and you will be happy.

Images shared by: ZacMan

Florida forest - shot with Sigma 17-70mm

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

Eastern Tiger Swallowtail Butterfly w/Sigma 17-70

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I decided to give it another try...
By TomVerified Reviewer from Seattle on 8/25/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4.5 DC Macro AutoFocus Super Wide Angle Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Digital Cameras:

I reviewed this lens previously, and this is my (2nd) updated review. So I decided to try a 3rd one. This could be the best of the three. Focus is more consistent. The focus problem at 50mm is almost resolved (still sometimes misfocused). Manual focus at 50mm would give better result, if in doubt. So, I was in between the Tamron 28-75mm and this Sigma 17-70mm. I like the constant f2.8 and somewhat more consistent IQ of the Tamron, but I also like the 17mm wide angle, better contrast/auto white balance, and build quality of the Sigma. I decided to go with the Sigma. 17mm was the main selling point, considering its IQ is not far behind the Tamron - and in some cases even on par with. So if you can find a good one (Sigma 17-70mm), you'll be happy with it.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice quality but confused focusing
By Greg the Plant DocVerified Purchaser from San Francisco, CA on 8/24/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Lightweight, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons:
Blurry Focus
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4.5 DC Macro AutoFocus Super Wide Angle Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Digital Cameras:

Nice build quality, good range for a general use lens, reasonable price, works on Canon 10D that doesn't support EF-S lenses. Unfortunately, my copy didn't focus accurately at 17mm between approx 12-25 ft. It would often front focus by 1/2 the actual distance, which is a major error. This occurred with the 300d rebel, 10d, and 40d. Very strange since focusing seemed OK with other focal lengths and distances Stopped testing at this point and returned the lens.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Could be a good lens, but not quite.
By TomVerified Purchaser from Seattle, WA on 8/6/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
17mmf28, Good colorscontrast, good focal range, Look good, Price, Solid built
Cons:
Inconsistent focus
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4.5 DC Macro AutoFocus Super Wide Angle Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Digital Cameras:

I've tested the (1st) lens at various focal lengths and apertures on different subjects, and come down to several findings:
- Soft focus at 17mm/f2.8 and 70mm/f4.5 (wide open). Stop down aperture did help.
- Really soft focus at 50mm (!),at all apertures.
- Focus somehow is inconsistent at wide end (~17-35mm)
So, of course I returned the lens, thinking I might get a lemon.
I ordered the 2nd one (from a different online retailer). This one is better than the 1st one, but not without some issues. I even tested this lens against the famous Tamron 28-75mm f2.8, and the Sigma held up pretty good! But it still has some focus issue at 50mm. If it didn't have this focus issue at 50mm it would have been a keeper. Now I'm not so sure if I want to keep it or not. Two lenses in a row with the same problem, could it be design issue? I really want to like this lens (because of its 17mm) over the Tamron, but the latter seems more consistent in focusing (the Sigma actually produces more contrast and better colors than the Tamron in general). I'm not sure if I will give it another try (i.e. a 3rd one). If you don't mind getting some soft-focus shots at 50mm, it is a nice lens to have.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fantastic lens
By BillVerified Reviewer from Jacksonville Florida on 4/19/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Lens Creep
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4.5 DC Macro AutoFocus Super Wide Angle Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Digital Cameras:

Focus is tack sharp and, in macro, just about starts at the surface of the lens (UV filter). Lens creep is an issue, especially when pointed down which seems to be common with Sigmas. Used it for almost a year now, love it, buy it, done.

Images shared by: Bill

Shows focus and DOF

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Sigma 17-70 a great lens
By ClairbearVerified Purchaser from East stroudsburg, Pa on 9/26/2007
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Clean, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Portraits, Professional Work, Sports/Action, Upgrade
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4.5 DC Macro AutoFocus Super Wide Angle Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Digital Cameras:

This lens is awesome bright claer and solidly built. The lenses Is a great Adjunct to my new Canon 40D. Well worth the price at a fraction of the price of the comparable Canon. The zoom is a little tighter than I am used to but that means it won't slip from one focal length to anothe when I don't want it to.
My advice buy this lens.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
No regrets with this lens
By GaryVerified Reviewer from San Marcos, TX on 9/6/2007
Describe Yourself:
Serious Amateur
Pros:
Consistent Output, Rugged
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Macro
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4.5 DC Macro AutoFocus Super Wide Angle Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Digital Cameras:

This is an excellent all purpose lens with the added benefit of macro work. I am currently using a Canon Rebel XT and this lens is perfect for taking to any function but it's amazing on the macro end. It's a little heavy but worth carrying around.

Images shared by: Gary

70mm (macro) on Canon Digital Rebel XT

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Lens
By Bryan "On his toes" McIntyreVerified Reviewer from Salisbury, North Carolina on 7/10/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Semi-Professional
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Clean, Fast autofocus, Lens Barrel Lock, Lightweight, Quiet, Strong Construction
Cons:
Inconsistant
Best Uses:
Back-Up, General Use, Portraits, Professional Work
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4.5 DC Macro AutoFocus Super Wide Angle Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Digital Cameras:

Has been a great back up lens. Used on back up body for weddig photography and does a wonderful job. There are occasional blurry photo's for no reason, but it's rare.All in all has been a wonderful lens and works well in low light.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent, affordable lens.
By XenolithVerified Purchaser from Atlanta, GA on 2/12/2007
Pros:
Clear Glass, Easily Accessible Controls, Easily Mounted, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Best Uses:
Fun, Outdoor, Photojournalism, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4.5 DC Macro AutoFocus Super Wide Angle Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Digital Cameras:

This is a great and affordable lens. I've used it in all kinds of lighting situations and have never had problems. Works well with filters and hoods.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great for serious amateur, not for pro
By Medievalist from Canton OH on 12/2/2006
Pros:
Clear Glass, Easily Accessible Controls, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Documentary, Travel

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4.5 DC Macro AutoFocus Super Wide Angle Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Digital Cameras:

Excellent low-light and macro performance, short minimum focus distance make it excellent for museum exhibit photography or photoos of craft projects. Low geometric distortion for the price. Autofocus is a little slow. Has become my #1 "walkaround" lens for general photography. (I'm a serious amateur but not a pro.)

[11 of 11 customers found this review helpful]

 
Wow, unexpected Quality for the price!
By Doug the Bargin HunterVerified Reviewer from Sunnyvale, CA on 9/5/2006
Pros:
Clear Glass, Easily Accessible Controls, Easily Mounted, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4.5 DC Macro AutoFocus Super Wide Angle Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Digital Cameras:

What an unexpected surprise! This lens is awesome, I had my doubts, but the construction is superb, the resulting pictures are clear and bright. Great macro too! Performs well in hand-held, low-light photography and bright daylight shots too. This is my new everyday lens.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.