Buy the Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4 DC Macro OS (Optical Stabilizer) HSM AutoFocus Super Wide Angle Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Cameras on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4 DC Macro OS (Optical Stabilizer) HSM AutoFocus Super Wide Angle Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Cameras image
 
(based on 9 ratings)
Brand: Sigma
Located in: Sigma, 35mm SLR Lenses
Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4 DC Macro OS (Optical Stabilizer) HSM AutoFocus Super Wide Angle Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Cameras
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.3 stars
(based on 9 reviews)
89% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Consistent output(7), Durable(4), Fast / accurate auto-focus(7), Nice bokeh(3), Rugged(3)
Cons:
Heavy(3)
Best Uses:
Landscape/scenery(8), Low light(6), Macro photography(7), Night photography(5), Sports/action(3)
Describe Yourself:
Photo enthusiast(5), Semi-pro photographer(3)
Was this a gift?:
No(6)
 
EXCELLENT LENS
By CAPT. DAVEVerified Reviewer from rocky hill, conn. on 5/28/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Macro Photography, Night Photography
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4 DC Macro OS (Optical Stabilizer) HSM AutoFocus Super Wide Angle Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Cameras:

this is my first sigma lens. I am very impressed with the product, this will not be my last lens from sigma.

 
Great sturdy, crisp bright lens
By Ryan708Verified Reviewer from Jaffrey, NH on 3/17/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Good saturation, Nice Bokeh, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Night Photography, Sports/Action, Video, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4 DC Macro OS (Optical Stabilizer) HSM AutoFocus Super Wide Angle Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Cameras:

I heard some reviews concerning a front focus problem. so the first thing I did was test the focus distance. My lens was dead on. so after using it for a week i have not taken the lens off and realized im in love! I threw my old kit lens on [...] This lens is very crisp at all focal lengths, and is a stop faster and +15mm than the kit lens. The color saturation is great also! the lens is very smooth and sturdy, even if it is a tad heavy.

Images shared by: Ryan708

Tent at dusk, airplane in sky

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

 
It is what they say. Excellent lens.
By DickVerified Purchaser from Tampa, Fl. on 3/13/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Rugged, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Macro Photography, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4 DC Macro OS (Optical Stabilizer) HSM AutoFocus Super Wide Angle Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Cameras:

Plan on giving it a good work out on a trip to Georgia the end of the month.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I got a good copy !
By hjoseph7Verified Reviewer from Washington DC on 3/10/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Economical, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Good in low light, Lightweight, Nice Bokeh, Rugged, Sharp
Cons:
No FTM
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Macro Photography, Night Photography, Walk AroundEveryday, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4 DC Macro OS (Optical Stabilizer) HSM AutoFocus Super Wide Angle Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Cameras:

I'm a Canon user and I said that I would never purchase a third party lens. About 10 years ago I had bad luck with a Sigma 28mm lens that only lasted one day. That lens did not allow FTM full time manual focus(by the way neither does this one) so when I tried it, it was all over. Ten years later I decided to give Sigma another chance. I wanted a walk-around, travel lens that would span the range of 24-70mm for my cropped camera, the Canon 7D. Canon offers several lenses in that range, but none of them fit the bill for me. They were either to slow, to expensive, or too cheap. This lens has a Maximum aperture of f2.8 at 17-23mm, f3.2 at f24-27mm, f3.5 at 28-49mm, f4.0 at 50-70mm. Not exactly blasing fast, but fast enough. If you use the Image Stabilizer(OS, that's an additional 3 stops. So at 70mm you could shoot at the equivalent range of f2.8 easy. The build quality of this lens is very good, better than some Canon lenses and much better than the kit lenses. This lens looks good on my camera really ! The OS(Image Stabilizer) is wisper quiet. It turns itself off when the LCD display on the camera turns itself off. The AF is quiet, not as quiet as USM, but barely noticeable. I was surprised, because of some reviews I read said the lens was noisy. So far everything seems to work even the macro focuses fine. I can also get pretty close up about 8" or less from the subject at 70mm which is simply amazing. Add a close-up diopter filter and you are good to go. I haven't taken this lens through all the changes yet, but so far the images look good, very sharp, with good contrast and should I say, "Dynamic range". Of course if you want something better, you can shell out hundreds of dollars more, but for my uses "11X14 prints or less", this lens will do. Another bonus, this lens came with a Free cleaning kit, hood, and UV filter[...] I'll probably have to update this review once I find some bugs if I ever do, but so far I am very happy with this purchase. This is the perfect travel/walk-around lens for cropped(1.6X) cameras, with an equivalent reach of 25mm-112mm. Now I don't have to carry 2 lenses anymore like I use to. No more bumping up the ISO to astronomical levels either. WOW !

 
Must have lens
By bigdawg76 from gvillle fl on 3/2/2011
Pros:
Colors pop
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4 DC Macro OS (Optical Stabilizer) HSM AutoFocus Super Wide Angle Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Cameras:

Worth the money! I love this lens.

 
cant be beat!!
By bisdak10 from SoCal on 2/19/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Nice colors
Cons:
Heavy, Lens Creep
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Macro Photography, Night Photography
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4 DC Macro OS (Optical Stabilizer) HSM AutoFocus Super Wide Angle Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Cameras:

lens is way better than kit lens. 72mm = heavy lens. focus faster and better in dark/low light situations. not a dedicated macro lens but it works.

comparing to canon kit lens 18-135mm, sigma is far better built and feel.

i should have bought this a long time ago.

 
Great Camera lense
By mboberVerified Purchaser from Elyria, Ohio on 5/23/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Nice Bokeh, Rugged, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Macro Photography, Night Photography, Sports/Action, Video, Weddings/Events, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4 DC Macro OS (Optical Stabilizer) HSM AutoFocus Super Wide Angle Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Cameras:

Great lense for indoor and night shooting

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Mixed review
By kiwiruzVerified Reviewer from Hawaii on 4/21/2010
Pros:
Lightweight
Cons:
Blurry Focus, Poor in Low Light
Best Uses:
Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4 DC Macro OS (Optical Stabilizer) HSM AutoFocus Super Wide Angle Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Cameras:

With this lens the first time I used it was at wide open using av between the f2.8 to f4 in the forest at about a 60th using auto focus and everything once seen on my Mac was out of focus and most images were unusable. When I used it during a wedding not trusting the auto focus and having to use manual the shots were very good, comparable to my Canon L series for quality. Today after shooting a model with manual focus in lower light again some of the shots were out of focus and I've never had that problem with other lenses. Therefore I can't recommend this lense. And I will probably try to return it.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great pictures at a great value....
By musafirVerified Purchaser from New Jersey on 4/12/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Fast / accurate auto-focus
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Macro Photography, Sports/Action, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4 DC Macro OS (Optical Stabilizer) HSM AutoFocus Super Wide Angle Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Cameras:

I bought this lens as a replacement for my Digital Rebel Kit Lens, and I must say that it is worth the price...

Took it out on three different shoots, and the consistent quality of output is amazing. The optical stabilizer is very useful, especially in quick shifts in focus while shooting moving objects without a tripod, and correcting minor creep at high f stops. (tried shooting while biking through central park & was surprised with the results)...

A great outdoor companion; excellent depth at macro, good for portraits & for landscape...

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.