Buy the Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical IF EX DG HSM AutoFocus Zoom Lens for Nikon AF & Digital SLR's on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical IF EX DG HSM AutoFocus Zoom Lens for Nikon AF & Digital SLR's image
 
(based on 9 ratings)
Brand: Sigma
Located in: Sigma, 35mm SLR Lenses
Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical IF EX DG HSM AutoFocus Zoom Lens for Nikon AF & Digital SLR's
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.4 stars
(based on 9 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Photo enthusiast(4)
Pros:
Consistent output(6), Durable(5), Easily interchangeable(4), Fast / accurate auto-focus(11), Rugged(5)
Cons:
Heavy(4)
Best Uses:
Landscape/scenery(3), Night photography(5), Portraits(4), Sports/action(4), Weddings(5)
 
Low Light? No Problem.
By HuffotoVerified Purchaser from Corinth, MS on 3/6/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Nice Bokeh, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Night Photography, Sports/Action, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical IF EX DG HSM AutoFocus Zoom Lens for Nikon AF & Digital SLR's:

This lens works great for wedding and sports. Although the f2.8 is awesome if you can get f4 it really seems to be a sweet spot for this lens. I have used this lens for weddings, basketball,and portrait photography and the results were immediate along with my client's responses. I would definitely suggest this lens if you are looking for quality at a price that is affordable. It is well worth the investment.

Images shared by: Huffoto

Basketball Action

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I made the right choice
By ChrisVerified Purchaser from Lyons, Ks on 1/21/2011
Pros:
And did i mention FAST, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Great all-around lens
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical IF EX DG HSM AutoFocus Zoom Lens for Nikon AF & Digital SLR's:

FAST and ACCURATE! Vibration reduction and image stabilization certainly have their place for shooting subjects that stand still, but when shooting moving subjects I wanted a lens that gathered enough light to focus accurately and QUICKLY in less than ample light. Sigma's f2.8 throughout the zoom range lets in plenty of light and this lens focuses and locks on fast! It functions and feels like a much more expensive lens. Zooming is solid but not stiff with no 'zoom creep'. I test drove a lens with vibration reduction and a smaller aperture that took a lot longer to find focus and really had trouble focusing in low light. I'm glad I opted for the f2.8!

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Rocky Road
By RickVerified Reviewer from florida on 8/9/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Rugged, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical IF EX DG HSM AutoFocus Zoom Lens for Nikon AF & Digital SLR's:

Pack you patients. It took 3 lenses to get a good one. 1st one came and seemed fine until I was shooting a kids party and all of a sudden my d90 was not communicating with the lens. Turned camera off and on and it was fine, but I missed 2 good shots, kids don't stay still long. This happened 3 or 4 times. [...] got a new one, opened it up put it on and boy was I upset. The zoom ring was so sticky that I really had to use force to move it. Around the 50mm mark the ring really felt like it was catching on something. [...] got a new one. I have not finished all my testing, but so far all is fine.

[0 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Sigma 24-70mm
By RichardVerified Purchaser from Yonkers on 4/12/2010
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Lightweight, Rugged, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical IF EX DG HSM AutoFocus Zoom Lens for Nikon AF & Digital SLR's:

Shoot weddings and events

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent value for money
By HankVerified Purchaser from Ontario on 1/11/2010
Pros:
Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Night Photography, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast

Comments about Sigma Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical IF EX DG HSM AutoFocus Zoom Lens for Nikon AF & Digital SLR's:

Well constructed lens with sharp and quick focus - significantly less expensive than the Nikon equivalent. A good value-for-money lens.

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Well made lens
By Geoff from Orlando FL on 1/7/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy, Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Night Photography, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical IF EX DG HSM AutoFocus Zoom Lens for Nikon AF & Digital SLR's:

I use this lens for everything. It makes for a good walkabout lens because of its range and works acceptably well in slightly dim situations. In Low light situations the auto-focus does have a bit of a difficult time. It may not be as good as a Nikon equivalent however the money saved on this item makes it very much worth it. That said, this optic will only disappoint those looking for images that would otherwise be produced by a lens twice the price. This lens may not be professional quality or perfect, however it is capable of beautiful pictures if used correctly.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Superb lens!
By B`Creative PixelVerified Reviewer from Lynnwood, WA on 10/7/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Portraits wedding
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical IF EX DG HSM AutoFocus Zoom Lens for Nikon AF & Digital SLR's:

This lens is simply superb! Sharp - great AF - light. Like many others, I was debating whether to buy this lens or keep the genuine Nikon 24-70. I've decide to get this lens instead. Yes, it is not as good as the Nikon but 9.5 to 10 is not bad at all. Keep the extra cash for your wide angle and/or telephoto!

[10 of 11 customers found this review helpful]

 
A great all-purpose lens
By kevwilVerified Purchaser from Frederick, CO on 9/2/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Rugged, Sharp, Strong Construction
Cons:
Backwards zoom, Heavy, Inaccurate focus, Lens Creep
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Night Photography, Portraits, Sports/Action, Upgrade, Weddings
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical IF EX DG HSM AutoFocus Zoom Lens for Nikon AF & Digital SLR's:

I sold my Nikon 24-70/2.8 and bought this lens plus the Sigma 70-200 EX DG HSM II - I needed a fast telephoto for weddings and cash is tight.

I tested this lens against the Nikon, shooting the exact same picture through both lenses. I thought I would compare the images on the computer and decide to either return this lens or sell the Nikon. I could not tell the difference between the Nikon and the Sigma. There were slight differences, but I couldn't tell which image went with which lens.

The Cons I listed are slight and don't really bother me, except the reverse zoom direction is really annoying. I like the weight, it feels solid. I had some focus hunt at a wedding, but that might happen with any lens in that dark situation. Overall, this is an excellent lens. I highly recommend it.

If you're a paid pro with good cash flow, get the Nikon, it is a bit better. Otherwise, save your money and get images just as good for just over half the price of the Nikon.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Better Than Expected
By DeweyBVerified Reviewer from Indiana on 8/31/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical IF EX DG HSM AutoFocus Zoom Lens for Nikon AF & Digital SLR's:

I bought this lens because I didn't want to shell out the money for the Nikon 24-70. The reviews that I read stated that this lens was just about as good as the Nikon. Based on what I have seen so far I would say that the lens is just as good as the Nikon for half the price. This lens is smaller and lighter than the Nikon as well.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.