Buy the Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical DG DF AutoFocus Standard Zoom Lens with Hood for Canon EOS Cameras on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical DG DF AutoFocus Standard Zoom Lens with Hood for Canon EOS Cameras image
 
(based on 14 ratings)
Brand: Sigma
Located in: Sigma, 35mm SLR Lenses
Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical DG DF AutoFocus Standard Zoom Lens with Hood for Canon EOS Cameras
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
3.9 stars
(based on 14 reviews)
86% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Pro photographer(4), Semi-professional(4)
Pros:
Consistent output(9), Durable(8), Easily interchangeable(7), Fast / accurate auto-focus(10), Rugged(8)
Cons:
Heavy(7)
Best Uses:
General purpose(5), Landscape/scenery(3), Night photography(3), Portraits(5), Sports/action(5)
Was this a gift?:
No(3)
 
Great lens , great price
By JamieVerified Purchaser from Maryland on 11/8/2010
Pros:
F 28 constant, Price, Rugged, Seems sharper than my old
Cons:
NONE
Best Uses:
Macro Photography, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical DG DF AutoFocus Standard Zoom Lens with Hood for Canon EOS Cameras:

This my second one of these lenses and I could not be happier with them. All of my sigma lenses are great and have never let me down.

 
Great Lens for the money!
By AVerified Purchaser from Florida on 10/14/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical DG DF AutoFocus Standard Zoom Lens with Hood for Canon EOS Cameras:

This lens is a great compromise to the Canon EF L-series lens. The price is right and the images are great!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Super Fast Auto Focus
By Mountain_ManVerified Reviewer from Sawtooth National Recreation Area on 9/5/2010
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy, Poor in Low Light
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Weddings/Events, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical DG DF AutoFocus Standard Zoom Lens with Hood for Canon EOS Cameras:

I just purchased another 24-70mm f/2.8 Sigma lens for my Canon 1Ds Mark II and this lens rocks. The auto focus is super fast paired with the 1Ds Mark II. WOW!!! I purchased this same lens for my older Nikon D-80 and it worked just as good but the auto focus wasn't as fast paired with Nikon. I normally shoot landscapes and don't use auto focus. This will come in handy when I start shooting fashion/swimwear shoots. This is a little on the heavy side but well worth the price. It will tend to search at times during low-light, but a simple switch to manual mode will fix that problam.

 
Very nice lens for the money !
By StarhunterVerified Purchaser from Western Pennsylvania on 5/23/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Hey It's a SIGMA, Nice Bokeh, Rugged, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical DG DF AutoFocus Standard Zoom Lens with Hood for Canon EOS Cameras:

Great lens on 2 weddings so far. Its a Sigma, so we all know they are built like tanks. Heavy yes, but if you WANT PLASTIC.... go buy another brand ! This lens is nice for the money, worth what I paid. First lens was defective[...] Got this lens the day before my scheduled wedding. No real complaints, I probably will upgrade to the HSM model in time, I am not partial to this type of focus ring that you have to set a switch and kick the FR out of gear. All in all it is an excellent lens. Sharp IQ, pretty fast on the focus and SIGMA finish an weight.... love it !

[0 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very bad low quality lens
By CoreyVerified Reviewer from Detroit on 5/14/2010
Cons:
Blurry Focus, Lens Creep, Poor in Low Light, Slow Focus
Best Uses:
none
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical DG DF AutoFocus Standard Zoom Lens with Hood for Canon EOS Cameras:

I was in a pinch so I bought this lens on a whim and I have been trying to sell it since. Stay far away from this lens, it is fast at f/2.8 however I have not gotten any sharp images at any f stop. I wold not recommend this lens to anyone.

 
Great lens for the money
By CNVerified Reviewer from Michigan on 5/2/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Rugged, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Macro Photography, Night Photography, Sports/Action, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical DG DF AutoFocus Standard Zoom Lens with Hood for Canon EOS Cameras:

For the money you cannot beat this lens, it lets a lot of light in at f/2.8 and focus's really fast. I could not be happier

 
a really great lens
By ChrisVerified Reviewer from Dover, NH on 6/28/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical DG DF AutoFocus Standard Zoom Lens with Hood for Canon EOS Cameras:

This is an awesome lens. every time I've used it I've gotten great sharp images, I love this lens and would recommend it to anybody!

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love the Lens
By GregVerified Purchaser from Rochester, MN on 6/26/2008
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy, Stiff
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical DG DF AutoFocus Standard Zoom Lens with Hood for Canon EOS Cameras:

I've read before about Sigma lenses being stiff on the zoom, but I haven't experienced it with my 70-200mm... this lens is a bit stiff and will take a bit of getting used to.

I've had several Sigma lenses now and really like the quality build and clarity especially for the cost.

The one downfall to Sigma lenses in general is the new coating they are applying is not very durable. My 24-70 has not started peeling yet, but my 70-200 is peeling quite a bit around mount area.

I would recommend Sigma lenses to anyone looking for a quality lens with budget constraints...

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Lens
By K-Moe from Cincinnati, OH on 4/28/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Rugged
Best Uses:
Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical DG DF AutoFocus Standard Zoom Lens with Hood for Canon EOS Cameras:

If you're looking for the 24-70 f/2.8L, this isn't it. However, this is an outstanding alternative. I use this about 90% of the time with great results. This lens adjusts zoom range backwards from what Canon does. This took a little getting used to. My only real complaint about the lens is that at 24mm, the lens is extended all the way out. This interferes with the onboard (built-in) flash of EOS cameras. This is not the case with a hot shoe mounted flash.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great lens if you have the right camera
By DT from Raleigh, NC on 2/4/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical DG DF AutoFocus Standard Zoom Lens with Hood for Canon EOS Cameras:

Great alternative to Canon 24-70L. Works great on a 20D and 30D. On my ancient Canon D30, lens did not work well and was not pleased with focus or color. On the 20D and 30D, lens performs fantastically. Almost L-glass quality. Have heard that some copies of this lens are off-color or have focus problems. Most work as promised and represent a terrific value. If you have money, get an L-glass. If you don't...

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
This is a good multipurpose lens
By JoseVerified Purchaser from Waverly, OH on 2/2/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical DG DF AutoFocus Standard Zoom Lens with Hood for Canon EOS Cameras:

I use the lens mostly on family and function events. You will easily get noticed because of the size of the lens. This is a sharp lens but I find it useful to postprossed it with my existing software from Cannon to make it even more sharp. Contrast and tone are excellent.

Images shared by: Jose

Superman Vampire

Image Thumbnail

Giant Clam

Image Thumbnail

[5 of 12 customers found this review helpful]

 
Don't Like It
By lsc224Verified Purchaser from San Antonio, TX on 9/26/2007
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Cons:
Heavy, Slow Focus
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical DG DF AutoFocus Standard Zoom Lens with Hood for Canon EOS Cameras:

Bought this lens expecting it to be comparable with a Canon 24-70mm f/2.8L lens. However, I was very disappointed. Focusing is very slow and noisy. Zoom ring is very stiff. Zoom ring locks at end of wide angle and zoom. I have to press the shutter half-way to unlock it. Lens is very heavy. I ended up returning it and replacing it with a Canon 24-70mm f/2.8L lens. If you are in a tight budget then and you don't mind the bulkiness and stiffness of the zoom ring then this could be the lens for you. Other than that, I don't recommend it.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great lens!
By Kris HansenVerified Reviewer from Vermont on 7/10/2007
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Fast Recycling, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Professional Work
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical DG DF AutoFocus Standard Zoom Lens with Hood for Canon EOS Cameras:

I purchased this lens to replace my Sigma 18-125, which itself is a small, light lens, but not terribly fast.

There are many reviews on the web stating that this 24-70 f/2.8 is a slow, noisy lens, which it is not. I found that it's very fast to focus, and on my EOS 30d, it's very accurate. The image quality is first rate, color, contrast and sharpness are superior to any lens I've used thus far. The lens is very solidly built, it's certaily not a light lens, but it's not exactly heavy either.

It makes a grand companion to my Sigma 70-200 f2.8.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very nice lens
By JermVerified Reviewer from Colorado on 1/23/2007
Pros:
Clear Glass, Easily Accessible Controls, Easily Mounted, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Cons:
some vignetting at f2.8
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical DG DF AutoFocus Standard Zoom Lens with Hood for Canon EOS Cameras:

A very nice lens, comparable to my L-series Canon Lenses. On a full-frame camera you'll see some vignetting when wide open, but for most digital cameras you would never notice this. Over-all, definitely worth the money, compares to much more expensive lenses!

Images shared by: Jerm

Notice vignette

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.