Buy the Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical DG DF AutoFocus Standard Zoom Lens with Hood for Nikon AF Cameras on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical DG DF AutoFocus Standard Zoom Lens with Hood for Nikon AF Cameras image
 
(based on 10 ratings)
Brand: Sigma
Located in: Sigma, 35mm SLR Lenses
Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical DG DF AutoFocus Standard Zoom Lens with Hood for Nikon AF Cameras
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.3 stars
(based on 10 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(3), Semi-professional(4)
Pros:
Consistent output(5), Durable(5), Easily interchangeable(3), Fast / accurate auto-focus(6), Rugged(3)
Cons:
Heavy(4)
Best Uses:
General purpose(6)

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Worth the money
By Chaunce88Verified Reviewer from Missouri on 8/15/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Shooting Indoors
Describe Yourself:
Amatuer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical DG DF AutoFocus Standard Zoom Lens with Hood for Nikon AF Cameras:

Overall this is a very good lens that is worth the money. I've had it for about 3 years and I've done 3 weddings with it. I've always got good results, but it seems pretty soft wide open at 2.8, it's also very slow to auto focus, which can be a problem for weddings. Those issues aren't bad enough to complain that much about though, it's been a very good lens. It just recently was broken when my son pulled the camera off the dining table and the lens almost broke in half.

Images shared by: Chaunce88

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great lens
By bobVerified Reviewer from ny, ny on 8/13/2009
Pros:
Compact Design, Easy To Use, Improves Picture Quality
Best Uses:
Low Light, Shooting Indoors
Describe Yourself:
Semi Pro
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical DG DF AutoFocus Standard Zoom Lens with Hood for Nikon AF Cameras:

I tested this lens in the store before purchasing to make sure I bought a good copy. The lens is a must have and a strong competitor to the nikon for a third of the price. If you're thinking about buying this lens I highly recommend it. The DOF, colors, contrast, and sharpness are great!

[4 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent lens for the price.
By nigelnVerified Reviewer from Brooklyn NY on 11/20/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical DG DF AutoFocus Standard Zoom Lens with Hood for Nikon AF Cameras:

Brought this lens 2yrs ago and it been on my D200 95 percent of the time, excellent lens very sharp, I made 40X60 prints of the subjects I shot with this lens and I could not believe how sharp this lens is, I mainly shoot fashion and commercial and I am very please, plus this lengs is way cheaper that the Nikon but just as good, my only issue is that it's sometimes slow when focusing on high contrast scene, other then that, an excellent lens.

Images shared by: nigeln

Joy for Abercrombie

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Chanel product shot.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
A great value
By MojoPhotoCoVerified Reviewer from UT on 9/12/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Great value, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Stiff dials
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscapes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical DG DF AutoFocus Standard Zoom Lens with Hood for Nikon AF Cameras:

If you are hoping that this lens will be as nice as the 24-70mm Nikkor lens, you should give up that hope. Sometimes you're not paying extra just for the brand name. The biggest difference is not in the quality of the images you'll take, though, it's in the feel of the lens itself.

That's not to say this lens feels cheap--it really is a sturdy, heavy lens--but the dials on the lens are stiff, and the build quality can't compare to the more expensive Nikkor counterpart.

Even so, dollar for dollar, I don't think I'd recommend the Nikkor unless you are a professional photographer with steady and impressive income. Since I'm not I went with the Sigma, and even though the difference is obvious this lens still takes great shots, focuses quickly in most lighting situations, and has been a lot of fun to shoot.

Images shared by: MojoPhotoCo

Lake Powell

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great lens
By DougVerified Reviewer from Illinois on 5/7/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Sports/Action, Upgrade, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical DG DF AutoFocus Standard Zoom Lens with Hood for Nikon AF Cameras:

This is really a fantastic lens. The f2.8 through the whole range really makes this a very useful lens for wedding photography. Very clear, and tops at f32. The manual focus is a bit different, as the user has to pull back the front focus ring in order to focus manually. Not a big deal once you get used to it. It is a bit heavy, so it can get a little tedious if you are hand holding it for long periods of time.[...]

Images shared by: Doug

Wedding

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Sports Event

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
good value
By JayVerified Reviewer from Colorado on 4/6/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
cheap, Fast
Cons:
82mm Filter Size, Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical DG DF AutoFocus Standard Zoom Lens with Hood for Nikon AF Cameras:

this lens has a PERFECT zoom range for full-frame 35mm cameras. however, on 1.5x sensors, the widest end gets cut from 24mm to 36mm, making the lens a little less useful.

the lens is heavy and not the greatest construction in the world (there is some play on the front element with my copy), but you can't get any OEM lenses this fast with this zoom range for such a low price - the equivalent nikon lens is a grand more. because of the weight, you'll need to watch out for camera shake - i use auto ISO to make sure my shutter speed is always 1/125 or faster when shooting handheld.

the 82mm filter size is annoying. you can mount a 82-77mm step down ring to attach more common 77mm filters and you won't get vignetting with a 1.5x sensor camera, but you'll get minor mechanical vignetting with a full frame sensor or film camera.

IQ is pretty good: images are noticeably soft at f/2.8 and f/22-32, but very sharp for the rest of the aperture range.

in short, if you have an autofocus 35mm camera and a small budget, this lens is the perfect general use, fast zoom lens.

Images shared by: Jay

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Solid but dated mechanics
By DougieVerified Purchaser from Houston Texas on 3/6/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical DG DF AutoFocus Standard Zoom Lens with Hood for Nikon AF Cameras:

This is a solid, good product; close focussing and sharp. A bit heavy due to a lot of glass. I will use it often until a newer version arrives from Sigma.

I didn't like the dual focus system instead of the viscous coupling used on newer HSM designed lenses. Addition-ally it could strip gears if set to manual on the lens and AF on the camera since the focus ring must turn while focussing.

This lens has a variable lenght when zooming with the wide setting longer than the tele setting - opposite of my other zooms. Downside is that the on camera flash can't cover the wide settings.

When Sigma markets this lens with the HSM and/or OS stabilizer it will be awesome. I have the viscous focus on the 10-20 and 70-200 lenses and love it.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
good lens for the semi-pro photographer
By m stonehouseVerified Purchaser from florida on 3/6/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Great macro and portrait, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
A bit heavy for some
Best Uses:
General Use, Macro, Night Photography, Portraits, Studio, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical DG DF AutoFocus Standard Zoom Lens with Hood for Nikon AF Cameras:

the only thing bad with the lens when used with the nikon d80 is that the flash is really useless due to the large optics. i use the lens mostly for portrait and studio work and it works great, it will focus on objects about 7-8 inches away. i would say it would be a must for a set of lenses to have. good focal length as well as close-up.

Images shared by: m stonehouse

long exposure in darkroom

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

close-up of leaves

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

[4 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great lens
By DaveVerified Purchaser from Plano, TX on 2/21/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical DG DF AutoFocus Standard Zoom Lens with Hood for Nikon AF Cameras:

This is my second Sigma EX lens; the other is the 10-20mm. As with all Sigma EX lenses the fit and finish is strictly professional. Both of these lenses are outstanding in every regard. The 24-70 is extremely sharp at all focal lengths. It is great to finally have a fast zoom lens for general work. There is no zoom creep. In fact the zoom is a little stiff making this lens a little slow to use for any action work. It is quite when focusing. I recently shot a wedding using only this lens and was completely satisfied with the results. Better yet the bride and groom were thrilled. Although the lens is somewhat heavy I find this is a plus. I shoot a lot of handheld images and I find that the heft of the lens actually adds stability.The only negative comment I have is that it uses 82mm filters so you can add another $200 or more to the cost if you don't already have these.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
This is My Everyday Workhorse
By TonyVerified Purchaser from Salem, New Hampshire on 2/12/2007
Pros:
Clear Glass, Easily Accessible Controls, Easily Mounted, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical DG DF AutoFocus Standard Zoom Lens with Hood for Nikon AF Cameras:

You need fast glass, it's bright through the viewfinder. I would have given it a 5 out of 5 if it was just a little faster, otherwise it's suits me perfect and I would buy another one.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.