Buy the Sigma 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 DG Macro Auto Focus Wide Angle Telephoto Macro Zoom Lens for Canon EOS on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Sigma 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 DG Macro Auto Focus Wide Angle Telephoto Macro Zoom Lens for Canon EOS image
 
(based on 12 ratings)
Brand: Sigma
Located in: Sigma, 35mm SLR Lenses
Sigma 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 DG Macro Auto Focus Wide Angle Telephoto Macro Zoom Lens for Canon EOS
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.1 stars
(based on 12 reviews)
82% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Clear glass(4), Easily interchangeable(4), Easily mounted(6), Fast / accurate auto-focus(3), Lightweight(6)
Cons:
Lens creep(3)
Best Uses:
Fun(4), General purpose(5), Sports/action(3), Travel(5)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(3)
 
Good starter lens
By BirdboyVerified Reviewer from Toronto on 11/1/2008
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight
Cons:
Lens Creep
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 DG Macro Auto Focus Wide Angle Telephoto Macro Zoom Lens for Canon EOS:

I wanted something with a bit of focal lengh to photograph birds, I realized pretty quickly that unless you're quite close to birds, this lens just doesn't get you close enough. Despite this, it takes nice shots when the sun is bright at 300mm, but even better at 200-250mm. If you can afford it, spend the money on something with image stabalization!!! But for my budget, this was a great starter lens (so that's why I gave it 4/5). I recommend this lens to anyone starting out and is hesitent to spend much money or can't afford to. This is my all-time lens because of its versatility.

 
Versatile
By wiredhernandez from Houston, Texas on 6/16/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Best Uses:
General Use, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 DG Macro Auto Focus Wide Angle Telephoto Macro Zoom Lens for Canon EOS:

I bought this lens for general useage and kids sporting events. This lens has been great for capturing action shots outdoors. Extremely fast focus when zooming in and out. Good picture quality outdoors. I have noticed definite softness on most pictures when using closeup indoor. In cases I know will be indoors and useage will not require zoom (say more than 50mm etc) I would use another lens.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
You get what you pay for!
By RoxVerified Purchaser from West Monroe, LA on 5/8/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Cons:
Lens Creep, Slow Focus
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 DG Macro Auto Focus Wide Angle Telephoto Macro Zoom Lens for Canon EOS:

I wanted to get a cheaper 28-300mm lens with out spending a lot of money. After I received this one, I sent it back. I am just going to save up my money and get a better one.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fantastic Lens
By 7 BatesVerified Reviewer from Southern California on 4/7/2008
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Lens Creep
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits, Sports/Action, Wedding
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 DG Macro Auto Focus Wide Angle Telephoto Macro Zoom Lens for Canon EOS:

This is my principal Wedding Photography lens. Sure, it's not an L series Canon lens, but it's unmatched in flexibility and quality for the money.

Sigma has since released similar lenses that start wider and end around 200mm, but they're pricey. If this is your first tele-zoom, you'll be VERY happy.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I couldn't be happier!
By jody the mainerVerified Purchaser from norway maine on 1/22/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits, Sports/Action, Upgrade, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 DG Macro Auto Focus Wide Angle Telephoto Macro Zoom Lens for Canon EOS:

I use this lense to capture wildlife, sports momments and general photograhy -- I love it.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Affordable and versatile
By BellefantVerified Reviewer from Johnson City, TN on 1/4/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 DG Macro Auto Focus Wide Angle Telephoto Macro Zoom Lens for Canon EOS:

This lens makes taking pictures of my small children much easier and better. Can't wait to take it on vacation!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I was looking for 1 lense does all
By John SVerified Purchaser from Edmonton , Alberta, Canada on 2/12/2007
Pros:
Easily Mounted, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Cons:
Glass Not Sharp, Needs lots of light
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Best Uses:
Fun, If you need 1 lense, Travel
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 DG Macro Auto Focus Wide Angle Telephoto Macro Zoom Lens for Canon EOS:

I had fun with this lense in very sunny conditions but on cloudy days my results were not that great. Plus my pictures were not that sharp. I think if you need 28mm to 300mm break it up into 2 lenses.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
loved the first one bought a second
By boneheadVerified Purchaser from chicago,il on 2/6/2007
Pros:
Clear Glass, Easily Accessible Controls, Easily Mounted, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Cons:
I broke the first one
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 DG Macro Auto Focus Wide Angle Telephoto Macro Zoom Lens for Canon EOS:

this is my second time buying this lense the first one i had on the front seat of my rental car when on vaction. when in an auto accident it still worked for the vaction but was rough zooming in or out. i like the convinance of the lense for traveling and only needing one lense. so i bought my second.

Images shared by: bonehead

butterfly

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good Lenses for nature
By Big BearVerified Purchaser from Newton Mississippi on 2/6/2007
Pros:
Clear Glass, Easily Accessible Controls, Easily Mounted, Lightweight, Strong Construction, Works very well for close
Best Uses:
Use mostly for Nature
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 DG Macro Auto Focus Wide Angle Telephoto Macro Zoom Lens for Canon EOS:

yes this is an excellent lenses for the money if you want to take close up shots of nature the F stop is a little high but you can't get a lower one for the money.

Images shared by: Big Bear

Image Thumbnail

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Compact yet Effective 28-300mm one lens!
By DaveVerified Purchaser from Salinas, California on 2/5/2007
Pros:
Clear Glass, Easily Accessible Controls, Easily Mounted, Lightweight, Strong Construction, Versatile
Cons:
Extends when pointed down
Best Uses:
Fun, Photojournalism, Sports high speed, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 DG Macro Auto Focus Wide Angle Telephoto Macro Zoom Lens for Canon EOS:

I photograph paintball tournaments and drag boat racing. Both of these sports have extremely fast action. This lens does it all. Close up or Zoom IN...you got it all with ZERO DELAYS!!!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good lens for every day
By ElissaVerified Purchaser from Randolph, NJ on 2/5/2007
Pros:
Clear Glass, Easily Mounted, Strong Construction
Cons:
Doesn't lock sometimes, Needs good light
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 DG Macro Auto Focus Wide Angle Telephoto Macro Zoom Lens for Canon EOS:

I have had this lens for more than a year. This is the lens that I keep on the camera as my walk around lens. Sometimes I miss the 18 - 28mm range of the stock Canon lens, which came with my Rebel XT, but the picture quality is so much better than the stock lens, I almost forget! It does make the camera a bit heavy so if you don't have a good quality tripod, you may need to upgrade your tripod. (Again, worth it.) The lens is great for all types of photos. I specialize in macro shots and this works great for them. It will focus at a close range, but you don't have to hover close to the items to get detailed shots.

Images shared by: Elissa

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Affordable Lense
By phxfox from Morro Bay, CA on 10/27/2006
Pros:
Easily Accessible Controls, Easily Mounted, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Photojournalism, Travel

Comments about Sigma Sigma 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 DG Macro Auto Focus Wide Angle Telephoto Macro Zoom Lens for Canon EOS:

The lense is incredible focusing on small objects at a distance. Makes me a better photographer than I think I am

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.