Buy the Sigma 50-500mm f/4-6.3 EX DG APO HSM Telephoto Zoom Lens with Hood for Nikon AF D Cameras. on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Sigma 50-500mm f/4-6.3 EX DG APO HSM Telephoto Zoom Lens with Hood for Nikon AF D Cameras. image
 
(based on 19 ratings)
Brand: Sigma
Located in: Sigma, 35mm SLR Lenses
Sigma 50-500mm f/4-6.3 EX DG APO HSM Telephoto Zoom Lens with Hood for Nikon AF D Cameras.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.5 stars
(based on 19 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(10), Semi-professional(5)
Pros:
Consistent output(12), Durable(12), Easily interchangeable(8), Fast / accurate auto-focus(19), Rugged(11)
Cons:
Heavy(11)
Best Uses:
General purpose(5), Landscape photography(3), Sports/action(8), Wildlife(13)

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
nice lens for the money
By signutVerified Reviewer from denver co. on 2/11/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Night Photography, Travel, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 50-500mm f/4-6.3 EX DG APO HSM Telephoto Zoom Lens with Hood for Nikon AF D Cameras.:

I have been using this lens for almost 5 years. this is defiantly a tripod lens,but your supposed to be using one anyway. its hard to handle a 500mm lens for a long period of time. with that said this is a great lens for travel, this lens and a macro is all you need for wildlife photography. for 1k its well worth it.

p.s this is NOT the bigma.The bigma is a 300-800 and it is big!!! BUT! sigma just released a 500-1000 I think it will be the new bigma, it is big in price,size and weight.
You will love your 50-500. when i use it on a digital camera the focus is nice and sharp up2 about 650-750 using the 1.5 ratio. then it falls off just a little bit.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Surprisingly better lens than I thought.
By Jesse222Verified Purchaser from Dallas, TX on 9/22/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Landscape Photography, Sports/Action, Upgrade, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 50-500mm f/4-6.3 EX DG APO HSM Telephoto Zoom Lens with Hood for Nikon AF D Cameras.:

I recently upgraded to a Nikon D300s. Though I wanted a fixed focal length F2.8, it wasn't in the budget at the moment. So, I compromised and I am very impressed with this lens. For its size, it is crisp and for wildlife, nature work, the F4.0-6.3 doesn't bother me that much at all. I have used Sigma lenses before and they have served me very well. It does live up to its nickname, "Bigma", meaning it is heavier than I'd like, but I can deal with that. Overall, I am pleased with this purchase and its performance!

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Zoom Range, Clear Precise Focus
By rvVerified Reviewer from Bonney Lake, WA on 9/7/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 50-500mm f/4-6.3 EX DG APO HSM Telephoto Zoom Lens with Hood for Nikon AF D Cameras.:

I like this lens. I was pleased with the sharp precise focus of this lens as soon as I attached it to a camera. The wide zoom range is very useful. I use it mainly on a Nikon D300, D700 and D3. I love the 75mm to 750mm effective range when used on the D300 DX format camera. The Sigma 50-500mm lens is a well built lens that's simple to operate and well thought out in design. For my use it's best used with a tripod due to it's weight and lack of VR. I don't mind the weight due to the substantial build quality of this lens. Sure there are trade offs with a 50-500mm zoom range lens. No other manufacturer builds a lens with this wide a zoom range. There is a definite market for this lens as is evident by the legions of faithful adherents to this lens. I am one of them. The price is a fraction of the cost a 600mm Nikon fixed zoom lens. So until someone else is brave enough to enter this market, Sigma continues to produce one of the most adaptable wide range zoom lenses on the market. I have used this lens with the Nikon D40, D90, D300, D700 and D3 with good results.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent bokeh and wide zoom range
By Tom SweetVerified Reviewer from Tampa, FL on 8/5/2009
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Durable, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 50-500mm f/4-6.3 EX DG APO HSM Telephoto Zoom Lens with Hood for Nikon AF D Cameras.:

I use this lens on my Nikon D2Xs and just love the zoom range. The bokeh is amazing, and I can get a sharp focus on my main subject and blur the background for a dramatic effect. The lens is heavy, but of course it's 500mm. I often use it outdoors hand held in day light. Because of the crop factor on my D2Xs, it effectively takes me to 750mm. At that range hand held, you want a fast shutter speed (1/500 sec or faster). Open up the aperture to f/6.3 and you'll love the result and 3 dimensional look of your image.

I'm about to try it on my new Nikon D3 when that new body arrives. Since it's an FX format sensor, I want to see if I get any vignetting at the edges of the image. I haven't found anything yet about how well it works on FX (rather than DX) format sensors.

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Woah, nice lense.
By Gerry DVerified Purchaser from Greene, Maine on 7/10/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 50-500mm f/4-6.3 EX DG APO HSM Telephoto Zoom Lens with Hood for Nikon AF D Cameras.:

Bought this lense used. It had an excellent rating from Adorama. Just under the Demo rating and it looks brand new.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Sigma 50-500mm
By PJVerified Purchaser from El Paso TX on 7/8/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Heavy, Tough To Attach
Best Uses:
Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 50-500mm f/4-6.3 EX DG APO HSM Telephoto Zoom Lens with Hood for Nikon AF D Cameras.:

It's not called Bigma for nothing. Focus speed was fair, did some hunting in lower light. Focus is very sharp though, and has a very useful range of focal lengths. You need a tripod; I used it without one and my arm was sore for a couple of days. It is great for wildlife.

Images shared by: PJ

Wanda's eye

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Bigma
By Badge2283Verified Purchaser from Daytona Beach, Fl on 5/13/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 50-500mm f/4-6.3 EX DG APO HSM Telephoto Zoom Lens with Hood for Nikon AF D Cameras.:

Great lens. When I first started using it, it took some getting used to. Now if I don't take it I regret it. Use the shoulder strap that comes with it.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Reach!
By Defiant00Verified Reviewer from Franklin, NC on 3/30/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Zoom Range
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Daytime Outdoor Sports, General Use, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 50-500mm f/4-6.3 EX DG APO HSM Telephoto Zoom Lens with Hood for Nikon AF D Cameras.:

Excellent reach and optical quality for the price. Stopped down to f8 or so this lens produces surprisingly sharp pictures for its range. Focus is fast and near-silent.

With adequate light this lens is great, but you really need the light. With no stabilization this is definitely a daytime or tripod lens. The weight actually acts as both a help and hindrance when handholding, it makes it more tiring but I find I can hand hold it at a good bit slower than typical 1/range shutter speeds.

If you want the reach for pictures during the day this is an excellent lens.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Reach for the Price
By HankVerified Purchaser from Oakton, VA on 2/7/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 50-500mm f/4-6.3 EX DG APO HSM Telephoto Zoom Lens with Hood for Nikon AF D Cameras.:

An great value for the amature who can't afford thousands for this level of magnification. Working with a heavy lens takes some getting used to and without VR (who would expect that at this price!) a monopod or tripod is almost a must except in very bright comditions. A good match with my Nikon D80.

[1 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good for a walk around, not sports
By Big BenVerified Purchaser from Minnesota on 12/29/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy, Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use

Comments about Sigma Sigma 50-500mm f/4-6.3 EX DG APO HSM Telephoto Zoom Lens with Hood for Nikon AF D Cameras.:

I wanted this to try this lens to shoot mainly sports. Although I liked its range, I found the zoom to be sluggish to adjust. The focus and f-stops were also not as fast as I would like, especially indoors. I find non-telescoping zoom lens to be more appropriate to what I do.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Lens
By Ds StudiosVerified Purchaser from Indiana on 9/24/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy, Likes lots of sunlight
Best Uses:
Landcape, Upgrade, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 50-500mm f/4-6.3 EX DG APO HSM Telephoto Zoom Lens with Hood for Nikon AF D Cameras.:

I use this lens at Zoo's,Racing activities. It makes a great addition to my lens collection. I've use a 1.4 and a 2.0 Kenko converters on a D300 camera with no problems. By they way the auto focus will work with both converters. The only draw back with this lens is it likes lots of sunlight. I would buy this lens again and again. Very pleased.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I love this lens!
By NormanaVerified Reviewer from Bothell, WA on 8/3/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 50-500mm f/4-6.3 EX DG APO HSM Telephoto Zoom Lens with Hood for Nikon AF D Cameras.:

I purchased this lens from Adorama in June and have used it extensively over the past month. I love this lens. It works great with Nikon Digital SLR's - Even my D40. The HSM works well for autofocus (though it is sometimes a little slow and searches a little miore than a Nikkor). The focus ring is nice and smooth, though it could be better placed so that you can hold the lens without holding the ring. THe tripod mount/hand grip is great. I've learned to use it to assist in adjusting the ball head on my monopod and tripod. This lens takes great shots, even handheld!

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best glass I've ever bought!
By TeddyVerified Reviewer from Olympia, WA on 7/21/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Night Photography, Special Effects, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 50-500mm f/4-6.3 EX DG APO HSM Telephoto Zoom Lens with Hood for Nikon AF D Cameras.:

One day, there I was, Humming Birds flying everywhere around my property. I set-up the tri pod, mounted my D300, then grabbed Lucy (the Sigma 50-500 lens) and mounted her on the camera. I spent an hour shooting humming birds then pulled the CF card and went to my computer. Admittedly, I had a lot of misses over the some 180 shots but it was the hits that amazed me. In most shots the lens 'froze' the wings of the humming birds in mid-flight and nicely blurred the backgrounds into a beautiful mix of exciting soft colors! What beautiful pix for my portfolio.... More than worth the money!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great lens for wildlife
By Bruce B.Verified Reviewer from Jackson, MI on 6/14/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 50-500mm f/4-6.3 EX DG APO HSM Telephoto Zoom Lens with Hood for Nikon AF D Cameras.:

I use this lens with my D200. This lens is great for wildlife when there is decent light. Best use is with a tripod, but I have many good handheld shots with this lens too. Excellent bird lens. The 10x zoom is very handy for a variety of situations. For a 500mm lens at less than [$]it's an excellent value.

Images shared by: Bruce B.

Playing in the water

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Contortionist

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Value for the price
By Dave from Nashville, TN on 5/21/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Cons:
expect it to be heavy
Best Uses:
Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 50-500mm f/4-6.3 EX DG APO HSM Telephoto Zoom Lens with Hood for Nikon AF D Cameras.:

You would expect this lens to be heavy and it is. You might question whether this lens is worth the price with respect to quality. It absolutely is worth the price you pay. Great lens. Now I want one longer.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
a 50-500 for less than 1000 U$S
By PabloVerified Purchaser from Rome, Italy on 2/21/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 50-500mm f/4-6.3 EX DG APO HSM Telephoto Zoom Lens with Hood for Nikon AF D Cameras.:

This lent is wonderful for sport and wildlife
I use it for take pictures of flight birds and soccer games
I love this lens.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Lens
By Evil EdVerified Reviewer from Beloit, WI on 5/7/2007
Pros:
Durable, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Heavy but manageable
Best Uses:
Professional Work, Sports
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 50-500mm f/4-6.3 EX DG APO HSM Telephoto Zoom Lens with Hood for Nikon AF D Cameras.:

I love this lens. I picked mine up from a bank that had repoed a bunch of equipment. I cannot say enough how much I love this lens. I use it at all of my daughters soccer games and for some great wildlife shots. Well worth the deal I got for it!!!

[2 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
great lens for the money
By CASHMANVerified Purchaser from IOWA on 2/5/2007
Pros:
Clear Glass, Easily Mounted, Strong Construction
Cons:
Wish it would AF with 2X
Best Uses:
Bird and animal pics, Fun
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 50-500mm f/4-6.3 EX DG APO HSM Telephoto Zoom Lens with Hood for Nikon AF D Cameras.:

The lens without the 2x is great AF works well. The 2X limits the lens to 200-1000 which is still OK but it doesn't AF which I guess that isn't to big a problem. The lens did everything I wanted to do.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
LOVE IT!!!
By MaryanneVerified Purchaser from South San Francisco, CA on 2/5/2007
Pros:
Clear Glass, Strong Construction
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 50-500mm f/4-6.3 EX DG APO HSM Telephoto Zoom Lens with Hood for Nikon AF D Cameras.:

I love this lens! It was just perfect for the close-up sport shots I was going for!!! Amazing results. A definate part of a serious photographer's equipment!

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.