Buy the Sigma 70-300mm f/4-5.6 DG Macro Tele Zoom Lens for the Maxxum & Sony Alpha Mount. on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Sigma 70-300mm f/4-5.6 DG Macro Tele Zoom Lens for the Maxxum & Sony Alpha Mount. image
 
(based on 8 ratings)
Brand: Sigma
Located in: Sigma, 35mm SLR Lenses
Sigma 70-300mm f/4-5.6 DG Macro Tele Zoom Lens for the Maxxum & Sony Alpha Mount.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.1 stars
(based on 8 reviews)
88% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(4)
Pros:
Consistent output(3), Durable(3), Easily interchangeable(4), Fast / accurate auto-focus(3)
Cons:
Heavy(4)
Best Uses:
General purpose(4), Sports/action(4), Wildlife(5)

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
NOT GOOD FOR SONY
By BUTCH from WINTERSVILLE,OHIO on 3/24/2010
Pros:
Fast / accurate auto-focus
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 70-300mm f/4-5.6 DG Macro Tele Zoom Lens for the Maxxum & Sony Alpha Mount.:

I have a sony alpha100. have bought 2 of the 70-300. bouth of them made a gringing sound and would not focus. this happens just after warinty runs out. had one repaired once. went bad, bought a new one. CAN'T TRUST THIS LENS.

 
Nice leans but a bit heavy
By jis1Verified Purchaser from Cleveland, Ohio on 8/9/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy, Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 70-300mm f/4-5.6 DG Macro Tele Zoom Lens for the Maxxum & Sony Alpha Mount.:

Nice lens, good zoom range, but a bit on the haevy side. One half life size Macro. Try using it with an extension tube to focus closer and get closer to life size.

 
nice lens but a bit heavy
By jis1Verified Purchaser from Cleveland, Ohio on 8/9/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy, Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Landscape Photography, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 70-300mm f/4-5.6 DG Macro Tele Zoom Lens for the Maxxum & Sony Alpha Mount.:

Nice lens but a bit on the heavy side. Can't be beat for the price.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Overall great lens
By AlexVerified Reviewer from Mauldin, SC on 7/10/2008
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Lens Creep
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Special Effects, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 70-300mm f/4-5.6 DG Macro Tele Zoom Lens for the Maxxum & Sony Alpha Mount.:

Using (currently) a Sony Alpha 700, I have shot everything from predawn waterfalls to fast-paced sports with this lens. My shots are always clean and sharp.
If you are new to photography and shoot everything in Auto mode, then this lens is going to be more useful for general purposes in good lighting, but if you know how to make the most of the (unfortunate) variable aperture, ISO settings on your camera, and the shutter speed, you can snap some incredible shots with this lens.
The only issue I have with it is that after several months of use, I can hear the auto-focus gears grinding inside, and at this point I can merely hold the lens upside down and the barrel extends to 300mm. I think that overexemplifies the phrase "lens creep." It DOES still work, though. I'm just not sure I trust it as a "money" lens considering its recent behavior. I can't very well have my choice portrait lens jam on me at a wedding someone is paying 3k or more for.

Images shared by: Alex

Shot at 70mm, F22, ISO 200, for 4 Seconds

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

 
I'm very happy for this product .
By Happy mom from Staten Island. NY on 5/8/2008
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Durable
Cons:
Tough To Attach
Best Uses:
General Use, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 70-300mm f/4-5.6 DG Macro Tele Zoom Lens for the Maxxum & Sony Alpha Mount.:

I am very happy for this product. The price is incredible.The product looks like brand new and it is well packed. It arrived the exactly the date they described. B&H photo/video store handle the business is very,very professional. I would highly recommend this web site to all my friends.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Outstanding
By Offshore42Verified Reviewer from Louisiana on 5/10/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Exactly what I needed, Excellent for the cost, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Professional Work
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Use for Work Offshore
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 70-300mm f/4-5.6 DG Macro Tele Zoom Lens for the Maxxum & Sony Alpha Mount.:

[...] The lens works great, I would have to say it is best to use it on manual focus as autofocus with the camera I have (Sony A100) is very touchy and wants to constantly correct. If you want to use it on Autofocus then change the setting in the camera for single shot AF. This lens is in addition to an 18 to 55 Wide Angle I have. This is mostly used for my work offshore as I am required to take alot of pictures that are used to develop, design, implement engineering technologies. I do use it on Nature and Animals as well as Offshore Sunsets and sea birds!

Images shared by: Offshore42

Platform and Well Head

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Cactus Flower (Hybrid Cactus)

Image Thumbnail

Tags: 300mm Macro Setting AF, Using Product

 
Great glass, great price!
By Grizzly Bear from Montana on 5/4/2007
Pros:
Low Price, Quality results, Real Macro
Cons:
A little Heavy, Weak Casing
Best Uses:
Macro, Sports, Wildlife
Describe Yourself:
Advanced Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 70-300mm f/4-5.6 DG Macro Tele Zoom Lens for the Maxxum & Sony Alpha Mount.:

The Macro works great. Very low price. I've had superb results with this lense.

 
Nice Zoom Telephoto at a low cost
By Jumpin' JoeVerified Purchaser from Dayton, OH on 3/26/2007
Pros:
Compatible with Sony A100, Good optics, Nice macro performance
Cons:
Heavy
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Best Uses:
Sports Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 70-300mm f/4-5.6 DG Macro Tele Zoom Lens for the Maxxum & Sony Alpha Mount.:

[...], however the lens was REALLY dusty when I received it. Nothing that a little lens cleaner/compressed air wouldn't fix, though.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.