Buy the Sigma 8mm f/3.5 EX DG Circular Fisheye Auto Focus Lens for Canon EOS Cameras on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Sigma 8mm f/3.5 EX DG Circular Fisheye Auto Focus Lens for Canon EOS Cameras image
 
(based on 7 ratings)
Brand: Sigma
Located in: Sigma, 35mm SLR Lenses
Sigma 8mm f/3.5 EX DG Circular Fisheye Auto Focus Lens for Canon EOS Cameras
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
3.9 stars
(based on 7 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Easily mounted(4), Lightweight(3), Strong construction(6)
Best Uses:
Fun(3)
 
Good for fast vr 360 spherical panos
By jjvisionVerified Purchaser from Quito, Ecuador on 11/8/2010
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable
Cons:
Blurry Focus
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer

Comments about Sigma Sigma 8mm f/3.5 EX DG Circular Fisheye Auto Focus Lens for Canon EOS Cameras:

It is a good lens if you want to make a fast 4 shots vr 360 pano with a full frame camera, but If you want resolution and very good quality its better if you use a crop sensor camera(1.6x) but you have to take one more picture.
It has strong chromatic aberration but you can almost fix this in postproduction, the focus isn't so sharp , it has rear filter, no way to protect the lens in the front.
As i said before this lens is good for fast panos which don't demand very good quality and only for web uses.
Iam waiting for the canon 8-15 fish eye lens that one is going to be a perfect chose it is L series, I dont know when is coming but around February 2011

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Looking for a fisheye -- this is it!
By AlexSharkVerified Reviewer from Fort Worth, TX on 2/24/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Chromatic aberration
Best Uses:
Fun, Interiors, Landscape/Scenery, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 8mm f/3.5 EX DG Circular Fisheye Auto Focus Lens for Canon EOS Cameras:

Fisheye is always tough to handle: the dynamic range of 180 degrees FOV is simply too wide; either the sun or your feet tend to get into the frame, one must take care finding a good spot -- and this lens is no exception.

But for those who are familiar with the specifics of fisheye photography, will find this lens superb in every way. Easy to handle, at 8mm autofocus is instantaneous, and anything farther than a few feet is always in focus anyway.

Great picture qualty, sharp and accurate. The only potential problem is the chromatic aberration in high contrast situations, which, unfortunately, are a norm in most fisheye shots.

I recommend it for beginners and pros alike. This lens is to stay through all the body upgrades.

Images shared by: AlexShark

Atlas -- Grand Prize Annual Contest, PopPhoto 2008

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

 
Best circular fisheye available
By Phil W from Canada on 12/31/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Strong Construction
Cons:
Slightly soft
Best Uses:
Unusual shots or VR
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 8mm f/3.5 EX DG Circular Fisheye Auto Focus Lens for Canon EOS Cameras:

Great lens - much better quality than the Russian or Chinese alternatives. Slightly soft but delivers pretty good quality between f5.6 and F8. Works on full frame and APS-C where it is still a bit wider than a diagonal fisheye (although the 1.6x suggests it fills the frame the corners are just cropped off).

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent build quality, depth of field
By AtomVerified Purchaser from Anchorage on 3/26/2007
Pros:
Easily Accessible Controls, Easily Mounted, Excellent depth of field, Long warranty period, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy, Long auto focus time
Describe Yourself:
Getting started, Professional
Best Uses:
Unique point of view, Vr photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 8mm f/3.5 EX DG Circular Fisheye Auto Focus Lens for Canon EOS Cameras:

My primary use for the lense is cutting down on the number of photos for the VR's that I make for clients. It certainly does it's job but of course reduces total resolution of my final stitched image. It would not be suitable for my higher end VR work, at least not without a very high megapixel camera.

I was very surprised at the incredible depth of field, and that immediately motivated me to get creative with it in my still photography. It has excellent construction, and mine came with an incredible 4-year warranty.

A few notes on the negative side, it does seem to cause my camera's meter to give underexposed readings, and there does seem to be more chromatic aberration than i would like around the periphery of the images.

All in all though, I'm very happy with it.

[9 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fantastic Lens!
By ChrisVerified Purchaser from Minneapolis, MN on 2/12/2007
Pros:
Clear Glass, Easily Accessible Controls, Easily Mounted, Lightweight, Neat Effects, Strong Construction
Cons:
Easy to get yourself in
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Best Uses:
Fun, Photojournalism
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 8mm f/3.5 EX DG Circular Fisheye Auto Focus Lens for Canon EOS Cameras:

I love the pictures with this lens, it gives me some unique photos that the casual wedding shooters cannot get. The 180 degree field of view ad close focusing make for neat pictures of cakes, dancing, etc. The most difficult aspect of using this lens is to not overuse it. You also need to watch for a) yourself in the pic, and b) if you are using a shoe mount flash, that will be in the shot on a full-frame camera for shure.

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
A must for panoramic photography!
By TonyVerified Reviewer from San Juan, Puerto Rico on 12/19/2006
Pros:
Easily Mounted, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Cons:
Image suffers at edge
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Panoramic photography, Photojournalism

Comments about Sigma Sigma 8mm f/3.5 EX DG Circular Fisheye Auto Focus Lens for Canon EOS Cameras:

This 8mm is a must for panoramic photography. Very sharp at the center but softer at the peripheral area (something I expected for the breathtaking FOV served). This can be reduced with software or by using the masking ring included with the lens. Very good at non-flaring. Magnificent depth of field. Remember this is a specialty lens. Recommended.

[3 of 13 customers found this review helpful]

 
Lens isn't sharp
By SteveJ from Miami, FL on 11/17/2006
Pros:
Easily Mounted, Strong Construction
Cons:
Glass Not Sharp

Comments about Sigma Sigma 8mm f/3.5 EX DG Circular Fisheye Auto Focus Lens for Canon EOS Cameras:

This lens is not sharp, even at mid aperature. The focus is soft at best. Don't buy this lens.

This is the second Sigma lens I have used, and neither were sharp. The worst Canon lens I have ever used was far sharper than this one.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.