Buy the Sigma SD-14 Digital SLR Camera Body, 14 Megapixel, Foveon X3 Direct Image Sensor on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Sigma SD-14 Digital SLR Camera Body, 14 Megapixel, Foveon X3 Direct Image Sensor image
 
(based on 10 ratings)
Brand: Sigma
Located in: Sigma, Digital Cameras
Sigma SD-14 Digital SLR Camera Body, 14 Megapixel, Foveon X3 Direct Image Sensor
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.2 stars
(based on 10 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Easy to use(3), Great picture quality(5), Large clear LCD(6), Quiet(4), Simple controls(8)
Best Uses:
Art(8), Documentary(4), Fun(6), Landscape/scenery(4), Photojournalism(6)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(3), Professional(5)

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best buy for the price
By Mister RGBVerified Purchaser from Toronto on 11/5/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Great Image Quality, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma SD-14 Digital SLR Camera Body, 14 Megapixel, Foveon X3 Direct Image Sensor:

Don't believe everything you read on the Internet on the SD14. Most of those who write negative comments probably never owned or took pictures with it.

Yes, you have to know the basic principles of photography to make great images with this camera, which was an usual prerequisite at the time of argentic photography, put seems odd in the digital camera era. But how somebody could expect to take great photos if it doesn't know the abc of photography??? And yes, there are Canons and Nikons that take as good or better images than the SD14. But at what price??

And for the lolly Adorama sells it, just rush to get yours, before there is not one left!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Foveon chip sees light like film
By livagain1Verified Reviewer from Goshen NY on 5/21/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma SD-14 Digital SLR Camera Body, 14 Megapixel, Foveon X3 Direct Image Sensor:

I do mostly fine art photography and have been doing photography since the days of Verichrome ORTHOCROMATIC film ( not sensitive to red light ) developing my first role of film in a tray under a red safe light more y ears ago then I like to recall . I find the colors of this camera to be more like film then most digitals. I love it. The only thing I wish is that Sigma would make a camera with interchangeable FINDERS ala the Exacta VX series. Altho I purcharced a right angle finder from Adorama for this camera to do copy and low angle work, it is n ot as good a solution as having interchangeable finders. being able to swap the penta prism for a waist level finder. Sigma are you reading this????
also I'd love to see Sigma come out with a medium sized foveon chip camera based sort of on the Praktika/Exata 66 camera with interchangeable lenses and finders. How about it Sigma bring out the SIGMA SD66. PS if anyone would like to see my work, you are invited to come to the UPFRONT ART Gallery 31 Jersey Ave. Port Jervis NY

Images shared by: livagain1

Barn in middle of PA

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Racoon eating from cat's try

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Clunky but amazing images
By richmondVerified Reviewer from New York, NY on 5/21/2009
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy, Inaccurate focus at times, Poor In Low Light
Best Uses:
Art, Landscape, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma SD-14 Digital SLR Camera Body, 14 Megapixel, Foveon X3 Direct Image Sensor:

On first impression the Sigma SD14 is a big clunky camera; wider and taller than the Canon Xti, XSi, and much much bigger than the Panasonic G1. However it doesn't feel that much heavier (body-for-body) which makes me think that it's mostly plastic. It does give the overall impression that it's designed for people with big hands, but in practice, while a fist-full, the controls fell nicely under my fingers—a comfortable grip that balances well. The 2.5 inch LCD screen, 150,000 pixels, is coarse and barely adequate for seeing the histogram and exposure info. The stop-down preview lever is excellent, as is the QS (quick-set) button which makes it easy and fast to alter ISO, Format and White Balance. The screen is very clear and bright, and I really like Sigma's choice of placement for Drive and Mode Dials at top. I was surprised at how well-dampened the camera was for vibration and noise.

Image quality: Highly detailed, rich nuanced color. Usually amazingly beautiful, even stunning at times. I find myself being wowed by its quality depending on the lens. The Foveon sensor loves light and I found a big difference in midtone tonalities just by adjusting from ISO 200 to 100. In sunlight at ISO 100 midtones are silky-smooth, but shooting on an overcast day with ISO set at 200 created big, ugly blotchy noise patterns in the mid-tones and shadows. (Here the Sigma DP1 is superior at ISO 200 even 400.) Limiting oneself to shooting at ISO 100 especially when the camera lacks image-stabilization (only available on certain lenses) is annoying. Hopefully noise issues will be fixed with the new TRUE II processor in the Sigma SD15.

My gripes: autofocus isn't always accurate; the "C" Dial (Command Dial) is way too stiff for single-finger pressure to change aperture/shutter speed/exposure override combinations which require simultaneous pressure from thumb in rear and turning the dial in front. (The design of the Panasonic G1 or the Canon series is superior in this aspect.) It seems like it was designed for someone wearing gloves (which is strange because the camera is not weather sealed for extreme temperatures). And processing shots is VERY slow. About 5-to-7 seconds (!) to save a RAW file, and if you shoot a burst of six-shots in RAW it takes a whopping 40 seconds to process all of them (30 seconds for JPEG burst), and while it's doing that your camera is disabled. If you shoot one, then another, then another as single shots you may not feel the pinch until you exceed the sixth shot. This is not the camera for sports or photo-journalists.

All in all, the Sigma is the only game in town if you want the Foveon sensor quality. (I find the Sigma DP1 to be faster at processing RAW than the SD14.) Would I buy it again? Yes. The quality of its stunning images is unsurpassed (IMHO) but I'm definitely looking forward to improvements in the SD15.

[5 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Just got this SLR
By Gr8ShivaVerified Reviewer from Arizona USA on 5/9/2008
Pros:
Amazing Color, Bright LCD, Resolution Is Spectacular, Strong Construction
Cons:
Battery Life Very Short, Can Be Difficult To Focus, Heavy, Problematic White Balance
Best Uses:
Have not found it yet
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma SD-14 Digital SLR Camera Body, 14 Megapixel, Foveon X3 Direct Image Sensor:

I was SO excited to get this camera for a truly drop-dead price! (Body only, of course) Could not find a lens in the whole of Phoenix Arizona, so ordered from Adorama (my fave) and finally used it for the first time yesterday. OK, first, it's really heavy. I'm little. Used to the light Nikons and canons. Had to take more breaks than normal. No biggie. But once done with the shoot, on download I noticed a real problem with the White Balance and Contrast. I use 100 watt Tungstens with Colored Stage Gels. Only two of them. I used a light amber and a deep fuschia on the other side. EVERY SINGLE SHOT had these awful, huge washed out white areas or severe discoloration issues on the amber side!!?? Went back, made some adjustments, no change. Really concerned now that perhaps my artistic style (lots of bold colored nude body landscapes) may not jive with this unit! I am by no means giving up. But be forewarned: not perfect! STILL, good enough for me to go hunting for the camera's best use...

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
A very fine digital SLR
By Carl TowerVerified Reviewer from Nashotah, Wisconsin on 2/1/2008
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Great Color Reproduction, Great flashslave cap, Strong Construction, Superb images
Cons:
JPEG white balance, Poor Battery Life
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Photojournalism, Scientific photography
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma SD-14 Digital SLR Camera Body, 14 Megapixel, Foveon X3 Direct Image Sensor:

New and improved Sigma & sensor. Now has JPEG capability and better software. Fantastic images. Great line of macro and wide-angle lenses. Battery life is nothing to brag about and terrible in very cold weather. SD14 has a bulb setting. Also capable of easy, quick conversion for infrared imaging. A very fine camera.

[13 of 13 customers found this review helpful]

 
SD14 is pro quality 100 percent.
By Gary MercerVerified Reviewer from Miami, Florida on 10/5/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma SD-14 Digital SLR Camera Body, 14 Megapixel, Foveon X3 Direct Image Sensor:

I've been using the SD14 since its introduction and it still amazes me with the stunning images it produces. If you want super high resolution, jaw dropping images, then the SD14 in capable hands can do just that. Its film-like images are unrivaled by any DSLR---Period. Its huge raw images lend themselve to very large enlargement with little degradation or artifacts due to interpolation. Simple put,unlike bayer sensored images, the foveon images lend themselves to being enlarged easily. Put a pro quality Sigma EX designated lense on this camera and you are ready to conquer the world. I've shot events, sports, art, landscapes, night photography, just about anything I can think of with this camera and it works flawlessly. The new lower price is right too.

Images shared by: Gary Mercer

Brazilian Bottle Brush

Image Thumbnail

Tags: 105mm Sigma EX macro lens, Made with Product, Using Product

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very satisfied. Better than SD 10, Quiet
By unwinderVerified Purchaser from Hollywood, Fl. on 9/26/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet
Cons:
Exposed LCD, No sensor cover.
Best Uses:
Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Advanced Amateur, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma SD-14 Digital SLR Camera Body, 14 Megapixel, Foveon X3 Direct Image Sensor:

Most people want Nikon or Canon. I started with Sigma and will stick with them.Very satisfied with the SD10, moreso with the SD14. Prints up to 13x19 show excellent resolution and sharpness. If exposed properly(no photoshop to correct your mistakes)gave very satisfied results.Most people in my photo club are shocked my prints are not shot with a Canon or Nikon.

Images shared by: unwinder

Macro samples

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Orchid-available light

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Outstanding image quality
By Sigma ownerVerified Reviewer from Washington, DC on 9/10/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Controls
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma SD-14 Digital SLR Camera Body, 14 Megapixel, Foveon X3 Direct Image Sensor:

Outstanding image quality, beautiful prints. Sigma SD14 is a 'photographer's camera' which an experienced photographer can appreciate the detail captured yet is simple enough for a digital SLR beginner to use and grow with.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
I like it!
By Starboy from Tally FL on 8/23/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Strong Construction
Cons:
Slow Sensor
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma SD-14 Digital SLR Camera Body, 14 Megapixel, Foveon X3 Direct Image Sensor:

I like this camera mosly for the images I can get out of it. There is a quality to them that I have not seen anywhere else.

[7 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great dSLR with a superb sensor
By SD14 Owner from New England, USA on 3/27/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Foveon sensor, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction, Well designed
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma SD-14 Digital SLR Camera Body, 14 Megapixel, Foveon X3 Direct Image Sensor:

To date, no problems at all. Image files transfer very fast through the USB 2.0 port on the camera. Photos produced by the SD14 print exceptionally well and show tremendous detail, which is a hallmark of the Foveon sensor.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.