Buy the Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC Autofocus Zoom Lens for the Maxxum & Sony Alpha Mount. on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC Autofocus Zoom Lens for the Maxxum & Sony Alpha Mount. image
 
(based on 9 ratings)
Brand: Sigma
Located in: Sigma, Digital SLR Lenses
Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC Autofocus Zoom Lens for the Maxxum & Sony Alpha Mount.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.2 stars
(based on 9 reviews)
89% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(5)
Pros:
Consistent output(4), Fast / accurate auto-focus(4), Lightweight(3), Strong construction(5)
Cons:
Heavy(3)
Best Uses:
Landscape photography(4), Special effects(3)
 
Nice Lens
By ArnieVerified Purchaser from Quinlan, TX on 3/13/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC Autofocus Zoom Lens for the Maxxum & Sony Alpha Mount.:

mainly use for landscapes

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Super Lens
By CKVerified Purchaser from Mohnton, PA on 7/11/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Landscape Photography, Special Effects
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC Autofocus Zoom Lens for the Maxxum & Sony Alpha Mount.:

I was really amazed at how well this lens worked. In spite of the fact that it is extremely wide angle, there is no noticeable barrel distortion. Of course there is perspective exaggeration, but that is a mathematical fact of wide angle photography. The image is very sharp throughout the entire frame. It is not often that a lens this wide is needed, but when you just can't get back far enough, this lens solves the problem for you.

Images shared by: CK

Up a museum staircase in Barcelona

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Old fort in Barcelona

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Much more than Anticipated
By CaptJimVerified Purchaser from Middletown, Delaware on 6/10/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Lightweight, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Landscape Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC Autofocus Zoom Lens for the Maxxum & Sony Alpha Mount.:

Extremely pleased with all results to date. Size is a "little bulky" but weight is fine. Looking forward to more use in the future!!

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
This lens is a lot of fun
By David in CanadaVerified Purchaser from Calgary, Alberta, Canada on 5/27/2009
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC Autofocus Zoom Lens for the Maxxum & Sony Alpha Mount.:

This is my first wide angle lens and I am having lots of fun from 180 degree landscapes to funky close-ups. For a beginner this is great and not too expensive for my Sony Alpha 200.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fun lens!
By RrunnertexasVerified Purchaser from Arlington, TX on 3/30/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Fun factor, Quality build, Strong Construction, Very close focusing
Cons:
77mm filter cost, Larger size
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Special Effects
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC Autofocus Zoom Lens for the Maxxum & Sony Alpha Mount.:

I bought this lens for a recent trip to Utah and Arizona for landscape shots. This is a fun WIDE lens. At 10mm (15mm eq on my Sony A300) the edges of the frame are soft, but not overly so. When using this lens at 10mm with a subject in close range there is some noticeable distortion. At first, I was not pleased, however, shortly realized that this distortion adds a certain fun factor to some of the images. If the distortion is bothersome, simply zoom out to about 14mm (21 mm eq) and the distortion is gone.
This is not a fast lens at f/4, but it is not terrible.
Lens comes with a nice carry pouch/bag and both lens caps. For what this lens does in this price range, this is a fun lens to have!

Images shared by: Rrunnertexas

On top of the world in Moab, UT

Image Thumbnail

Tags: 10mm 15mm eq, Using Product

Jeep that get us to the top of the world!

Image Thumbnail

Tags: 10mm 15mm eq, Using Product

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
amazing glass
By andy the architectVerified Reviewer from VA on 1/21/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy, Small aperature
Best Uses:
Special Effects
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC Autofocus Zoom Lens for the Maxxum & Sony Alpha Mount.:

I am so impressed with what Sigma has managed to do with this lens. For such a wide angle, this has remarkably little distortion. I got this to shoot architectural interiors, and having vertical lines stay straight is important. The lens has to be stopped down for sharpness and DOF, so it's a very slow lens. The damping on the zoom and the solid construction are a real plus.

[2 of 15 customers found this review helpful]

 
Ok, not as great as I thought
By FrankVerified Purchaser from Las Vegas on 7/24/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Easy To Clean, Lightweight
Cons:
Blurry Focus, Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Wildlife
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC Autofocus Zoom Lens for the Maxxum & Sony Alpha Mount.:

I'm not impressed with this Lens. It's not too bad, but I'm not satisfied.

[8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good Lens, Would Buy Again
By paulfVerified Purchaser from Starke, FL on 6/18/2007
Pros:
Contrast, Quality, Sharp Focus, Value
Cons:
None so far
Best Uses:
Landscape photography, Unusual Perspectives
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC Autofocus Zoom Lens for the Maxxum & Sony Alpha Mount.:

Purchased for a trip to south-east Utah. Performed very well (it can't make the guy behind the camera a good photographer--darn the luck). There is some light falloff around the edges and if you use P series filters the polarizer will cause vignetting (not a real big surprise) until you get out to ~12mm. I didn't really have a problem with the lens cap (like some) because I generally put a filter frame or filter ring cap on--but a cap with inner release tabs would be nicer.

Images shared by: paulf

Archs Nat Park, Park Avenue (f8 @ 12mm)

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Canyonlands (Island in the Sky) (f9 @ 10mm)

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[13 of 13 customers found this review helpful]

 
Amazingly the perfect walk-around lens
By remotezygoteVerified Purchaser from Avon, CO on 2/5/2007
Pros:
Clear Glass, Easily Accessible Controls, Easily Mounted, Strong Construction
Cons:
Slightly Soft
Best Uses:
Art, Photojournalism, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC Autofocus Zoom Lens for the Maxxum & Sony Alpha Mount.:

This lens came in very handy on a two month excursion to Europe. It is surprisingly versatile for landscape, abstract, and city use. It has no distortion whatsoever if used correctly (kept level mostly), and produces very vibrant colors. As any wide angle lens can be, it is prone to flare, especially when used with a UV or protective filter, so they are not recommended. It can be somewhat soft at times, but it is not a deal breaker. Build quality is excellent, as all Sigma EX lenses possess.

Images shared by: remotezygote

Canons in Burg Pfalz, Rhein River, Germany

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Small town along the Rhein River, Germany

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.