Buy the Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM Autofocus Zoom Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras. on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM Autofocus Zoom Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras. image
 
(based on 40 ratings)
Brand: Sigma
Located in: Sigma, Digital SLR Lenses
Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM Autofocus Zoom Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.5 stars
(based on 40 reviews)
97% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Clear glass(5), Compact(8), Consistent output(11), Durable(11), Easily interchangeable(9)
Cons:
Heavy(3)
Best Uses:
Close up filming(4), Documentary(3), General purpose(6), Landscape/scenery(5), Landscape photography(8)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(14), Semi-professional(3), Tech savvy(7)
Was this a gift?:
No(3)
 
Great Lens for PRice
By Michael from Pittsburgh PA on 5/21/2011
Pros:
Cost
Cons:
Weight
Describe Yourself:
Tech Savvy
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM Autofocus Zoom Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras.:

I was concerned after researching on [...] that some people had an issue with the quality of the glass. I am very happy with this lens for the price compared to the Nikon lenses. I am not a pro so I can't justify paying 1200 for a lens. This is an excellent alternative.

 
Nice lens
By way jeffVerified Reviewer from [@] on 2/4/2011
Pros:
Compact Design, Easy To Use, Super wide view
Cons:
Distorts around the edges
Best Uses:
Real estate interiors, Shooting Indoors
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM Autofocus Zoom Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras.:

I got this lens primarily for doing real estate interiors, and it works pretty well for that, although it distorts around the edges as most super-wide lenses will do.

You have to be very careful about aiming it so that you get your lines straight, so I recommend that you have a good level on your tripod or get an external one to mount on your hot shoe.

Images shared by: way jeff

f8 at 10mm

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

f8 at 10mm

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very Happy with this Excellent Lens
By AlVerified Purchaser from Hampton Roads, Virginia on 1/13/2011
Best Uses:
Landscape
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiastic amateur
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM Autofocus Zoom Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras.:

Before buying this lens, I must have read a million reviews on line (well, maybe not quite that many). These reviews compared this Sigma lens, the Tokina 12-24; the Tamron 10-24 and the Nikon 10-24. I first concluded that the Nikon was too expensive for my level of photography. It may be a superior lens (at least in cost) but I felt I could go with one of the others to save some $$$. My decision came down to the Tokina 12-24 and the Sigma. Another Tokina lens, the 11-16 is considered by some to be the best of the bunch, but it will not autofocus on my Nikon D5000 so I eliminated it from consideration. Most reviews suggested that the Tokina 12-24 is a slightly better lens, but the Sigma goes wider to 10 mm and since I was buying this lens for landscape and other wide angle shots, I went with the Sigma because of the extra 2 mm at the wide end.
I am very happy with this purchase and pleased with the pics I have been taking. Technically, I am sure it is not a perfect lens, but for the money, an excellent value.

[0 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Still exploring with this lens
By B the photographerVerified Purchaser from Beckley, WV on 7/26/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use
Best Uses:
Shooting Outdoors
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM Autofocus Zoom Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras.:

I bought this lens for landscapes and I am really looking forward to the fall for more pics.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Sigma 10mm-20mm Lens
By gpg6978Verified Purchaser from Mannheim, Germany on 4/15/2010
Pros:
Compact Design, Easy To Use, Improves Picture Quality
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Great Landscape Lens, Shooting Outdoors
Describe Yourself:
Aspiring Film Maker, Tech Savvy
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM Autofocus Zoom Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras.:

Great Lens.... Love it!!!!

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
A great lens at a realistic price
By DavidVerified Purchaser from Perth, Western Australia on 1/25/2010
Pros:
Compact Design, Easy To Use
Best Uses:
Close Up Filming, Panoramic Filming
Describe Yourself:
Tech Savvy
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM Autofocus Zoom Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras.:

This is a great lens and compliments my Nikon 18-200mm zoom lens. I am now able to get right up close and capture those weird and wild angle and perspectives that only a ultra wide angle lense can deliver. This was made even better by Adorama's excellent option of purchasing reconditioned lenses in excellent condition at reduced prices. I live in Perth, Western Australia and Adoramas [...]. I am very happy with my experience with Adorama and will be a customer again soon.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
A bargain!
By rwVerified Purchaser from Albuquerque, New Mexico on 1/10/2010
Pros:
Compact Design, Easy To Use, Improves Picture Quality
Best Uses:
Close Up Filming, Panoramic Filming, Shooting Indoors, Shooting Outdoors
Describe Yourself:
Tech Savvy
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM Autofocus Zoom Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras.:

A really wide angle lens such as the 10-20 teaches one to see in a new way: composition takes on a new dimension.

Images shared by: rw

Cathedral of St. John the Divine, NYC

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[5 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Amazing lens!
By MigzVerified Reviewer from Los Angeles, CA on 12/21/2009
Pros:
Compact Design, Easy To Use, Improves Picture Quality
Best Uses:
Shooting Outdoors
Describe Yourself:
Tech Savvy
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM Autofocus Zoom Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras.:

One of my best lens. Just check the pictures I took using this lens.

Images shared by: Migz

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[0 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Amazing lens
By MigzVerified Reviewer from Los Angeles, CA on 12/16/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Improves Picture Quality
Best Uses:
Panoramic Filming, Shooting Indoors, Shooting Outdoors
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM Autofocus Zoom Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras.:

Just check the pictures I took using this lens.

Images shared by: Migz

@ LA Autoshow 2009

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

@ Seal Beach

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[10 of 10 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great lens for DX!
By JJB from Albuquerque, NM on 10/23/2009
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM Autofocus Zoom Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras.:

This lens was the widest thing you could by for a Nikon DX at the time I bought it. Since then Nikon has come out with a 10-24 for DX that you might want to consider.

Taking photos with this lens is really fun and can give you a unique perspective on your subject! I highly recommend it -- it's one of the best second lenses you could by for your DSLR. (Tho a mid to long telephoto like the Nikon 55-200 is probably more bang for your buck.)

My only performance complaint with this lens is that in some lighting situations the color fidelity of this lens seems a bit off, sometimes producing too much saturation and other times not enough. Not sure why this is but it's something I've noticed (using with a D80 and a quality Hoya UV filter). This is not a show-stopper for me. I don't think any zoom lens that can go to 10mm is going to be razor sharp out to the corners, and this lens is not an exception. The truth is, it's sharp enough and if you can use it effectively you can get some really great shots with it. Thom Hogan has a good perspective on how this lens stacks up to other offerings from Nikon and Tokina on his Nikon site. Ken Rockwell's comment on his Nikon site about poor build quality for this lens is *way* off base. This is a quality lens. For example, the damping on the zoom action is very, very nice -- better than my Nikkor 70-200 f/2.8 AF-S VR by far (which feels cheap and un-damped to me), and that lens is the best Nikon makes. The Sigma 10-20 has a metal mount so it's definitely a step up from Nikon's kit lens quality. Hypersonic focus motor is fast and quiet with instant manual override (don't have to flip M/A switch like some cheaper Nikon AF-S lenses).

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Picture Quality
By R.M. SmithVerified Reviewer from Portland, OR on 8/15/2009
Pros:
Autofocus is sharp, Excellent picture Quality, Really wide angle
Cons:
Awkward manual focus, Heavy, Lens cap sucks
Best Uses:
Close Up Filming, Landscapes, Museums etc
Describe Yourself:
Hobby photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM Autofocus Zoom Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras.:

Took this lens plus three others on a five week trip to Europe and Turkey in April. Got great pictures in museums and inside buildings and some landscapes. Took about 15% of my pictures with it but it was a lot more than 15% of the weight of my sling bag. Have used it mostly for landscapes since the trip, for which it does great. See attached picture which I took a couple of days ago.

Images shared by: R.M. Smith

Multnomah Falls, OR 1/15th at f9, 17mm Hand Held

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
great lens
By srpbrentVerified Purchaser from wisconsin on 8/15/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Improves Picture Quality
Best Uses:
Shooting Outdoors
Describe Yourself:
Tech Savvy
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM Autofocus Zoom Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras.:

for landscapes this is a great lens, very sharp and provides a very wide angle of view

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Lens
By Radianceoflight from Chicago, IL on 8/12/2009
Pros:
Compact Design, Easy To Use, Improves Picture Quality
Best Uses:
Shooting Outdoors
Describe Yourself:
Aspiring Film Maker, Film Professional, Tech Savvy
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM Autofocus Zoom Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras.:

Love this lens!!

Images shared by: Radianceoflight

Image Thumbnail

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
INCREDIBLE!!
By Shawn from MemphisVerified Purchaser from Memphis, TN on 8/11/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Improves Picture Quality
Best Uses:
Close Up Filming
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM Autofocus Zoom Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras.:

This lens is incredible. I bought it for a trip to Italy to be able to get pictures of buildings in tight spaces. We haven't been yet but I used it in Quebec City. I was amazed at how close I actually had to stand to subjects to make them big enough. This thing is nearly a panoramic! It can make for some interesting shots, but you can really distort what you are trying to take a picture of if you are not careful, otherwise I have been more than overjoyed with it. One note: if you have a D60 and need to use the built in flash, it will leave a shadow off the end of the lens.

 
Satisfied with lens
By JackVerified Purchaser from Riverside, CA on 7/8/2009
Pros:
Compact Design, Easy To Use
Cons:
Mounting isn't smooth
Best Uses:
Shooting Outdoors
Describe Yourself:
Amateur Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM Autofocus Zoom Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras.:

So far used for landscapes. The pictures are fine. The auto focus is very quite.

The lens doesn't attach to the camera as easily as Nikon lenses do.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Lens
By tacgurlVerified Purchaser from Sacramento, CA on 6/24/2009
Pros:
Compact Design, Easy To Use, Improves Picture Quality
Best Uses:
Shooting Indoors, Shooting Outdoors
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM Autofocus Zoom Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras.:

After much researching & reading reviews for the best wideangle lens for my Nikon D300, this lens stood out. It has been great! It has great clarity, nicely compact, well built. Be careful to get "thin" UV &/or polarizing filters. In the reviews I read, this placed second only to the Nikon 12-24. So, if money is a consideration, try this lens.

 
Love this lens
By PrentisVerified Purchaser from Seattle, WA on 3/30/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Interior shots, Landscape Photography, Special Effects

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM Autofocus Zoom Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras.:

Well built. Excellent optics. Fun to use.

 
Great Lens
By SteveVerified Purchaser from Salt Lake city, Utah on 3/8/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM Autofocus Zoom Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras.:

A real value. Great lens. I took this lens to Maui a few days after purchase and to took great pictures. Very good colors and sharpness.

 
Great wide angle lens
By TroyVerified Purchaser from Orange County, CA on 3/7/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Landscape Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM Autofocus Zoom Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras.:

I use this lens mainly for pictures of buildings and landscapes. But you can also put this lens about an inch away of your subject and get excellent shots that include alot of background in it. This lens is great for inside pictures of homes, rooms as well. I purchased this lens about six weeks ago and have taken around 200 pictures so far with no regrets. If your looking for a great wide angle lens at a reasonable price this is a must buy.

CONS: None, this is a great lens.

Images shared by: Troy

My latest and greatest lens

Image Thumbnail
 
Good Value
By PhotophilVerified Purchaser from St. Joseph,MO on 2/21/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy, No easy manual focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Indoors, Landscape Photography, Special Effects
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM Autofocus Zoom Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras.:

Good value in an ultra-wide lens. Very sharp focus and excellent results. Only drawback: manual focus is unhandy with Nikon mount.

Images shared by: Photophil

Outside Dining?

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Excellent Lens
By Camilo BonillaVerified Reviewer from Miami Beach, FL on 2/2/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Landscape Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM Autofocus Zoom Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras.:

I’ve got beautiful results with this lens right off the box. The lens feels solid, a bit heavy but well balanced even with a D40X. My only gripe has to do with the lens cap, which is a little hard to put on. Other than that, perfect.

Images shared by: Camilo Bonilla

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Near Okeechobee Rd, FL

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent wide zoom
By Lewie221Verified Purchaser from Hayward, CA on 1/21/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Interiors, Landscape Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM Autofocus Zoom Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras.:

Wide, wide, wide.

I've seen many reviewers praise the sharpness, others claim it's too soft to be useful. Not sure what this means, except maybe there's more variability from lens to lens than is desirable. However, mine is sharp as a tack, so I'm happy.

One minor handling gripe: the zoom ring is closest to the body, which is the reverse of most lenses. Takes a bit of getting used to when you're in a hurry.

[2 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Sigma 10 20
By simonsVerified Purchaser from Europe on 1/21/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Landscape Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM Autofocus Zoom Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras.:

I use it with Nikon d90

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
This is a great lens. No less.
By Morfred, DenmarkVerified Reviewer from Denmark on 11/16/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Barrel distortion
Best Uses:
Architecture, Cityscape, Landscape Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM Autofocus Zoom Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras.:

The barrel distiortion at 10mm is quite strong - though I have yet to see anything this close to a fish eye fare any better - even at thrice the price. It is a con only when shooting architecture. Be prepared to spend a lot of time in photoshop on those shots.

This lens is ideal for landscape and cityscape - which is the core of traveling photos. You'll be amazed at how useful it turns out to be. I love it!

Close up focus range and sharpness is what legends are made of. I beleive folks'll be talking about this piece in 20 years, as one of the textbook references on how to do a wide zoom.

Last time in China, I ended up taking about 68% of all my pictures with this lens.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fantastic Real Estate Lens
By GeneVerified Purchaser from Stockton, California on 9/24/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Real Estate
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM Autofocus Zoom Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras.:

I use my camera for real estate photos, this lens lets me go places that my 18-55 kit lens could not. It takes photos of small kitchens, small bathrooms, and small backyards. I know, at f/4.5 It's a little slow for interiors, but with bounce flash, the shots turn out nice and bright. I have attached an exterior photo of a distressed property, that had a "tree hedge" at the sidewalk. I had to get between the trees and house at 12mm to get the enclosed shot. I also used a Cokin 2 stop neutral grad filter as I was shooting into the morning sun. No time to go back at a later date. Photo number two was shot at 20mm using a Sunpak Circular polarizer. Anyone serious about real estate photography should buy this lens today!

Images shared by: Gene

Shot between a row of trees and the property

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Shot about 5:30 in the afternoon at 20mm

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Worth the price and then some!
By D. Hammons PhotographyVerified Purchaser from Dothan, AL on 8/24/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Great color rendition, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Upgrade
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM Autofocus Zoom Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras.:

I bought this lens for a photo class, and now wish I had bought it sooner. The colors and focus are spot-on. The min. focus distance is wonderful, and the true wide angle on my DSLR is a great feature.

[5 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Sent it back
By BonjonVerified Purchaser from Orlando FL on 8/6/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Cons:
Blurry Focus
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM Autofocus Zoom Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras.:

I have only read good things about this lens so I wasn't hesitant about buying it, especially considering it was half the price of the Nikon 12-24mm. However, I was so unimpressed that I returned it. Now maybe I got a 'bad one' but it did not take sharp photos at all. Even with shooting on a tripod at low ISO, etc etc, I wasn't able to get the sharp, crisp shots that I want out of a lens.

I have done a lot of shooting with a borrowed Nikon 12-24mm lens. This Sigma 10-20mm wasn't nearly as good.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
One of the best experiences
By JhunterVerified Purchaser from Sterling, Virginia on 7/26/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM Autofocus Zoom Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras.:

I have been trying to decide between the Tokina 12-24 and the Sigma 10-20. I got my hands on the Sigma first and my experience with it has been so good that I never felt the need to check out Tokina. Though I am sure Tokina is also an excellent lens (going by reviews), I love this lens. I use this for landscape photography (mountains, beaches, buildings) and the 10mm is a killer.
It's excellent for low light conditions too. I was really pleased with its performance during the Fourth of July fireworks. It has a fast focus and wide coverage.
The color saturation is awesome though I feel I need to get a good CPL filter to go along with it.

I didn't find anything that can be considered negative(at least not yet).

I say give it a try. I'm sure you wont regret it

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
NICE lens!
By SteveVerified Purchaser from Edmond, OK on 7/23/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Tough To Attach
Best Uses:
Special Effects
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM Autofocus Zoom Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras.:

Only thing I dislike about this fine lens is that it is hard to find the right angle to attach to the camera, first lens that I've ever had that problem on...guess I'll get used to it. Otherwise, autofocus is fast, the wide angle is excellent, and the construction seems great.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Wide Angle Lens
By William, Near ChicagoVerified Reviewer from Near Chicago on 1/31/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Solid Construction, Strong Construction
Cons:
NONE
Best Uses:
Wide Wide Angle
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM Autofocus Zoom Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras.:

This is a very nice lens. Construction feels like a Nikon lens. Fast auto-focus and silent! This digital only lens will deliver that wide angle you are looking for. Seems best at about F8 at all focal lengths. Looked at the Tokina 12-24 (also a nice lens) but thought this was a better lens. You will not find a better wide angle for the money!!

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
May become my favorite lense
By J.M.H.Verified Purchaser from Glenside, PA on 1/23/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Affordable, Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Fast focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Interior Architecture, Landscape
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM Autofocus Zoom Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras.:

I use it with D70. Great for interior architecture, with some distortion at widest end, especially at the edges. Also works well for landscapes, humorous portraits, etc. It's not the fastest lense, but I can still get clear shots down to 1/5 sec. shutter speed handheld. I only had it for a month, so I haven't fully experimented with it. Can't wait to try some night shots.

[11 of 11 customers found this review helpful]

 
Simply Stunning
By Tiny MaloneVerified Reviewer from Las Vegas, Nevada on 11/28/2007
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Sigma EX Construction, Strong Construction, Super Wide Angle View, Versatile
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape, Special Effects
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM Autofocus Zoom Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras.:

This is the lens that stays on the front of my Fuji S5 Pro most of the time. Lets face the facts now: Sigma is no longer a 2nd tier lens manufacturer. They build many products (in their EX classification) that are as good or better than what Nikkor or Canon produce. This lens is case in point of that. Sharp edge to edge through 98% of it's focal length, this gives a subframe (APS-C) camera a HUGE field of view.

Shooting a landscape with dramatic clouds in the sky? Get low and watch what happens! Stunning. And this is also very good for Architecture photography, both exterior and interior. Yes, just like any super wide lens you have to use a bubble level to prevent perspective distortion (read: line convergence), but if you do your job, this lens will do it's job!

Great color and contrast are the name of the game for this lens and nearly the rest of the Sigma EX line. Sure the price is great on this lens! The fact is, I can afford any lens I want. I have some very expensive glass, though, that now sits in the dry box because this lens gets nearly all my attention.

Real simple, click the "Add to Cart" button and don't look back. You will be glad that you did! I know that I am!!!

[8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Sharp and well controlled
By GuidenetVerified Reviewer from Orlando Florida on 11/6/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Lightweight, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction, Well controlled CA
Cons:
Poor lens cap design
Best Uses:
Scenic
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM Autofocus Zoom Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras.:

This is a great lens, but then I love wide-angles. I had purchased the Tokina 12-24 but got tired of fixing chomatic abberation in post. I sold it and bought the Sigma and haven't looked back.

[4 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
I like it.
By SLR Beginner.Verified Purchaser from Danville, CA on 4/16/2007
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus, Very wide
Cons:
I haven't found one yet
Best Uses:
Landscape photography
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM Autofocus Zoom Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras.:

I took my Sigma 10-20mm to Zion National Park, Bryce Canyon NP, and Antelope Canyon in AZ, recently. I used this lens about 50% of the time, especially in the slot canyon. The results are simply awesome. The colors in the photos are vibrant. I did not notice any distortion, but then again, I only used it for landscape photography.

I had read that the Sigma lens cap had a tendency to fall off, but I did not experience this problem.

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Widest of the Wide, Just A Little Slow
By Out In MalibuVerified Purchaser from Malibu, CA on 2/25/2007
Pros:
Clear Glass, Easily Accessible Controls, Easily Mounted, Wide View
Cons:
Slow aperture
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Pro
Best Uses:
Concert, Documentary, Photojournalism
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM Autofocus Zoom Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras.:

I have been wary of Sigma products ever since I had one, quite literally, fall apart in my hands, as it was held together with mylar tape (really) which gave way on a sunny day.
But, the 10mm wide end of this lens enticed me to try Sigma again. I'm glad I did. It's a decently built lens, takes sharp photos and focuses well, despite the 5.6 minimum aperture at the telephoto (heh) end.
If Nikon make a 10-20/4, I would have bought that. But they don't, so Sigma earned back my business.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Used it 2 months. Very satisfied.
By DMVerified Purchaser from Fredericksburg, VA on 2/12/2007
Pros:
Clear Glass, Easily Accessible Controls, Easily Mounted, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM Autofocus Zoom Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras.:

Purchased lense for landscapes and documantary snapshots in close quarters. Very happy on all accounts. Pleased with image quality, lense construction and fast focus (HSM). Use with NikonD80, will auto focus fine with wife's D40. Not crazy about Sigma's mat finish, but that is just personal preference. Have had no problem with vigineting using a polerizer filter with it. Performed as advertised and as well as the reviews indicated. No hestitation in recommending thiw lense.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent lens.
By RobVerified Purchaser from Twain Harte California on 2/5/2007
Pros:
Easily Accessible Controls, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Documentary, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM Autofocus Zoom Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras.:

Use to photograph inside/outside of houses and landscapes. Real Estate agent. My most used lens. Works well on my Nikon D70.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very clear, impressive angle of view
By Motorcycle RicardoVerified Purchaser from Fillmore, CA on 2/5/2007
Pros:
Clear Glass, Easily Mounted, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Cons:
Zoom ring placed on rear
Best Uses:
Documentary, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM Autofocus Zoom Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras.:

I purchased the lens to shoot building interiors. It is perfect for bringing out room details in small quarters. There is minimal edge distortion. I use a wide-angle flash with a diffuser and bounce the flash when possible. This gives very even lighting. For building exteriors, care must be given to the camera position or there will be line divergence. It handles easily with a sturdy feel. I would rather have the zoom ring as the more distant ring, but that may not have been possible with the internal lens configuration.

[12 of 12 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great lens for the money
By Dave WilsonVerified Reviewer from Austin, TX on 11/11/2006
Pros:
Clear Glass, Easily Mounted, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Photojournalism, Travel

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM Autofocus Zoom Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras.:

I've been using this lens about 10 months with a Nikon D70 and am extremely happy with it. The image quality is excellent though the colour balance appears somewhat warmer than with my Nikon lenses (but not annoyingly so). The lens construction quality is also excellent - it feels very solid and is definitely better than the older Sigma lenses I own.

[15 of 15 customers found this review helpful]

 
Happily I bought it !
By EmilioVerified Reviewer from Cordoba, Argentina on 8/17/2006
Pros:
Clear Glass, Easily Accessible Controls, Easily Mounted, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Landscape, Travel

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM Autofocus Zoom Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras.:

Excellent. Sharper and distortion is minimal, and the contrast and colours are Very well.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.