Buy the Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC Autofocus Zoom Lens for Pentax Digital SLR Cameras. on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC Autofocus Zoom Lens for Pentax Digital SLR Cameras. image
 
(based on 11 ratings)
Brand: Sigma
Located in: Sigma, Digital SLR Lenses
Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC Autofocus Zoom Lens for Pentax Digital SLR Cameras.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.8 stars
(based on 11 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(6)
Pros:
Consistent output(4), Easily interchangeable(4), Fast / accurate auto-focus(8), Lightweight(5), Rugged(4)
Best Uses:
Fun(3), General purpose(3), Landscape/scenery(3), Special effects(3), Travel(3)

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excelent price, well made w.a. lens.
By Chuck T, that's me!Verified Purchaser from Hartford, South Dakota on 6/20/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Lightweight, Nice Bokeh, Rugged, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Macro Photography, Sports/Action, Video, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC Autofocus Zoom Lens for Pentax Digital SLR Cameras.:

I used this lens with my recently purchased Pentax K-X, and I tested it in my back and front yards with flowers and scenery from our home. The K-X and this lens work well together, and Adorama gave me an excellent price. A few years ago I owned the equivelant Pentax lens, and it is indeed a bit smaller and lighter than the Sigma lens. However, in terms of performance the two lenses are equal. I own many Tamerons and Sigmas for for both Nikon and Pentax. Sigma makes affordable, well constructed lenses, and the 10 to 20 is no exception.[...]

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice wide angle
By John MagruderVerified Reviewer from Chicago, IL on 4/12/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Strong Construction
Cons:
A bit soft overall
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC Autofocus Zoom Lens for Pentax Digital SLR Cameras.:

I like this lens a lot. Man is it wide! It is also a big lens. But considering what it does, this is no surprise. Distortion is kept low, and my copy is reasonably sharp... best when stopped down to f8-11. I would have liked it to be a tad sharper overall, but it is certainly usable. I really like how I can get away with some rather low shutter speeds hand held due to it being so wide, and this will certainly give you a perspective like few other lenses. All at a price that is less than half of a Pentax 12-24.

I have heard about quality issues with some copies of this, but if you get a good copy you will not be disappointed.

Images shared by: John Magruder

taken with the Sigma 10-20mm 4.5-5.6

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
BEAUTIFUL LENSE
By SHARPEYEVerified Reviewer from Akron,Ohio on 1/26/2010
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC Autofocus Zoom Lens for Pentax Digital SLR Cameras.:

The Sigma 10-20mm.f/4-5.6 is a quality piece from the black finish to the sharp optics and the smooth operation. Focus ring is smooth but firm. Comes with a very well padded lense case. Some tech. reviews rate the sharpness so-so but in practical use I find it very sharp. The sweet spot is f8 to f11. Very pleased with my purchase. Barrel is metal construction.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good Wide Angle Zoom
By JASVerified Purchaser from Baltimore, MD on 5/5/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC Autofocus Zoom Lens for Pentax Digital SLR Cameras.:

Great alternative in terms of price from the Pentax 12-24mm. Consistent output with some disortion and softness in the corners especially on the 10mm end but that is to be expected. Vignetting is more evident with larger apetures. Well constructed and relatively fast focus for a third party lens.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
"Extreme wide angle lens"
By Straight shooterVerified Purchaser from Collinsville, Illinois on 10/1/2008
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Extreme Wide Angle, General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC Autofocus Zoom Lens for Pentax Digital SLR Cameras.:

I have Sigma's 12-24 lens which is great but is both big and heavy. This lens is even wider angle and is small and light weight. It fits easily in a small gadget bag and doesn't weigh you down. Image quality is excellent and should please all but the most nit-picky. It also appears to be very well built. I couldn't be happier.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Super wide!!
By Tricky DickVerified Purchaser from Tucson, AZ on 9/24/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Interiors and panoramas, Special Effects
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC Autofocus Zoom Lens for Pentax Digital SLR Cameras.:

Super sharp. Slight vignetting at 10mm especially if you use a filter. 2 filters? -- a no-no. But play anyway. Super wides are not distortion free. This one achieves miracles for the price. Doesn't add a lot of weight to bag. I carry 10-20mm, 18--55mm, 70-300mm plus 1.6X extender for general outdoor (vacation) shooting. Comes to 10 lbs with all accessories. (Your mileage may vary)

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Wide Angle
By Sunrise ShooterVerified Reviewer from Central Florida on 8/24/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Special Effects
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC Autofocus Zoom Lens for Pentax Digital SLR Cameras.:

The field of view has to be seen to be believed.
Must be conscious of extraneous stuff at the edge of the scene you wouldn't normally consider, even at 16mm.
Very little distortion but there is some perspective change to keep in mind.
Very sharp.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Execellent build and image quality
By GrogVerified Purchaser from Wittmann, AZ on 5/23/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Sharp Focus
Cons:
Stiff zoom action
Best Uses:
Special Effects
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC Autofocus Zoom Lens for Pentax Digital SLR Cameras.:

I will use this for outdoor scenic photos, where getting the foreground into the photo as well as a big view is important. Even at it's widest setting, there is very little distortion. The image is very sharp. The zoom action was a little stiff out of the box, but improved with use.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
The ultimate ultrawide angle lens
By TWVerified Purchaser from Hudson, OH on 2/13/2007
Pros:
Lightweight, Strong Construction
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC Autofocus Zoom Lens for Pentax Digital SLR Cameras.:

This is the ultrawide lens I have been dreaming for since switching to digital a few years ago. I picked this over the Pentax 12-24 because of the 10mm the wide end. Distortion is extremely well controlled. The only con is the slight drop in corner sharpness, which is not visible at normal magnification.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Amazing Quality
By SuperAkumaVerified Purchaser from Bay Area, CA on 2/12/2007
Pros:
Clear Glass, Easily Mounted, Strong Construction
Cons:
Wish it was brighter
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC Autofocus Zoom Lens for Pentax Digital SLR Cameras.:

I believed in the quality of Sigma EX series line up is comparable to other manufacturers top of the line glass. Like all of their EX lenses, the built quality was very well constructed. The lens felt very sturdy and solid.

The most important part of the lens is the image quality. The image quality was also very good. Not as sharp as prime lens but that was expected. There was some minor barrel distortion and some lens curve like a fisheye. Even though this is not a fisheye lens you still see a little bit of perspective distortions if you take a picture of a flat object like a brick wall. But if you are using it for landscape you won't see it at all.

The best part of it all is the lens is a very fun lens to use. It allows you to capture a very wide prospective when story telling.

[1 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Lens
By Photo fanVerified Purchaser from LosAngeles, CA on 2/5/2007
Pros:
Clear Glass, Easily Accessible Controls, Easily Mounted, Excellent quality, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Cons:
Na
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC Autofocus Zoom Lens for Pentax Digital SLR Cameras.:

I love lens quality.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.