Buy the Sigma 17 - 50mm f/2.8 EX DC OS HSM Auto Focus Wide Angle Zoom Lens for for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras. on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Sigma 17 - 50mm f/2.8 EX DC OS HSM Auto Focus Wide Angle Zoom Lens for for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras. image
 
(based on 12 ratings)
Brand: Sigma
Located in: Sigma, Digital SLR Lenses
Sigma 17 - 50mm f/2.8 EX DC OS HSM Auto Focus Wide Angle Zoom Lens for for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.3 stars
(based on 12 reviews)
83% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Consistent output(7), Durable(8), Easily interchangeable(3), Fast / accurate auto-focus(9), Nice bokeh(7)
Best Uses:
Landscape/scenery(10), Low light(9), Night photography(7), Sports/action(4), Video(3)
Describe Yourself:
Photo enthusiast(6), Semi-pro photographer(5)
Was this a gift?:
No(8)
 
Excellent lens!
By SergeyVerified Reviewer from Marysville, WA on 4/11/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Night Photography, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17 - 50mm f/2.8 EX DC OS HSM Auto Focus Wide Angle Zoom Lens for for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras.:

I've had this lens for a week. I shot a wedding with it and the photos look very sharp. They are no less sharp than those taken with Canon 70-200 VR II at the same wedding! This lens is durable too. It fell out of my hands and hit the the concrete floor. The UV filter glass shattered and the filter metal frame bent. However, the Sigma lens is still working as before. There's not a scratch on the body! Highly recommend.

 
Good in tight places
By rhc7Verified Purchaser from flint hills of Kansas on 3/13/2011
Pros:
Durable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Night Photography, Sports/Action, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17 - 50mm f/2.8 EX DC OS HSM Auto Focus Wide Angle Zoom Lens for for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras.:

Great indoor sports lens when you are able to get close. have it on 90% of time, as good all around lens, good glass, hard to tell difference from Canon 17-40 f4.0. travels well with Canon 40d

 
Great Wide Angle Coverage!
By ShutterNutVerified Purchaser from Miami, FL on 3/7/2011
Pros:
Fast / accurate auto-focus, Nice Bokeh, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Video, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17 - 50mm f/2.8 EX DC OS HSM Auto Focus Wide Angle Zoom Lens for for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras.:

Purchased this lens to replace one of lesser quality without breaking the bank and am thrilled with the fast focus and high quality construction! Provides that critical low light coverage and opens quite wide when the need arises. I have several other Sigma EX lenses, and the HSM focus is very consistent. Some may have difficulty adjusting to the zoom control, may be reverse of what you are using now. Provided petal hood and storage case are high quality as well.

 
a good buy!!
By LouVerified Purchaser from reno,nevada on 3/6/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Rugged, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Night Photography
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17 - 50mm f/2.8 EX DC OS HSM Auto Focus Wide Angle Zoom Lens for for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras.:

Enjoy the speed and the range- perfect for me

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Lens -- Must Buy!!
By RickVerified Reviewer from Acworth, Ga on 11/27/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Nice Bokeh, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons:
Lens cap
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Night Photography, Sports/Action, Weddings/Events, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17 - 50mm f/2.8 EX DC OS HSM Auto Focus Wide Angle Zoom Lens for for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras.:

I researched this lens for about 2 months before I finally pulled the trigger and I'm very glad that I finally purchased it. Like everyone else, I compared it with the Canon 17-55 IS and the new Canon 15-85 IS lenses and I finally settled on the Sigma based on the numerous excellent online reivews it has received and based on price. I performed quite a bit of testing when I first received the lens and both autofocus speed and accuracy were excellent. In the field the lens has been great with excellent performance (based on about 4,000 pictures) and build quality. The only issue that takes getting used to is that the focus ring rotates during autofocus -- very annoying until you get used to it. Highly recommended -- don't hesitate to buy it.

[24 of 25 customers found this review helpful]

 
Occasionally great, occasionaly poor
By Stef from Albuquerque, NM on 11/14/2010
Pros:
Great IQ when AF works, Nice Bokeh, Strong Construction
Cons:
Impossible manual focus, Inconsistent focus, Loose hood, No full-time manual focus
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Portraits, Still Life
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17 - 50mm f/2.8 EX DC OS HSM Auto Focus Wide Angle Zoom Lens for for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras.:

This is *almost* an excellent lens, but due to the focus design, falls far short. When the AF hits, this is an amazing lens. The colors and IQ are simply awesome, but only when the inconsistent AF actually hits properly.

Best uses are to stop it down a bit and do portraits and still life ... and take 3 or more of each shot. It really does make fine portraits, when you can shoot several shots of the same pose. The center sharpness is crazy good wide open with soft edges, but stopped down, the IQ is very good edge to edge.

I'm used to 95%+ hit rate, but am only getting 60-70% AF hit rate with this lens, especially wide open where the DOF is so shallow. When trying to figure out what the deal was, I did tripod-mounted consistency tests and found inconsistent AF over a dozen shots of exactly the same image. I could not use microadjustment to fix it because it wasn't off a consistent amount. This AF inconsistency shows up in real use.

If you cannot afford the canon 17-55 version, this is a fine lens, but you should go in with the knowledge that it does not have full-time manual focus (so you can't tweak the focus), the focus ring only turns about 30 degrees peg-to-peg so it's d*mn near impossible to focus manually anyway, and the auto-focus will miss a fair number of shots.

Take a few extra shots and stop it down a little, and it's a very nice lens. Amazing, even. But I cannot trust this lens for important indoor event coverage which is pretty much what the speed is supposed to be good for. Below about f/5.6, the AF fails too often.

I'm sorry I can't bear better news, but if this was useful knowledge then CLICK BELOW that it was useful. This review contradicts what a lot of others are saying and it'll upset them, but good AF is one of the most important aspects of any lens used for events, and that makes it rate below average for me.

I would post pics, except for that bit about "irrevocably transferring all rights" of my pics to the review site. My review of the review site's EULA rates a 1/5 stars.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great lens
By Double NVerified Purchaser from Apopka, FL. on 11/1/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Lightweight, Nice Bokeh
Best Uses:
Landscapescenery, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17 - 50mm f/2.8 EX DC OS HSM Auto Focus Wide Angle Zoom Lens for for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras.:

I love the sharpness of this lens. I debated between this and the Canon 17-55 2.8 and settled on the Sigma due to price and the reviews. The only weak point this lens has is the focus hunting it does on a Canon 40D. This may partially be due to the focusing program of the camera as well. I wouldn't hesitate to suggest this lens. Mine was perfect right out of the box first time.

Images shared by: Double N

Sample Photo

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

Sample Photo

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

[1 of 13 customers found this review helpful]

 
not worth the money
By flavocinVerified Purchaser from Pennsylvania on 9/20/2010
Pros:
Durable, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons:
Blurry Focus, Heavy, Poor in Low Light, Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17 - 50mm f/2.8 EX DC OS HSM Auto Focus Wide Angle Zoom Lens for for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras.:

It's a great lens outside but indoors in was very slow and hunted allot focusing. i sent it back and ordered the sigma 18-50 f/2.8 EX DC Macro AF Zoom. I've read hundreds of reviews all over the web and the canon 17-55 2.8 is the best but if your on a low budget like me and can't afford a $1000 lens then the sigma 18-50 2.8 is the way to go.
It's much faster and works better in low light than the tamron 17-50 2.8 and I've read close to a thousand reviews about the two lenses. Then I finally stopped reading and asked the pro's at Adorama and they agreed the sigma 18-50 2.8 is the way to go. If your not buying from Adorama your not only waisting your time but also your money.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
" Don't wait, buy this lens right now"
By Del JacildoVerified Reviewer from Long Beach, California on 8/4/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Heavy but well-balanced, Nice Bokeh, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons:
None - Nada
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Macro Photography, Night Photography, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17 - 50mm f/2.8 EX DC OS HSM Auto Focus Wide Angle Zoom Lens for for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras.:

I use this lens for weddings and church events. This lens is so versatile and fast in low light Conditions without the use of tripod. There are no blurring I can see on all the images taken. All pictures are razor sharp and vivid. My Canon 7D is very effective with this lens.

Everything appears perfect .

Images shared by: Del Jacildo

1/30 F/2.8 ISO 250 28mm

Image Thumbnail

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
ULTRA FAST & SHARP IMAGES. GREAT LENS
By Del Jacildo from Long Beach, California on 7/31/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Nice Bokeh, Rugged, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Night Photography, Video, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17 - 50mm f/2.8 EX DC OS HSM Auto Focus Wide Angle Zoom Lens for for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras.:

I use this for wedding photography, portriature and landscape.
Lightning-fast and accurate auto-focus. The images are razor-sharp at all focal lenght. This is a lense with all professional elements built into it. I will recommend this product to all my friends in business. This lens will stay attached to my Canon 7D for a very long long time.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Oh so sweet
By rhc7Verified Reviewer from mid-Kansas on 7/28/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Sharp, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Any time, Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Weddings/Events, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17 - 50mm f/2.8 EX DC OS HSM Auto Focus Wide Angle Zoom Lens for for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras.:

Loved my Canon 17-40 on 40D, until I received my Sigma 17-50. Pick one up, feel the strength of good construction, felt like 17-40, plus uses same filter size. OS if great indoor or low-light outside. don't need flash. F/2.8 is fast enough to allow me to use ISO 100 more for all types of shots. Has lense lock but lens shows no "lens creep" Rotation of lense is same as Canon. Plus the extra 10mm of length does give 20% more distance. So far great lense.

[5 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
A must for video!
By JTVerified Reviewer from Burleson, TX on 6/26/2010
Pros:
Durable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, HSM is SUPER quiet, Nice Bokeh, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Night Photography, OS A must for handheld, Video, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17 - 50mm f/2.8 EX DC OS HSM Auto Focus Wide Angle Zoom Lens for for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras.:

A great lens for stills, but a must for shooting video. The two main reasons are OS and a fixed 2.8 aperture.

- OS -
I purchased mainly to utilize the OS (Optical Stabilization) option while shooting video. I have the Canon 50mm 1.4f which is a great lens for low light, but with no OS it can get pretty shaky when hand held. In the small amount of test footage I can already tell a major improvement over non OS or VS

- Fixed 2.8f -
The fixed aperture eliminates exposure shifts during zoom. Although it is not often that I zoom while shooting (due to the level of difficulty to maintain focus), the exposure shifts were very distracting with my previous lens.

This lens competes with Canon's high end glass. Very solid construction and HSM is SUPER quiet! Well worth the investment. You will not be disappointed.

Images shared by: JT

w/ Canon T2i : @ 50mm / 2.8f (hand held)

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

w/ Canon T2i : @ 50mm / 5.6f (tripod)

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.