Buy the Sigma 17 - 70mm f/2.8-4.5 DC HSM Macro AutoFocus Wide Angle Zoom Lens for Nikon AF Cameras on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Sigma 17 - 70mm f/2.8-4.5 DC HSM Macro AutoFocus Wide Angle Zoom Lens for Nikon AF Cameras image
 
(based on 7 ratings)
Brand: Sigma
Located in: Sigma, Digital SLR Lenses
Sigma 17 - 70mm f/2.8-4.5 DC HSM Macro AutoFocus Wide Angle Zoom Lens for Nikon AF Cameras
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.3 stars
(based on 7 reviews)
86% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(3)
Pros:
Consistent output(5), Durable(3), Fast / accurate auto-focus(6), Strong construction(4)
Best Uses:
General purpose(4), Landscape photography(4)
 
Nice lens
By BCSVerified Purchaser from KC, MO on 7/28/2010
Pros:
Durable, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17 - 70mm f/2.8-4.5 DC HSM Macro AutoFocus Wide Angle Zoom Lens for Nikon AF Cameras:

Great macro feature. Nice walk around lens. no problems with autofocus.

[0 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Hello Everyone
By MAXVerified Reviewer from KY, USA on 4/27/2010
Cons:
Blurry Focus
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Macro Photography, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17 - 70mm f/2.8-4.5 DC HSM Macro AutoFocus Wide Angle Zoom Lens for Nikon AF Cameras:

I have bought this lens about a 2 months ago and i havent had a chance to spend really quality time with it, Lately i realized it seem to be having a problem with it's focusing. Its ok if object is in close range then pictures are great, but when objects are far away from you around further than 5 meter thats where the problem is i can attach the picture that im talking about, you will see.

Images shared by: MAX

Look at back building bricks,meant to focus on the

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good value for money
By KrishnanVerified Purchaser from Chicago,IL on 11/5/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Upgrade
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17 - 70mm f/2.8-4.5 DC HSM Macro AutoFocus Wide Angle Zoom Lens for Nikon AF Cameras:

Have been using this lens for the past few weeks. After hearing about Sigma QC issues I was initially bit skeptical, however I still went ahead and I am glad I did. It was a nice upgrade from my D60 kit lens. The focus is extremely fast and accurate.

I wish it had Image stabilization, I guess you can't wish for everything at this price:-) Another flip side is I see a little yellowish tinge sometimes and notice it mostly when the white balance is set to cloudy.

To sum it up it's a nice walk-around / travel lens and I enjoy its near macro capability. Stays on my camera for 80% of the time.

Images shared by: Krishnan

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

 
Excellent lens
By TedVerified Reviewer from Roosendaal, Netherlands on 6/21/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Special Effects
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17 - 70mm f/2.8-4.5 DC HSM Macro AutoFocus Wide Angle Zoom Lens for Nikon AF Cameras:

This is a great lens, my cheapest and best. The macro gives it a big plus, at 60mm it can compete with my Nikkor 60mm/2.8 but it is still semi-macro with 1:2.8. Also with extension tubes it is good. The auto focus which I never use, they say it is slow, my other Sigma 105 Macro is an auto-focos horror, so I could be a Sigma issue. The lens hood fix is loose, I lost the hood and had it replaced. Sigma did not give this lens the EX extension, and after reading a lot of reviews, it is likely that there are differences in the copies. It seems to (lucky) me that I have an excellent one, which is not for sale, not even at 4X the new price.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great lens for the price
By ScottVerified Reviewer from Bristow VA on 4/10/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17 - 70mm f/2.8-4.5 DC HSM Macro AutoFocus Wide Angle Zoom Lens for Nikon AF Cameras:

I have taken a lot of shots with my Sigma 17-70. I have found it to be versatile and sharp. I have been very pleased with it and am looking at other Sigma lenses. I have found the lens to be a great choice for my Nikon D300.

Images shared by: Scott

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Razor Sharp
By PLVerified Reviewer from Oxford, MS on 11/23/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Cons:
NONE
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Macro and portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17 - 70mm f/2.8-4.5 DC HSM Macro AutoFocus Wide Angle Zoom Lens for Nikon AF Cameras:

This lens is razor sharp. When I travel I take it and my Tamron 70-200. Just a great lens.

Images shared by: PL

Magnolia seeds

Image Thumbnail

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent lens for the money!
By Rathi410Verified Reviewer from Athol, MA on 10/14/2008
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
None so far
Best Uses:
Portraits, Wedding Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17 - 70mm f/2.8-4.5 DC HSM Macro AutoFocus Wide Angle Zoom Lens for Nikon AF Cameras:

I bought the Sigma 17-70 for my D100 after a recommendation by a fellow wedding photographer. I was not sure how this lens would compare with my Nikon glass but I have been very happy with the results. This lens has not left my camera since I first mounted it. So far I've shot over 5000 images in just 2 months with fantastic results. Very good color reproduction, fast focus, zoom is smooth. I love the macro feature, something I lacked with the Nikon 24-120 VR. Well worth the price!

Images shared by: Rathi410

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.