Buy the Sigma 18mm - 50mm f/3.5-5.6 DC Autofocus Aspherical Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Sigma 18mm - 50mm f/3.5-5.6 DC Autofocus Aspherical Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras image
 
(based on 9 ratings)
Brand: Sigma
Located in: Sigma, Digital SLR Lenses
Sigma 18mm - 50mm f/3.5-5.6 DC Autofocus Aspherical Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
3.7 stars
(based on 9 reviews)
89% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Semi-professional(5)
Pros:
Consistent output(3), Durable(3), Easily interchangeable(3), Fast / accurate auto-focus(6), Lightweight(7)
Best Uses:
General purpose(5), Landscape photography(3)
 
Great Value
By CoreyVerified Purchaser from Lehi, Utah on 7/22/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Durable, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Red CA
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 18mm - 50mm f/3.5-5.6 DC Autofocus Aspherical Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras:

I've used this lens for family portraits and weddings. It fits the bill for large group shots, and when I need to get wide. It is reasonably sharp for an inexpensive lens. Not as sharp as Canon's 17-40L but it's not priced to be either. My only issue is the red CA that is in nearly every image. I know when I process my pics from this lens the first thing I do in Lightroom is fix the CA.

 
Great Lens
By BiffsterVerified Purchaser from Chico CA on 1/31/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 18mm - 50mm f/3.5-5.6 DC Autofocus Aspherical Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras:

This is a great lens, much better than the Canon kit lens. It works great on my Canon XTI. Excellent outside, also works well inside with a flash.

 
Cheap But worth the Money
By MarcusVerified Reviewer from Indiana on 12/11/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Slow Focus, Weak Casing
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 18mm - 50mm f/3.5-5.6 DC Autofocus Aspherical Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras:

I got this lens just for the wide angle and the price. i have been pleased with it. The Front Focus is annoying because I use ND Graduated filters. other than that its great not alot of complaints

 
Sharp Lens
By MomVerified Purchaser from Fortville, IN on 4/17/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Focus ring feels loose
Best Uses:
Back-Up, General Use, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 18mm - 50mm f/3.5-5.6 DC Autofocus Aspherical Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras:

I bought this lens as a back up wide angle and with the good reviews I was reading for such a "cheap" lens I didn't think I could go wrong. So far I must agree with all the others it has proven to be a sharp lens. Most of my pics have been taken outdoors so the f/stop doesn't bother me but I think for indoors shooting it could be an issue...but easily dealt with. The lens feels very light on my camera and does not interfere with handling while not in use. My only complaint thus far with this lens is the manual focus ring feels very loose...I don't feel it is a fault with the construction of this particular lens, just an overall design "flaw".

Images shared by: Mom

test pic when I first got the new lens

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

 
IR and UV Photographers....
By EricVerified Reviewer from Wakefield, MA on 3/17/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Lightweight
Best Uses:
IR and UV Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 18mm - 50mm f/3.5-5.6 DC Autofocus Aspherical Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras:

This simple and inexpensive lens has for the price pretty good performance, better than the Canon kit lens. For general use I would recommend stepping up to the 17-70mm or 18-50mm 2.8ex dc that have much better performance.
There is one alternative use for this lens: Infrared and Ultraviolet Photography. For IR (using a Hoya R72 filter) you will not get hotspots and most Canon SLRs are sensitive enough to IR. This lens only has 8 elements and simple lens coating, so it actually can be used for near UV photography as well (with a B+W 403 filter). I must warn that Canon SLRs are very insensitive to UV and records on the blue channel only, so expect 30-45 second exposures on sunny days and you'll get significant IR contamination through the red and green channels. Nikon and Pentax SLRs are much more suitable for UV photography though with exposure times around 5 seconds on sunny days.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
GOOD FOR THE MONEY
By CHUCKVerified Purchaser from CLEARWATER FOLRIDA on 9/26/2007
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Beats Canon's 18 -55, General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 18mm - 50mm f/3.5-5.6 DC Autofocus Aspherical Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras:

USED IT ON A REBEL XTI NICE LENS HOWEVER WHEN I
PUT IN IN THE AL SERVO MODE IT WOULD NOT RESPOND.

Images shared by: CHUCK

SAND CRANE

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

SAN CRANE

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
good for beginner
By mikep from goshen, indiana on 7/10/2007
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Lightweight
Cons:
Blurry Focus
Best Uses:
Back-Up
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 18mm - 50mm f/3.5-5.6 DC Autofocus Aspherical Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras:

good for beginner

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not all that...
By NewbieVerified Purchaser from Houston, TX on 2/13/2007
Pros:
Easily Accessible Controls, Lightweight
Cons:
Didn't seem well made, Front Focusing problems
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 18mm - 50mm f/3.5-5.6 DC Autofocus Aspherical Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras:

For the price, it would be a great lens, if it wasn't for the front focusing issues. In fact, this was my first introduction to front focusing - and this lens had it in spades.

Construction seemed fair - but I'm no expert on that, yet. And for the price...

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very pleased with product,perfect for me
By BevVerified Purchaser from Lansdale,Pa on 2/6/2007
Pros:
Clear Glass, Easily Accessible Controls, Easily Mounted, Great contrast, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Cons:
None So Far
Best Uses:
Fun, Nature, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 18mm - 50mm f/3.5-5.6 DC Autofocus Aspherical Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras:

Had no problems with this lens
Works well with my Canon Rebel

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.