Buy the Sigma 18mm - 50mm f/2.8 EX DC Macro Autofocus Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Sigma 18mm - 50mm f/2.8 EX DC Macro Autofocus Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras image
 
(based on 11 ratings)
Brand: Sigma
Located in: Sigma, Digital SLR Lenses
Sigma 18mm - 50mm f/2.8 EX DC Macro Autofocus Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.5 stars
(based on 11 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(4), Semi-pro photographer(3)
Pros:
Consistent output(7), Durable(4), Easily interchangeable(3), Fast / accurate auto-focus(12), Rugged(5)
Best Uses:
General purpose(3), Night photography(7), Portraits(3), Weddings(3)
 
Replacement for kit lens
By GSD2Verified Purchaser from Charlotte, NC on 8/10/2010
Pros:
Accurate auto-focus, Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Heavy, Nice Bokeh, Rugged, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Macro Photography, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 18mm - 50mm f/2.8 EX DC Macro Autofocus Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras:

Bought this to replace kit lens. I like the weight of it. The GLASS makes it nice. Constant f 2.8. Will stay on my camera most of the time now. The macro on it is not bad for the money.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Amazing sharpness
By Horace from New York, NY on 3/27/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Rugged, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Macro Photography, Night Photography, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 18mm - 50mm f/2.8 EX DC Macro Autofocus Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras:

AMAZING SHARPNESS, more than I expected

Images shared by: Horace

Sharp

Image Thumbnail

Image Thumbnail

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent & Affordable
By Mike from San Diego, CA on 1/20/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Slight front focus
Best Uses:
Night Photography, Travel, Video
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 18mm - 50mm f/2.8 EX DC Macro Autofocus Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras:

This lens is just plain fun! Great build and image quality. Slight front focus, however, at 50mm. For me not a big deal because I prefer manual focusing, especially for macro. Primarily use it on the 7D for night video. I think the value is better than the Tamron 17-50mm; better build, quiter & cheaper.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Lens
By ireviloVerified Purchaser from Miami, FL on 1/12/2010
Pros:
Lightweight, Quick Focus
Best Uses:
Night Photography, Portraits, Travel, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 18mm - 50mm f/2.8 EX DC Macro Autofocus Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras:

This lens is great. I bought it to upgrade my kit lens.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
nice lense
By imddubaVerified Purchaser from kcmo on 9/23/2009
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Pros:
Consistent Output, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Landscape Photography, Night Photography, Upgrade
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 18mm - 50mm f/2.8 EX DC Macro Autofocus Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras:

Got this instead of the kit lesns for the T1i. I didn't think it was THAT big of an upgrade until I put about 4000 pictures through it and then saw the kit lense at bestbuy. The kit lense seems to be a peice of junk compared to this lense. Ive taken a bunch of low light and macro with it and it works great!

Images shared by: imdduba

At night from a moving car

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Yellow Jacket

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
fast lens
By daveVerified Purchaser from belingham, wa on 8/9/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Sloppy telescoping moveme
Best Uses:
Landscape Photography, Night Photography, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 18mm - 50mm f/2.8 EX DC Macro Autofocus Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras:

Fast focus and great in low light. Sharp images. Only complaint is the lens has a little bit of slop between the two portions that telescope past one another. This is very slight however.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome
By Photog DonVerified Reviewer from Northern Indiana on 6/23/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction, Superb feel
Cons:
What cons
Best Uses:
General Use, Nature Macro, Night Photography, Special Effects, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 18mm - 50mm f/2.8 EX DC Macro Autofocus Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras:

[...], once I started using this lens the first thing that I noticed was the superior sharpness of the photos, I got some real nice clarity with alot of beutiful bokeh, great macro, and I shot some horses at a horse show to test out the focus and clarity and performed flawlessly if and when I find a fault with this lens I will let it be known but don't think it is going to happen, I am already making plans to purchase the sigma 70 -200 f2.8 and can only hope it performs as great as this lens.

Images shared by: Photog Don

Taken with this lens on first time out of box.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Right out of the box, Using Product

nice action shot

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Most bang for the buck, but has issues
By Hopeless RomanticVerified Purchaser from Anaheim, Ca on 7/23/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Sharp Focus
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 18mm - 50mm f/2.8 EX DC Macro Autofocus Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras:

I do a lot of live band photography. I thought this was a great focal range for me. Defenitely was. Good saturation, sharp photos, contrasty images...all a plus. Now for the bad. This lens hunts like no other in low light. It was pretty terrible. Had major front focusing issues in low light as well. Sure I could manually focus, and I do, but I buy AF lenses for a reason. If you're outdoors or in a studio, this is a fantastic lens i would surely reccomend. If you're shooting in low light, despite the fast 2.8 aperture, look somewhere else.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great upgrade from the kit lens!
By Alaina!Verified Purchaser from USA on 1/22/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Special Effects, Upgrade
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 18mm - 50mm f/2.8 EX DC Macro Autofocus Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras:

My fave thing about this lens is that, well it was pretty inexpensive, but it also stays at a 2.8 stop all the way through the zoom range! I take alot of live band photography and I love the lighting at shows, so not having to use a flash for every shot is great!It's also nice and wide so you can get some great scenery shots!I really love this lens, I haven't regreted buying it for an instant. If you are sub-pro and looking for a great upgrade you can't go wrong![...][@]

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Terrific, versatile lens
By ReXT NateVerified Reviewer from Perkiomenville, PA on 4/17/2007
Pros:
Good sharpness at f28, Good weight, Great color, Little or no vignetting, Versatile zoom range
Best Uses:
Great walkaround lens
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 18mm - 50mm f/2.8 EX DC Macro Autofocus Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras:

At ~$600 less than the comparable Canon model, this lens is tough to beat! After several hundred shots, it's a keeper for me. I debated between this zoom range and 24-70mm, but found that 24mm was just not wide enough for my 1.6x crop Rebel XT, especially for crowded rooms and landscapes. 50mm (80mm FF equivalent) has been fine for most portraits and that zoom combined with large aperature produces nice bokeh. F2.8 makes it terrific for existing light use, though I do still find my 430EX flash necessary sometimes. I find the lens to have good sharpness at f2.8 throughout the zoom range, and at f4.0 and above it's very sharp. Colors are great. I have had no trouble with flare, or fringing, though I haven't pushed it hard in this respect. Sigma seems to have corrected the flare and CA issues with the first version of this lens. Though it's not a true 1:1 macro, I have found the macro function very useful and lots of fun. That said, the extremely small depth of field with f2.8 and macro has exposed my need for a good tripod! Build quality seems to be very good; zoom and focus are well damped. Autofocus seems accurate to me. Highly recommended.

Images shared by: ReXT Nate

f2.8, 1/40, 50mm, handheld, no modification

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Lens
By Jason from Houston on 4/10/2007
Pros:
Easily Accessible Controls, Easily Mounted, Strong Construction
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Best Uses:
Photojournalism, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 18mm - 50mm f/2.8 EX DC Macro Autofocus Zoom Lens for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras:

This was a tough choice since there aren't many reviews out there for this new lens. I am very satisfied. It's very sharp. Autofocus is very fast. The build is very solid, it feels like a tank. I only wish it had HSM, but totally not a con. I bought this as an upgrade from my kit lens and can tell a big difference.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.