Buy the Sigma 30mm f/1.4 EX DC HSM AutoFocus Standard Lens for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras. on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Sigma 30mm f/1.4 EX DC HSM AutoFocus Standard Lens for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras. image
 
(based on 18 ratings)
Brand: Sigma
Located in: Sigma, Digital SLR Lenses
Sigma 30mm f/1.4 EX DC HSM AutoFocus Standard Lens for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.1 stars
(based on 18 reviews)
89% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Consistent output(6), Durable(6), Easily interchangeable(7), Fast / accurate auto-focus(10), Lightweight(8)
Cons:
Blurry focus(3), Slow focus(3)
Best Uses:
General purpose(7), Low light(8), Night photography(12), Portraits(3), Weddings(4)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(5), Photo enthusiast(5), Semi-professional(3)
Was this a gift?:
No(6)

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
great great glass!
By bigmag13Verified Reviewer from MY,NY on 3/29/2011
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Price, Sharpness, Strong Construction
Cons:
Misses focus in low light
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Night Photography, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 30mm f/1.4 EX DC HSM AutoFocus Standard Lens for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras.:

GREAT glass for the price!!! I found it to be sharp. I purchased the canon 28mm for my 50D and found that the canon did not seem to focus spot on. the keeper rate was about 65%. I called canons tech support about a possible calibration issue ( I've owned my 50D few a few years now)and they suggested I use a different camera with all my lenses(200L, tamron 17-50, sigma 10-20, canon 85L, canon 50mm 1.4) on another body to check my RE-calibration needs. I borrowed my neighbors 40D and checked my other glass and they had no focus issues. the canon 28mm was off! I got this instead after checking another copy at the store. I kept within my budget and was amazed at the results.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good prime lens. "Fast Glass"
By DabukuVerified Reviewer from Philadelphia on 2/6/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Nice Bokeh
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 30mm f/1.4 EX DC HSM AutoFocus Standard Lens for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras.:

I wanted a fast prime to complement my 15-85MM. After reading all the reviews, I decided to give the Sigma 30MM f/1.4 a try. It is my first non-Canon lens, and so far I'm very pleased. As other reviewers mentioned, it's a little "soft" in the corners when shooting wide open, but that's not important to me. It's great in low light and that's what I wanted. The gray market lens at Adorama is an awesome deal.

 
The perfect all around lens!
By BAD LIEUTENANTVerified Purchaser from Philadelphia, Pa. on 1/17/2011
Pros:
Durable, Lightweight, Nice Bokeh, Rugged, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Night Photography, Video
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 30mm f/1.4 EX DC HSM AutoFocus Standard Lens for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras.:

Probably the best all around lens for the 7d/T2i (550). Well built, good price, great optics.

 
Love at first shot..
By reaganVerified Purchaser from Doha, Qatar on 1/15/2011
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 30mm f/1.4 EX DC HSM AutoFocus Standard Lens for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras.:

This is my first lens upgrade for my kitlens of my canon 500D. I live in the middle east and camera accesories and lenses here are few and very expensive. I am just a beginner in photography so I do alot of research before I purchase my next lens. I shoot mainly indoor events, portraits and candids of my friends so i need a fast lens. My options are canon 35mm f2, 28mm 1.8 and this lens. Compared to the other 2 canon lenses according to the reviews sigma is more sharper and faster if you can get a good copy. After reading some bad reviews of this lens i become more hesitant. But I noticed that those bad reviews are years back and the good reviews are the ones recent and for the good ones this lens is "L" like quality, so I crossed my fingers and purchased this lens. In my surprise this lens is perfect, no focusing problem and the lens is very sharp even at f1.4. I am very happy with this lens and with iso boost I can shoot in very low light and even in contained spaces. Most of my candids are just single handheld and even without looking in the viewfinder I can capture amazing candid shots.Construction looks sturdy and makes my 500D looks "macho", sigma EX lenses comes with lens hood and nice case.Overall I am very happy with my purchase and I would highly recommend this lens. I've been using this for about a month, and never leaves my camera since day 1, shot almost 2000 pictures. (picture attached taken from a mall few hours after i received this lens)P.S. due to budget shortage (40$ short) I purchased the one from grey market [...]

Images shared by: reagan

f 1.4 at 500th of second

Image Thumbnail

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good glass, bad autofocus
By kidcharlesVerified Purchaser from New York City on 1/13/2011
Pros:
Sharpness
Cons:
Blurry Focus, Heavy, Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 30mm f/1.4 EX DC HSM AutoFocus Standard Lens for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras.:

I picked up a copy of this lens (for my Canon T2i) and was initially impressed by the image quality it produced. After closer inspection I found that the lens front focused quite a bit which is a dealbreaker with a fast prime and shallow DOF. I returned it and tried another copy, this one completely failed to autofocus at all. If you risk buying this lens, do full testing immediately, there is a strong likelihood it will be faulty. I decided to buy a Canon 28mm/1.8 instead which I found to have a slightly inferior image quality but a phenomenally fast and accurate autofocus system.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good low light portrait lens for events
By crimsoncloakVerified Purchaser from Omaha on 1/12/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Lightweight, Nice Bokeh, Rugged, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Night Photography, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 30mm f/1.4 EX DC HSM AutoFocus Standard Lens for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras.:

I bought this lens because I like to take photos in available light and the focal length complements my 50 1.4 nicely. In a dimly lit house, wedding reception, night club, etc this will allow to get shots that you can't get with a 2.8.

On a crop sensor camera this focal length works for group shots or torso to full body portraits. For a headshot portrait with a more intimate look, I use the 50mm.

Images shared by: crimsoncloak

Image Thumbnail

[0 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great lens
By ireicVerified Purchaser from SD on 6/7/2010
Pros:
Lightweight, Nice Bokeh
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Night Photography
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 30mm f/1.4 EX DC HSM AutoFocus Standard Lens for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras.:

usually for indoor use.

[2 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent for indoor portraits (but...)
By EzioVerified Purchaser from France on 6/6/2010
Pros:
Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons:
Inconsistent focus, Wide-open resolution
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 30mm f/1.4 EX DC HSM AutoFocus Standard Lens for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras.:

Very well built, and it's the only affordable f/1.4 lens for APS-C cameras.

Wide open it's very soft, somewhat "dreamy" (fine for portraits though), and the corners remain a bit soft at all apertures. The centre and most of the frame are very very sharp starting from f/2.8.

The autofocus is fast and quiet but not terribly reliable (even with my Canon 7D which is really good with all my other lenses); sometimes it will miss focus by a few centimetres -- doesn't sound much, but at f/1.4 and f/2.0 it's enough to defocus what you wanted to be in focus.

Bokeh is ok, but not as creamy as e.g., the Sigma 50/1.4 or the Canon 85/1.8.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Incredible Lens!
By TN NatureVerified Reviewer from Knoxville, TN on 4/16/2010
Pros:
Bokeh, Consistent Output, Depth of field control, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Low light performance, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Night Photography, Video, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 30mm f/1.4 EX DC HSM AutoFocus Standard Lens for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras.:

Just awesome image quality, super fast speed, great autofocus, solid build quality, awesome DOF control, smooth bokeh, and much more! Such a huge difference in IQ from my Canon EF-S 17-85 that it has to be seen to be believed. On the 7D, the 30mm resolves detail to match the 7D's demanding resolution. My older 17-85 was pretty good on my Rebel XT, but on the 7D all the images just didn't cut it when viewed at 100%. Images from the Sigma 30mm are absolutely stunning! Night and day difference!

After reading a lot of negative reviews, I was very hesitant to purchase this lens, but what a mistake that would have been! It really is that good!!!

 
Good for low light
By MojoVerified Reviewer from Minneapolis, MN on 12/6/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Low Light
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 30mm f/1.4 EX DC HSM AutoFocus Standard Lens for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras.:

I am just a beginner in investing in an SLR system. I bought this as recommended by [@] as a good lens to start with that is good in low light. For what I use it for - no flash pictures in local indie music venues with very little light I really think this works as good as you could ask. I've been happy with this combined with my 40D in the pictures I've been able to get. I can't really comment on the focus issues that were mentioned since I'm using it wide open a lot which is a challenge in itself. I've also used this on vacation for general picture taking and had no complaints with focus issues there.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Low light junkie
By Pix MouseVerified Reviewer from Lawrence, KS on 11/9/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Tough To Attach
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Upgrade
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 30mm f/1.4 EX DC HSM AutoFocus Standard Lens for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras.:

This lens is as close as you'll get for getting a pro quality lens for a good price. It's heavy and feels good on my 7D. The IQ says it all... this is a prime lens.

No regrets for not getting the EF 35mm L 1.2 since I don't shoot in extreme weather.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Really great lens.
By CameronVerified Reviewer from NYC on 6/14/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 30mm f/1.4 EX DC HSM AutoFocus Standard Lens for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras.:

I've had this lens for about a week; so far it's been absolutely fantastic. Quick and accurate focus, wonderful color and contrast, and phenomenal sharpness. I had been hesitant to buy this lens given the number of complaints I'd read, but my copy seems just about perfect. I can't speak to the durability of this lens, but it seems solid enough. My only real criticism of the lens is that it's bigger and heavier than I'd expect a "normal" prime to be, but that's a pretty minor gripe.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Worth it!
By MattVerified Purchaser from West Palm Beach, FL on 5/4/2009
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Decent background blur, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Great for portraits, Lightweight, Pretty good at night, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons:
Bad CA in some high light, Hard to focus sometimes, Slow at times, Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraiture
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 30mm f/1.4 EX DC HSM AutoFocus Standard Lens for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras.:

Took on a trip to Washington, not bad. Hard to get started with, but once used to it, worked fine. Got some great shots, and missed some because of the lens. But definitely worth it.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
The Verdict Is Still Out
By RichardVerified Purchaser from Seattle, WA on 2/6/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Blurry Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 30mm f/1.4 EX DC HSM AutoFocus Standard Lens for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras.:

I read great reviews of this lens. Along with the great price, I decided to jump in and try it. I've been shooting with the lens for about a month and I've gotta say, the verdict is still out. Some pictures seem to be not as sharp as I expect them to be (I also use the Canon 50mm 1.4 and the Canon 100mm 2.8 macro). I'm hoping this is user error--though doubtful. I will be taking more shots before I make my final decision about this lens. I just have this hunch that the lack of sharp focus is coming from the lens. I hope I'm wrong--a few more hundred shots will tell!

[3 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Terrible Focus
By Jon Lopes from Orange County, CA on 12/19/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Lightweight
Cons:
Blurry Focus
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 30mm f/1.4 EX DC HSM AutoFocus Standard Lens for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras.:

Front Focuses on anything within 5 feet. Back focuses on anything beyond 10 feet. Inconsistant in the mid range. Looking at reviews in forums this is a pretty normal thing with sigmas. When they are built well they are really good, when not they are terrible. Trouble is you never know which you will receive. Are you feeling lucky?

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent lens
By smillymikeVerified Purchaser from Quebec, Canada on 8/25/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Night Photography, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 30mm f/1.4 EX DC HSM AutoFocus Standard Lens for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras.:

This lens is perfect for low light situation and also for creating beautiful background blur for portraiture photo. Very good construction, fast and precise focus it is what I am looking for.

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Finally took the plunge
By Larry the bass manVerified Purchaser from Tulsa OK on 7/26/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 30mm f/1.4 EX DC HSM AutoFocus Standard Lens for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras.:

Finally decided to order this lens. I was somewhat concerned about the focusing issues mentioned in many reviews. I am happy to report that the lense works great on my XTI. I did the focusing test using three objects in three focus planes and focused on the one in the middle. The tests were done with available lighting in the room. The focus was spot on. This lense will be on the Camera most of the time. Still learning how to use it.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Sigma 30mm F/1.4 EX DC HSM Lens for Cano
By Deb from Newport, RI on 6/26/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 30mm f/1.4 EX DC HSM AutoFocus Standard Lens for Canon EOS Digital SLR Cameras.:

I really wanted to buy the Canon 35mm f/1.4 lens but didn't have the extra cash...thought I'd settle for this lens. What a shock when I saw how sharp this lens is, great contrast too. Pleasant surprize and will keep this one. Great for portraits!

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.