Buy the Bogen - Manfrotto Midi Ball Head with RC4 Rapid Connect - Supports 17.6 lbs on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Bogen - Manfrotto Midi Ball Head with RC4 Rapid Connect - Supports 17.6 lbs image
 
(based on 11 ratings)
Brand: Bogen Imaging
Located in: Tripods, Tripod Heads, Ball Heads
Bogen - Manfrotto Midi Ball Head with RC4 Rapid Connect - Supports 17.6 lbs
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.4 stars
(based on 11 reviews)
91% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Attaches firmly(10), Large range of motion(11), Stable(11), Strong clamp(10)
Best Uses:
Landscape/scenery(3), Long exposures(7), Photography(5), Portraits(7), Reducing noise (ISO reduction)(3)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(4), Photo enthusiast(3)
 
Works well with 055cxpro3 tripod!
By Photog ToddVerified Purchaser from Little Rock, AR on 1/11/2010
Pros:
Attaches Firmly, Good Stability, Large Range of Motion, Strong Clamp
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Night Shots, Portraits, Travel, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Bogen Imaging Bogen - Manfrotto Midi Ball Head with RC4 Rapid Connect - Supports 17.6 lbs:

I bought the head with landscape photography in mind. The dual levels and large platform with quick release are great. I can use the head mounted either to my Canon 7D or the O-ring on my 70-200mm f/2.8 IS lens. It locks well with the weight in almost any position you could ask. I would not recommend it for action photography, but for any other use it should meet all your needs.

 
Great Gift
By PHS1975Verified Purchaser from Los Angeles, CA on 1/10/2010
Pros:
Attaches Firmly, Good Stability, Large Range of Motion, Strong Clamp
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Portraits, Sports/Action
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Bogen Imaging Bogen - Manfrotto Midi Ball Head with RC4 Rapid Connect - Supports 17.6 lbs:

Easy to use

 
works great!
By TomVerified Purchaser from Clearwater, Florida on 1/10/2010
Pros:
Attaches Firmly, Good Stability, Large Range of Motion, Strong Clamp
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Night Shots, Portraits, Wildlife
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Bogen Imaging Bogen - Manfrotto Midi Ball Head with RC4 Rapid Connect - Supports 17.6 lbs:

This unit works great, and EASILY supports the weight of a canon 40D with 70-200mm lens attached. No creep, except when first locking into place, allow for the slight settling that occurs as the weight is transferred from your grip to the tripod/head assembly.

 
Solid Head!
By Purdy from So. Burlington, VT on 8/7/2009
Pros:
Attaches Firmly, Good Stability, Large Range of Motion, Strong Clamp
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Long Exposures, Photography, Portraits, Stabilization
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Bogen Imaging Bogen - Manfrotto Midi Ball Head with RC4 Rapid Connect - Supports 17.6 lbs:

Solid head! A little heavy but I'm not really hiking with it. Head is bigger than I thought. I love the pan feature on this. Great for panaramic shots. Ball head movement is smooth. The quick realease plate is a little big for the D90, but it works great. I don't imagine I will be keeping the quick release plate on the camera all the time.

 
Smoth action
By JeffVerified Purchaser from San Diego on 7/8/2009
Pros:
Attaches Firmly, Good Stability, Large Range of Motion, Strong Clamp
Best Uses:
Long Exposures, Photography, Portraits, Reducing Noise (ISO Reduction), Stabilization
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Bogen Imaging Bogen - Manfrotto Midi Ball Head with RC4 Rapid Connect - Supports 17.6 lbs:

Very nice and a reasonable price! The quick release is a little stiff so hold your camera firmly for the first use. I think it will mellow with use.

 
Bogen - Manfrotto Midi Ball Head with RC
By canon_shooterVerified Purchaser from Charlotte, NC on 3/6/2009
Pros:
Attaches Firmly, Good Stability, Large Range of Motion, Strong Clamp
Best Uses:
Long Exposures, Stabilization
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Bogen Imaging Bogen - Manfrotto Midi Ball Head with RC4 Rapid Connect - Supports 17.6 lbs:

I've use my tripod/head when I'm doing longer exposures or when I want to be sure I'm getting the clearest portraits. The RC4 has a very solid build, has 2 controls so you can pan left/right independently of other changes. It took a bit to figure out how to attach to the camera, but now it's no big deal.

My only complaint is the screw that attaches to the camera. My previous experience was with a tripod head that had a "handle" that would flip down to allow you to tighen the attachment. With this one, I just twist the screw with my fingers. You can use a flat head screw driver if you happen to tote one along with you.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Buy Two
By MaddanVerified Purchaser from Norwalk, Ca. on 8/24/2008
Pros:
Attaches Firmly, Good Stability, Large Range of Motion, Strong Clamp
Best Uses:
Long Exposures, Photography, Reducing Noise (ISO Reduction), Stabilization
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Bogen Imaging Bogen - Manfrotto Midi Ball Head with RC4 Rapid Connect - Supports 17.6 lbs:

This product is easy to use and sturdy. I would suggest that you buy two, one for the tripod and one for the mono pod.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very Nice
By Dayton CyclistVerified Purchaser from Dayton, OH on 6/16/2008
Pros:
Attaches Firmly, Good Stability, Large Range of Motion, Strong Clamp
Best Uses:
Long Exposures
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Bogen Imaging Bogen - Manfrotto Midi Ball Head with RC4 Rapid Connect - Supports 17.6 lbs:

I purchased this with the BM 055XPROB tripod legs, which seems to be a very nice combination.

This head has great controls - easy to use, and they feel very solid (locks down tight, and when adjusting movement is very fluid)

My only complaint is that the RC4 connect plate is a bit big for my cannon XSI, which makes it a bit awkward off the tripod.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent product/features
By AnimalartistVerified Purchaser from Vermont on 9/26/2007
Pros:
Attaches Firmly, Good Stability, Large Range of Motion, Strong Clamp
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Long Exposures, Photography, Portraits, Stabilization
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Bogen Imaging Bogen - Manfrotto Midi Ball Head with RC4 Rapid Connect - Supports 17.6 lbs:

The panorama feature is especially nice. So are the levels. This head is a bit heavy, but it needs to be, for longer lenses.

[4 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great ball head, not so great plate
By DanVerified Reviewer from Orchard Park, NY on 9/5/2007
Pros:
Good Stability, Large Range of Motion, Separate panoramic lock, Smooth motion
Cons:
RC4 Plate Screws
Best Uses:
Anywhere tripod is used
Describe Yourself:
Advanced Amateur, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Bogen Imaging Bogen - Manfrotto Midi Ball Head with RC4 Rapid Connect - Supports 17.6 lbs:

I gave this product 2 out of 5 despite the fact I like most of its features. The ball head itself is great with a solid stable lock and a smooth operation. I love the separate panoramic lock too for either stitching panoramas or for panning. The one thing I do not like are the screws that attach the RC4 quick release plate to the camera. You will need a coin, there is no attached "handle" to tighten the screws! This is a huge drawback since it makes detaching / attaching of the plate slow and impossible when you don't have coins on hand. Need to switch the plate from the camera to a long lens collar? You may be out of luck. It is such a negative for me that I am actually going to replace this one with the same model, only with the smaller but more convenient RC2 plate.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Midi Ball Head Perfect for Digital SLRs
By Aperture JimVerified Purchaser from Chicago on 3/26/2007
Pros:
Attaches Firmly, Good Stability, Large Range of Motion, Strong Clamp
Cons:
Tricky at first
Best Uses:
Long Exposures, Photography, Portraits, Reducing Noise (ISO Reduction), Stabilization
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Bogen Imaging Bogen - Manfrotto Midi Ball Head with RC4 Rapid Connect - Supports 17.6 lbs:

After acquiring a Bogen Tripod, I shopped for the right head at the right price. I have 3 lenses, none of which is extremely heavy so I didn't need an ultra strong tripod head. The midi ball head is perfect for taking portraits, long exposures and family photos. It's quite stable, easy to lock down, has good range of motion. The only struggle I had was learning how to mount the camera to the head. It was tricky at first, but now works great!

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.