Buy the Flashpoint Pistol Style Ball Head with QR Platform Plate, Supports 8 lbs. on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Flashpoint Pistol Style Ball Head with QR Platform Plate, Supports 8 lbs. image
 
(based on 10 ratings)
Brand: Flashpoint
Located in: Tripods, Tripod Heads, Ball Heads
Flashpoint Pistol Style Ball Head with QR Platform Plate, Supports 8 lbs.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
3.9 stars
(based on 10 reviews)
80% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Attaches firmly(7), Large range of motion(7), Stable(8), Strong clamp(8)
Cons:
Heavy(4)
Best Uses:
Home(4), Landscape/scenery(8), Night shots(8), Portraits(5), Travel(5)
Describe Yourself:
Photo enthusiast(7)
Was this a gift?:
No(5)

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice, but for light cameras only
By NYCshooterVerified Purchaser from New York, NY on 11/26/2010
Pros:
Large Range of Motion
Cons:
Heavy, Unstable, Weak Clamp
Best Uses:
Lightweight cameras
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Flashpoint Flashpoint Pistol Style Ball Head with QR Platform Plate, Supports 8 lbs.:

While the tripod head is pretty decent for the price, it is very limited in how much weight it can handle. [...] However aside from the fact that it could not hold my camera up at all (and dished out some bruised/crushed fingers in the process), it would have been a good choice for a lighter set up.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
SOLID
By Travis T from Columbia, Sc on 11/1/2010
Pros:
Attaches Firmly, Good Stability, Heavy solid, Strong Clamp
Cons:
Plate is complicated
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Medium Format, Night Shots
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Flashpoint Flashpoint Pistol Style Ball Head with QR Platform Plate, Supports 8 lbs.:

much more solid than i expected, i use it with a Mamiya RZ67. so i dont ever have to rotate virtical since the back rotates. i could see it being a pain if you mount to camera and need to shoot portrait. i only use it with a 70-200 lens if im using a DSLR since it can rotate from the base. other then that its solid as hell. (though Plate is a pain to get on and off)

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
A pistol with a FIRM Grip
By naikmanishVerified Purchaser from Ahmedabad, India on 10/16/2010
Pros:
Attaches Firmly, Good Stability, Large Range of Motion, Strong Clamp
Cons:
Threads of different size
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Night Shots, Wildlife
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Flashpoint Flashpoint Pistol Style Ball Head with QR Platform Plate, Supports 8 lbs.:

Beautiful grip, Superb hold. I use a 7D with 150-500mm and a battery grip. Adds up to almost 3.5 Kg. ( about 7 pounds ). The grip holds the entire kit very firmly. In fact, I had to change my tripod with a heavy one.

cons. the threads are different size than the standard tripod / cam size, so I had to get a convertor fabricated from an external agency.

Thanks

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
I would buy this product again.
By EdVerified Purchaser from Deer Park, Texas on 9/7/2010
Pros:
Attaches Firmly, Good Stability, Strong Clamp
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Home, Landscape/Scenery, Night Shots, Portraits, Travel, Video
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Flashpoint Flashpoint Pistol Style Ball Head with QR Platform Plate, Supports 8 lbs.:

The only thing I couldn't understand about this producet, was the remale connect. Why make this connection 3/8's when all of the camera and tripod male connections are 1/4. I almost sent it back for this reason. Just add the reduser and charge a little more. I had to pay another 10 dollars for a reduser [...].

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
[...]
By BailieVerified Purchaser from NYC on 9/5/2010
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Flashpoint Flashpoint Pistol Style Ball Head with QR Platform Plate, Supports 8 lbs.:

Crudely built version of the Manfrotto 3265.

 
I really love the pistol grip on this.
By St4EverVerified Purchaser from New Orleans La. on 9/5/2010
Pros:
Attaches Firmly, Good Stability, Large Range of Motion, Strong Clamp
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Night Shots, Portraits, Travel, Wildlife
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Flashpoint Flashpoint Pistol Style Ball Head with QR Platform Plate, Supports 8 lbs.:

This is a really great pistol grip head. It is really built strong and should last a long time. I would reccommend to anyone.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice on monopod
By Goz63Verified Purchaser from Shiloh, IL on 8/22/2010
Pros:
Attaches Firmly, Good Stability, Large Range of Motion, Strong Clamp
Cons:
Stiff
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Night Shots, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Flashpoint Flashpoint Pistol Style Ball Head with QR Platform Plate, Supports 8 lbs.:

I use this for horse shows. This ball head with the pistol grip allows for quick adjustments when you need to move fast in sport situations. The only downside is that is not as smooth as I would like but this is not a real problem. A great buy for the price and very sturdy. Holds very tight.

 
Great Deal
By ltsellingVerified Purchaser from Washington, DC on 2/21/2010
Pros:
Attaches Firmly, Good Stability, Large Range of Motion, Strong Clamp
Best Uses:
Home, Landscape/Scenery, Night Shots, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Wildlife
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Flashpoint Flashpoint Pistol Style Ball Head with QR Platform Plate, Supports 8 lbs.:

I'm using it for Wildlife photography on a tripod and a monopod it's easy to reset and to get great shots and there are less missed shots.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great all-purpose tripod head. Quick
By TonyVerified Purchaser from Phoenix, AZ on 1/12/2010
Pros:
Good Stability, Large Range of Motion, Strong Clamp
Cons:
Tendency to unscrew
Best Uses:
Home, Landscape/Scenery, Night Shots, Portraits, Travel, Weddings/Events, Wildlife
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Flashpoint Flashpoint Pistol Style Ball Head with QR Platform Plate, Supports 8 lbs.:

Pistol grip is great for quick adjustments. Rugged and durable, if a bit heavy. Recommended for any SLR camera (I've used it with f/2.8 70-200mm lens) , but make sure your tripod is rated for at least 8+ pounds. Has a tendency to unscrew from tripod legs when panning. Also the ball-joint movement isn't super fluid.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Well-Built Pistol Head!
By Alex PVerified Reviewer from Portland, OR on 12/14/2009
Pros:
Attaches Firmly, Good Stability, Large Range of Motion, Strong Clamp
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Home, Landscape/Scenery, Night Shots, Portraits, Travel, Video, Weddings/Events, Wildlife
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Flashpoint Flashpoint Pistol Style Ball Head with QR Platform Plate, Supports 8 lbs.:

Great Pistol Head! Extremely well-built and the movement is very precise! The trigger is also pretty stiff and requires a bit of hand strength to engage/move the grip. The mounting female thread is 3/8" so make sure your tripod also has a 3/8" thread. I had to "jimmyrig" a 3/8" to 1/4" reducer to make it fit on my Velbon Maxi 343 tripod!I've seen this exact same grip on other websites selling for [$]. This is a awesome buy. Thanks ADORAMA!

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.