Buy the Bogen - Manfrotto 454 Micro Positioning Plate (#3419) on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Bogen - Manfrotto 454 Micro Positioning Plate (#3419) image
 
(based on 9 ratings)
Brand: Manfrotto by Bogen Imaging
Located in: Tripods, Tripod & Monopod Accessories, Head Accessories
Bogen - Manfrotto 454 Micro Positioning Plate (#3419)
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
3.9 stars
(based on 9 reviews)
78% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Easy to use(4), Fits well(4), Improves tripod function(3)
Best Uses:
Macro photography(5)
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro photographer(4)
 
It's Obsolete Now
By D_Spider from Klamath Falls, OR on 6/15/2011
Pros:
Compact, Durable
Cons:
Awkward to set up, Frustrating to use, Heavy, Poorly machined
Best Uses:
Macro Photography, Paperweight
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Manfrotto by Bogen Imaging Bogen - Manfrotto 454 Micro Positioning Plate (#3419):

This positioning plate can be excused for its insufficiencies by noting that it isn't a macro focussing rail. Everyone I know who uses one uses it to adjust focus for macro photography, though. It is not rack-and-pinion but uses a long bolt or screw that is not exactly round in cross section; the result is that, as one moves camera and lens forward or back, they wiggle side-to-side and up-and-down; at 1:1 and closer, the framing of the photo changes. "Frustrating" is extreme understatement. One cannot count on getting aligned images for a focusing stack. One cannot count on a precisely framed macro image. (One can count on getting the focus right.)

Its other disadvantage is the way one has to attach the camera or the lens's tripod collar. The procedure is difficult to do without looking at the attachment screw, and looking at that while the whole rig is on a tripod often requires some gymnastics and often results in scraped fingers.

This is not to say I haven't used it to get some really satisfying macro images, but at the initial relatively high monetary cost and continuing cost in inconvenience and frustration, I cannot recommend it. The good news is that people in the eastern hemisphere are now making a similar item that is half the weight (but still 8 oz, not too flimsy), has a rack and pinion movement, a quick-adjustment feature like Manfrotto's, a much better screw for attaching the camera, and they're selling it for 22% of what I paid for mine.

 
Very sharp focus
By ReinaldoVerified Purchaser from São Paulo - Brazil on 2/8/2010
Pros:
Easy to Use
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Manfrotto by Bogen Imaging Bogen - Manfrotto 454 Micro Positioning Plate (#3419):

It is all that I whish!

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
A must have for macro
By ChrisVerified Purchaser from Dublin, Oh on 1/10/2010
Pros:
Accurate, Durable, Easy to Use, Improves Function, Lightweight, Stable
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Manfrotto by Bogen Imaging Bogen - Manfrotto 454 Micro Positioning Plate (#3419):

You may not need it that much for 1:1 macro photography. However, it is a must if you want to do something more than that. It will give you fine tune of the adjustment. It is solid and easy to use without the need of mannul.

The only problem I ran into is that my camera (Olympus e520) may be blocked by its extruded knob at some position and it can be took care of easily by readjustment. Since your camera is fixed on it you have to make sure that your lense and its hood is not too big to block the attachment.

The good news is that it is not made in China but Italy so that you can rely on its quality.

 
Manfrotto 454 Micro Focusing Rail
By jerryVerified Purchaser from usa on 8/19/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fits Well, Improves Tripod Function
Best Uses:
Long Exposures, Macro Photography, Photography, Stabilization
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Manfrotto by Bogen Imaging Bogen - Manfrotto 454 Micro Positioning Plate (#3419):

I like the rail. It serves its purpose well. I put two rails together so I have movement in two axis. My only complaints are
1. A QR2 plate on the second rail limits movement (because it does not clear the bottom rail completely).
2. I would like bigger knobs for turning the adjustment screw.
3. Better lens caps

 
Good product
By DarbVerified Purchaser from Denver, Colorado on 5/27/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fits Well, Solid/Sturdy
Best Uses:
Macro Photography, Photography
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Manfrotto by Bogen Imaging Bogen - Manfrotto 454 Micro Positioning Plate (#3419):

Well built. Operates as advertized. I use this for macro photography and photographing 2D artwork.

 
Macro must
By MarvylVerified Purchaser from Faribault, MN on 9/5/2008
Pros:
Compact, Fits Well, Lightweight
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Manfrotto by Bogen Imaging Bogen - Manfrotto 454 Micro Positioning Plate (#3419):

This is a fairly inexpensive macro rail. I wish it had lateral movement which it doesn't seem to. It will work well for my use in macro photography.

 
A valuable tool
By EricBBVerified Purchaser from Halifax, NS, Canada on 3/26/2007
Pros:
Improves Tripod Function
Best Uses:
Macro
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Manfrotto by Bogen Imaging Bogen - Manfrotto 454 Micro Positioning Plate (#3419):

An invaluable tool for macro photography, this plate permits you to precicely locate your camera and lens without continually shifting the tripod forward and back...a definite time-saver!

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
don't think Manfrotto tested the design
By danVerified Purchaser from Los Angeles on 2/8/2007
Pros:
none
Cons:
Loose Clamp, Loose Fixtures, Not precision enough, Poor Design
Best Uses:
none
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Manfrotto by Bogen Imaging Bogen - Manfrotto 454 Micro Positioning Plate (#3419):

After receiving focusing slide, mounted it on a 3036 Manfrotto tripod,mounted Nikon F3 with 105mm Nikkor Micro, focused lens with barrel, when trying to move the depth of field to where I wanted it was impossible. Once you loosen the locking knob, the top half of the slide floats around laterally and fore and aft.It's imposible to nail down a tack sharp image with your original composition, even with the locking knobsnugged just short of locking. Every time the locking knob gets tightened the composition and the fine focus is gone.The problem with this unit is poor design, no preloads on adjustmet its not precision enough for Macro photography.I returned it imediatly[...]. I found good results using the rails from an old Vivitar bellows focus rail modified.

 
Micro-Positioning Plate
By DJVerified Purchaser from Annapolis, Md. on 2/5/2007
Pros:
Fits Well, Improves Tripod Function
Cons:
There are NO CONS
Best Uses:
A Macro-Photo Must Have
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Manfrotto by Bogen Imaging Bogen - Manfrotto 454 Micro Positioning Plate (#3419):

I use mine to take detailed Macro Photos of gemstones, for the purpose of illustrating "Identifying Characteristics" (i.e. internal/external inclusions) It allows for precise, concrete identification of individual stones.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.