Buy the Lowepro Passport Sling Case for DSLR & Personal Gear - Black on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Lowepro Passport Sling Case for DSLR & Personal Gear - Black image
 
(based on 10 ratings)
Brand: Lowepro
Located in: Cases
Lowepro Passport Sling Case for DSLR & Personal Gear - Black
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.3 stars
(based on 10 reviews)
80% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Adjustable harness(7), Comfortable(8), Easily accessible equipment(7), Roomy(7), Strong construction(6)
Best Uses:
Protecting gear(5), Storing gear(5), Transporting gear(7)
Describe Yourself:
Photo enthusiast(8)
Was this a gift?:
No(7)
 
Great for traveling or walkabouts
By Ed the pickyVerified Reviewer from San Juan, PR on 4/3/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Lightweight, Not eye-catching, Packable, Roomier than might appear
Cons:
Needs additional padding, Not waterproof, Strap could be better
Best Uses:
Local walkabouts, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Lowepro Lowepro Passport Sling Case for DSLR & Personal Gear - Black:

I've been using a shoulder camera bag from another manufacturer for almost five years now. It's a tank, and I can't really complaint regarding protection, build and roominess, but it's heavy and attractive in a sort of tech look. Have tried backpacks but are too bulky and generally awkward for accessing equipment. So, I decided to buy this one, thinking that maybe I should be carrying less equipment for my usual walkabouts (the bigger the bag, the more equipment you put into it: never fails). I was skeptical at first, but it won me over for its overall simplicity. Sure, it's not a "pro" bag, but some of its shortcomings should be very easy to solve by the manufacturer: 1. Provide optional additional padding (I placed more from another bag, and it fit perfectly); 2. The shoulder support of the strap should be longer, grippier, and less prone to switch positions, or detachable to add another one; 3. Provide some type of waterproofing (a cover would be nice); 4. Provide zippers or velcro closures for the outside pockets; 5. Don't know if it will fall apart with time (the zipper doesn't appear to be too tough and the fabric may be a bit thin). Apart from that, I was very pleasantly surprised at how light it is (I can add one or two additional lenses and it still is lighter than my other bag), it's comfortable (but could be better with better shoulder support), it's way roomier than it appeared (or even advertised, if you add more padding, you can add more lenses without worrying about knocks) and the best thing is that it's packable, occupying almost no space in your suitcase. So, for traveling, you could take with you a backpack with your camera gear and laptop and when you arrive, take this one for the tours, leaving the laptop or lenses (or a flash unit) you might not always need. Oh, and it's really plain looking (this might be good, or bad, depending on your preferences, maybe adding more color choices would be nice too). At least for me, until v.2 appears, the Pros win over the Cons.

 
you need this bag
By Girl FridayVerified Purchaser from NW Ohio on 3/15/2011
Pros:
Adjustable Harness, Comfortable, Easily Accessible Equipment, Good design, Roomy, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Transporting Gear
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Lowepro Lowepro Passport Sling Case for DSLR & Personal Gear - Black:

I just used this bag for the first time for a trip via plane. It is perfect for airports/public transportation. It doubles as a purse; when fully zipped open, it is very roomy. It's easy to slide around to rest in your lap while sitting. It's very comfortable while hiking and, with a little more practice, I will be able to unzip, grab the camera and shoot in one easy motion. All this and two nice cellphone, etc., pockets positioned just right inside and a pocket for an extra card. My boyfriend is so impressed he may break down and get one, too. :)

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very nice camera bag
By AlexVerified Purchaser from Phoenix, Arizon on 3/7/2011
Pros:
Adjustable Harness, Comfortable, Easily Accessible Equipment, Roomy, Strong Construction
Cons:
Not big enough
Best Uses:
Protecting Gear, Storing Gear, Transporting Gear
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Lowepro Lowepro Passport Sling Case for DSLR & Personal Gear - Black:

The bag will not let me bring a camera with a battery grip.

 
Wife Really Likes It
By Equipment bearerVerified Purchaser from Annapolis, Maryland on 1/13/2011
Pros:
Adjustable Harness, Comfortable, Easily Accessible Equipment, Looks like a purse, Roomy, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Convenient to carry, Protecting Gear, Storing Gear, Transporting Gear
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Lowepro Lowepro Passport Sling Case for DSLR & Personal Gear - Black:

Easy to carry when my wifes want a quick source of protection for my camera. Lightweight and convenient. Outside pockets good for extras you don't want near your camera.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Perfect one bag fits all
By BearVerified Purchaser from Huntersville NC on 1/13/2011
Pros:
Adjustable Harness, Comfortable, Easily Accessible Equipment, Roomy, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Protecting Gear, Transporting Gear
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Lowepro Lowepro Passport Sling Case for DSLR & Personal Gear - Black:

Great all in one for a day out with DSLR (Nikon D7000 with SB700) and day's worth of personal stuff. Also non attention getting shoulder bag that doesn't say - Big Camera in here.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great idea - needs tweaking
By HoosierGrrlVerified Purchaser from Heartland on 1/12/2011
Pros:
Strong Construction
Cons:
Cumbersome, Too Small
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Lowepro Lowepro Passport Sling Case for DSLR & Personal Gear - Black:

Loved the idea of this bag - just carried it on a trip and once my Canon 7D was in there, there was hardly room for everything else I needed to fit for the day. Security of having things in the exterior pockets is an issue and there isn't enough rubber grip on the shoulder pad. Mine is headed for [...].

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Exceeded my expectation value for money
By RohitVerified Purchaser from Hartford, CT on 1/12/2011
Pros:
Adjustable Harness, Comfortable, Easily Accessible Equipment, Roomy
Cons:
Cumbersome
Best Uses:
Storing Gear, Transporting Gear
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Lowepro Lowepro Passport Sling Case for DSLR & Personal Gear - Black:

Easy and very handy. This was the bag i was looking for. Best feature is ease of transportation and access along with being multi purpose.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Spacious Carry All Sling
By skibihiVerified Purchaser from short hills, nj on 1/12/2011
Pros:
Adjustable Harness, Easily Accessible Equipment, Roomy, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Protecting Gear, Storing Gear, Transporting Gear
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Lowepro Lowepro Passport Sling Case for DSLR & Personal Gear - Black:

I am using this sling mostly for storage at this time.
Easy to access camera & lenses
Too heavy on my shoulder (125lb female), but I have not tried to use it in the field.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very Comfortable
By megVerified Purchaser from okc, ok on 1/12/2011
Pros:
Adjustable Harness, Comfortable
Cons:
Strap not detachable, Strap too wide
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Lowepro Lowepro Passport Sling Case for DSLR & Personal Gear - Black:

I bought this bag after watching the promo video on [@]. It seemed more compact in the video than in real life. I love the shape and maybe it's just that I'm shorter than the woman in the video, but I wasn't expecting it too look quite so bulky. The strap is also pretty wide and feels more like it was designed for a man's build than a woman's. I wish that they had made it detachable so that I could try out a different strap. That said, I still like the look of the bag and find it to be, by far, the most comfortable of any that I tried out. Though it's not exactly what I pictured, it's very attractive and well made. The bag has a lot of great pockets and the expandable side is genius. I can carry my DSLR, an extra lens, my Konica C35, a few disposables, some film, my wallet, my phone, a small notebook and a couple of pens when the side is zipped out. Really, there are enough pros to this bag that I think I would have bought it even if I'd known the cons.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Well designed, useful bag
By mom to threeVerified Purchaser from MA on 1/12/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Easily Accessible Equipment, Roomy
Best Uses:
Protecting Gear, Storing Gear, Transporting Gear
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Lowepro Lowepro Passport Sling Case for DSLR & Personal Gear - Black:

I got the Passport Sling as my main walkabout and travel bag for my camera. The padded section easily holds my T2i with kit lens attached on one side, with my 50-250mm lens on the other side. There are three small flap pockets inside the main compartment, one for memory cards and the others I use to hold lens covers and filters. There's plenty of room left over for my personal items, making this a great bag to take while on trips and outings. The exterior pockets are okay for miscellaneous papers but I wouldn't put anything of value in them since there's no way of closing them. The exterior pockets run on both sides of the bag, so you can wear the sling over either shoulder and still make use of them.

The construction seems good but I was expecting better for the price. It does look like it will hold up fine over time though. The strap is fairly comfortable and adjusts very easily. Very pleased with my purchase and would recommend this sling to others.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.